Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF) administers programs focusing on the well-being of children and the self-sufficiency of families. Some services at ACF include programs involving persons with developmental disabilities, child care, child welfare services, prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect, runaway and homeless youth, Head Start, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and child support enforcement issues. ACF also supports an Healthy Marriage Initiative which focuses on low-income married couples with children, the Fatherhood Initiative, and the Family Violence Prevention and Services Program. ACF provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The agency also publishes newsletters, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child support, Domestic violence, Family centered care, Family economics, Family relations, Family support programs, Fathers, Head Start, Spanish language materials, Training materials, Young children

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

Annotation: Birthing the Future is a nonprofit organization that gathers, synthesizes, and disseminates wisdom about birthing and the care of mothers and babies from pre-conception to the first birthday. Birthing the Future blends ancient feminine wisdom with modern scientific and clinical knowledge about the mother and baby within the context of their family, community, and society. The organization conducts workshops, hosts symposiums, develops multi-media materials, and maintains an online bookstore. The Web site provides links to related organizations and resources.

Keywords: Childbirth, Alternative birth styles, Childbirth education, Family centered care, Infant care, Labor, Midwifery, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Keywords: Health supervision, Adolescents, Children, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education materials, Family centered care, Infants

Annotation: BUILD is a national initiative that helps state leaders prepare young children aged birth to five to succeed by helping their families access high quality early learning; family and parenting support; early intervention for children with special needs; and comprehensive health mental health and nutritional services. BUILD assists states in planning and implementing a comprehensive early childhood “system of systems” that crosses policy domains and helps ensure that families get the services they need. It was created in 2002 by the Early Childhood Funders Collaborative (ECFC), a consortium of private foundations.

Keywords: Child mental health, Early intervention, Families, Family support services, Infants, Young children, Special health care needs

Annotation: The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central source of information and products for the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs) so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities. The Center also works to increase the coordination of parent training efforts throughout the network and to increase Parent Centers’ knowledge and capacity in specific domains. CPIR's online resource cover key topics, K-12 issues, early intervention/early childhood, and parent centers' 14 priorities. Users can customize their online searches by audience, format, language, and resource producer. Resources are available in English and Spanish. It is funded by the Office of Special Education Programs at the U.S. Department of Education. This center continues the work of the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Information sources, Parenting, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

Annotation: The Center for the Child Care Workforce, a project of the American Federation of Teachers Educational Foundation, is a policy, advocacy, and research organization dedicated to enhancing the compensation and working conditions of child care teachers and family child care providers. Their mission is to improve the quality of early care and education for all children. CCW/AFTEF publishes a newsletter and provides referrals, publications, and reference information for consumers

Keywords: Child care, Advocacy, Child care workers, Compensation, Family child care, Policy, Training

Annotation: The Child and Family Policy Center (CFPC) is a nonprofit research and advocacy organization promoting outcome-based policies that improve child well-being. The center focuses on a range of policy areas in Iowa, including child care and early education, health and well-being, and family economic success. CFPC also conducts national evaluation work focused on early-childhood system building and policy development promoting comprehensive, asset-based approaches to supporting children and families.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Evaluation, Families, Family economics, Iowa, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research, Systems development

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information services to child welfare and related professionals and the public as the clearinghouse for the Children’s Bureau, compiling, synthesizing, and disseminating resources to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families. The Information Gateway provides access to publications, websites, and online databases covering a range of topics, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, and the content areas for which the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA) members provide support.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Annotation: Children Awaiting Parents (CAP) is a national, not-for-profit organization that recruits foster and adoptive families for special needs children who have been waiting the longest for permanent families. CAP serves older and minority children who may have mental, physical and/or emotional disabilities. Photos and narratives of waiting children are posted on the Web site and also provided in The CAP Book, a printed, national photolisting of adoptable children with special needs. The organization also provides a CAP Book CD, featuring national and state contact information, home study procedures, and adoption success stories. The Web site provides pre- and post-adoptive information for prospective parents, as well as registration and other placement assistance for caseworkers. CAP has initiated a program called Faith in Children, a special adoption recruitment campaign to reach out to the community through faith-based organizations and also served as a founding board member of Voice for Adoption, a coalition of 78 special needs adoption organizations, professionals and child welfare advocates addressing the needs of waiting children throughout the United States. In addition, CAP coordinates the Foster/Adoption Network-FAN, which recruits New York State foster and adoptive parents for children with special needs and is comprised of 18 public and private agencies in upstate New York.

Keywords: Information sources, Adoption, Adoptive parents, Affective disorders, Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, Foster care, Foster parents, Psychological needs, Recruitment

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS) comprises individuals and organizations with concern for the care and wellbeing of mothers, infants, and families. The coalition's consensus Mother Friendly Childbirth Initiative promotes a prevention and wellness model of maternity care to improve birth outcomes and reduce costs. The website features information on the coalition's nurse recognition program, advocacy and committees, events, a newsletter, fact sheets, and other products and publications.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Prenatal care, Childbirth, Family-centered maternity services, Health care reform, Health promotion, Maternal health, Midwifery, Pregnancy outcome, Public awareness campaigns, Women health

Annotation: Communities Can is a network of communities committed to ensuring comprehensive systems of services and support for children, especially children with special health care needs, and their families. Communities Can is designed to network communities to share information, skills and experiences in systems building; provide materials and resources on systems development; provide communities with a voice in national policy discussions; and recognize the achievements of communities in building successful systems for children and families. The network is funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, and the Center for Mental Health Services, and coordinated by Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Family centered services

Annotation: Craniosynostosis And Positional Plagiocephaly Support, Inc. (CAPPS) is a national non-profit organization that offers information and support to families who have a child with either positional plagiocephaly or craniosynostosis. The organization's primary goal is to raise awareness through education.  (Although these two conditions are very different in cause, in many cases they have a similar outward appearance, which causes many mis-diagnoses.)  CAPPS sponsors fundraising and public awareness events; provides resources and services fo families; hosts an electronic support board; and posts fact sheets and how-to guidance. The organization also maintains state-specific contact lists.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, CSHN programs, Craniofacial abnormalities, Family support

Annotation: The Family Research Council (FRC) is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that analyzes issues affecting families and works to ensure that the interests of families are considered and respected in the development of national policy. The organization is dedicated to the promotion of marriage and family and the sanctity of human life. Maintains an online bookstore, publishes legislative action periodicals, hosts radio programs and blogs, and posts national survey data related to marriage and families in America.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Parental leave, Parenting, Public policies, Public policies, Work family issues, Working women

Annotation: The Family Resource Center on Disabilities provides information, training, and assistance to parents of children with disabilities information.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Family support, Health services, Illinois, Special education

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children', State programs, s health insurance program

Annotation: Mississippi's Family-to-Family Health Information and Education Center is a family-focused, family-managed resource center that empowers families of children with special health care needs to be partners in decisions concerning the health of their children. The F2F Center is a collaboration of The University of Southern Mississippi Institute for Disability Studies, the Children’s Medical Program of the Mississippi State Department of Health, and LIFE of Mississippi, Inc. Through project activities, the F2F Center works to enable families to be knowledgeable, comfortable and competent in addressing the Title V system with regard to their child’s unique health care needs as well as advocating for ongoing and continuous quality improvement. The Center is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Family centered services, MCH programs, Mississippi, State agencies

Annotation: Family-to-Family Health Information Centers (F2F HICs) are family-staffed organizations that assist families of children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and the professionals who serve them. F2F HICs provide support, information, resources, and training on health itopics such as health insurance availability; early screening and intervention; the medical home, appropriate transition services for youth; and leadership and decision-making capacity for all families. The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Maternal Child Health Bureau (MCHB) provides the primary funding support for the centers.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers