Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (21 total).

Center for Latino Adolescent and Family Health (CLAFH)

Annotation: The Center for Latino Adolescent and Family Health (CLAFH) is a research center that investigates the role of the Latino family in shaping the development and well-being of Latino adolescents. Specifically, CLAFH seeks to: (1) foster the development, evaluation, and dissemination of evidence-based family interventions designed to prevent and/or reduce problem behaviors among Latino adolescents; (2) develop, evaluate, and disseminate family interventions for positive youth development approaches to Latino adolescent development and well-being; (3) examine issues of immigration related to the experiences of Latino families; and (4) promote the economic well-being of the Latino community. The Center serves as a link between the scientific community, Latino health and social service providers, and the broader Latino community.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Educational materials, Ethnic groups, Family centered services, Family health, Hispanic Americans, Immigration, Information centers, Research

Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR)

Annotation: The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central source of information and products for the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs) so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities. The Center also works to increase the coordination of parent training efforts throughout the network and to increase Parent Centers’ knowledge and capacity in specific domains. CPIR's online resource cover key topics, K-12 issues, early intervention/early childhood, and parent centers' 14 priorities. Users can customize their online searches by audience, format, language, and resource producer. Resources are available in English and Spanish. It is funded by the Office of Special Education Programs at the U.S. Department of Education. This center continues the work of the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Information sources, Parenting, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

Children Awaiting Parents

Annotation: Children Awaiting Parents (CAP) is a national, not-for-profit organization that recruits foster and adoptive families for special needs children who have been waiting the longest for permanent families. CAP serves older and minority children who may have mental, physical and/or emotional disabilities. Photos and narratives of waiting children are posted on the Web site and also provided in The CAP Book, a printed, national photolisting of adoptable children with special needs. The organization also provides a CAP Book CD, featuring national and state contact information, home study procedures, and adoption success stories. The Web site provides pre- and post-adoptive information for prospective parents, as well as registration and other placement assistance for caseworkers. CAP has initiated a program called Faith in Children, a special adoption recruitment campaign to reach out to the community through faith-based organizations and also served as a founding board member of Voice for Adoption, a coalition of 78 special needs adoption organizations, professionals and child welfare advocates addressing the needs of waiting children throughout the United States. In addition, CAP coordinates the Foster/Adoption Network-FAN, which recruits New York State foster and adoptive parents for children with special needs and is comprised of 18 public and private agencies in upstate New York.

Keywords: Information sources, Adoption, Adoptive parents, Affective disorders, Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, Foster care, Foster parents, Psychological needs, Recruitment

Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS)

Annotation: The Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS) comprises individuals and organizations with concern for the care and wellbeing of mothers, infants, and families. The coalition's consensus Mother Friendly Childbirth Initiative promotes a prevention and wellness model of maternity care to improve birth outcomes and reduce costs. The website features information on the coalition's nurse recognition program, advocacy and committees, events, a newsletter, fact sheets, and other products and publications.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Prenatal care, Childbirth, Family-centered maternity services, Health care reform, Health promotion, Maternal health, Midwifery, Pregnancy outcome, Public awareness campaigns, Women health

Collaborative Family Healthcare Association (CFHA)

Annotation: The Collaborative Family Healthcare Association is a membership organization of physical and mental health providers and consumers. It promotes collaborative family healthcare as an optimal way to deliver care. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and reference information. A list serve is also available on the association's Web site. The association also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Health care, Collaboration, Consumers, Family centered care, Health personnel, Information services

Collaborative Family Healthcare Coalition (CFHcC)

Annotation: Founded in 1993, the Collaborative Family Healthcare Coalition (CFHcC) functions as a communication network and information clearinghouse for the healthcare professionals who are its members. Resources include an annual conference, maintenance of Web site databases and listings, and the publishing of a quarterly newsletter, "Working Together."

Keywords: Family centered services, Collaboration, Families, Health personnel, Physician patient relations

Communities Can

Annotation: Communities Can is a network of communities committed to ensuring comprehensive systems of services and support for children, especially children with special health care needs, and their families. Communities Can is designed to network communities to share information, skills and experiences in systems building; provide materials and resources on systems development; provide communities with a voice in national policy discussions; and recognize the achievements of communities in building successful systems for children and families. The network is funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, and the Center for Mental Health Services, and coordinated by Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Family centered services

Family-to-Family Health Information and Education Center

Annotation: Mississippi's Family-to-Family Health Information and Education Center is a family-focused, family-managed resource center that empowers families of children with special health care needs to be partners in decisions concerning the health of their children. The F2F Center is a collaboration of The University of Southern Mississippi Institute for Disability Studies, the Children’s Medical Program of the Mississippi State Department of Health, and LIFE of Mississippi, Inc. Through project activities, the F2F Center works to enable families to be knowledgeable, comfortable and competent in addressing the Title V system with regard to their child’s unique health care needs as well as advocating for ongoing and continuous quality improvement. The Center is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Family centered services, MCH programs, Mississippi, State agencies

Fathers' Network

Annotation: The National Fathers Network advocates for fathers of children with special health needs through support and mentoring programs, conferences and training seminars, a newsletter, a Web page, development of curriculum, and ongoing work with professionals to enhance service delivery for all family members. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Family centered services, Fathers, Information sources, Parenting, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Special education

Florida Disabilities Development Council (FDDC)

Annotation: The purpose of the Florida Developmental Disabilities Council (FDDC) is to engage in advocacy, capacity building, and systemic change activities that contribute to a coordinated, consumer and family centered, consumer and family directed, comprehensive system of community services and individualized supports that enable individuals with developmental disabilities to exercise self-determination, be independent, be productive, and be integrated and included in all facets of community life.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Developmental disabilities, Families, Family centered services, Family support services, Florida, Infants, Special health care needs, State initiatives

FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (FRIENDS CBCAP)

Annotation: The FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (CBCAP) Programs provides training and technical assistance to federally funded CBCAP Programs. The Center assists in building networks, collecting data, promoting stakeholder involvement, and providing access to resources. The Web site provides access to online learning tools, print materials, a listserv, weblinks, and information on upcoming meetings and events. The Center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Community programs, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Parent support services, Prevention programs, State programs

Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care (IFCC)

Annotation: The Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care (formerly the Institute for Family-Centered Care) provides leadership in advancing the understanding and practice of patient- and family-centered care. By promoting collaborative, empowering relationships among providers, patients, and families, the Institute facilitates patient- and family-centered change in all settings where individuals and families receive care and support. The Institute serves as a central resource for policy makers, administrators, program planners, direct service providers, educators, design professionals, and family members. Institute staff promote change and enhance the quality of health and other human services through the development of print and audiovisual resources, information dissemination, policy and research initiatives, training, and technical assistance. Services to consumers also include referrals. Publications include a newsletter. The Institute sponsors training seminars and international conferences.

Keywords: Community-based services, Family centered services, Parent education

International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA)

Annotation: The International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) consists of groups and individuals interested in family-centered maternity and infant services. The association publishes a journal and pamphlets on topics relating to the childbearing years, certifies teachers, provides referrals, sponsors conventions and training seminars, and sells books and pamphlets on a wide range of topics, including pregnancy loss and bereavement. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages and other languages. A catalog is available.

Keywords: Bereavement, Childbirth education, Family centered services, Pregnancy, Pregnancy loss

National Family Caregivers Association (NFCA)

Annotation: The National Family Caregivers Association (NFCA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the quality of life for America's over 50 million family caregivers of chronically ill or disabled loved-ones and to educate the public about the difficulties caregivers face. The association emphasizes the needs and problems of family caregivers as separate and distinct from the needs of the people for whom they care. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. Publications include Take Care!, a quarterly self-help newsletter for caregivers. The association also hosts a list serve and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Caregivers, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Families, Family centered services, Support groups

National Family Preservation Network (NFPN)

Annotation: The National Family Preservation Network (NFPN) serves as a national voice for the preservation of families, through initiatives in the areas of family preservation, reunification, and father-involvement. NFPN offers research-based tools, training resources, and technical assistance to public and private child- and family-serving agencies.

Keywords: Child protective services, Child welfare, Families, Family centered services, Family preservation, Family support services, Father child relations, Fathers

National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection Programs

Annotation: Childbirth Connection was founded in 1918 as the Maternity Center Association; its mission is to improve the quality, value, and outcomes of maternity care through consumer engagement and health system transformation. The program promotes safe, effective, and satisfying evidence-based maternity care and serves as a voice for childbearing families. Childbirth Connection is a core program of the National Partnership for Women and Families.

Keywords: Birthing centers, Childbirth, Evidence based medicine, Family-centered maternity services, Prenatal care

National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice (NRC/FCP)

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice (NRC/FCP) works to promote culturally responsive family centered services through research and evaluation, training and technical assistance, and information dissemination. The Research and Evaluation Division works with state and local agencies to design evaluations, identify outcome measures, and conduct evaluations of family centered programs. Training is developed in partnership with agency staff and is based on assessment of the agency's needs and desired outcomes. The center provides technical assistance in the areas of program/policy development, community involvement and collaboration, cultural competence, and evaluation. Publications include an annual serial, Prevention Report which describes new practice approaches and research findings and reviews new books and materials.

Keywords: Child health, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Families, Family centered services, Family support, Information services, Resource centers

National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections is a training, technical assistance, and information services organization dedicated to help strengthen the capacity of State, local, Tribal and other publicly administered or supported child welfare agencies to: institutionalize a safety-focused, family-centered, and community-based approach to meet the needs of children, youth and families. The Center is a service of the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance (TTA) Network.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child welfare, Children, Adolescents, Family centered services, Family preservation, Family support services

National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections, Fostering Connections

Annotation: Fostering Connections provides information on the Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008, Children's Bureau policy and guidance, and related resources and websites. Topics include adoption, education, health care, psychotropic and prescription medications, kinship/guardianship, emancipating/older youth, family connections grantees, tribal issues, siblings, and training. Fostering Connections is a component of the National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections.

Keywords: Adoption, Family centered services, Foster care, Foster children, Foster parents, Information dissemination, Resource centers

Safety Net Medical Home Initiative

Annotation: The Safety Net Medical Home Initiative helps 65 primary care safety net sites in five states become high-performing patient-centered medical homes. The website provides access to implementation guides, assessment tools, presentations, and other materials related to practice transformation, as well as resources on payment and recognition. The five-year initiative is supported by the Commonwealth Fund, Qualis Health, and the MacColl Center for Health Care Innovation at the Group Health Research Institute.

Keywords: Educational change, Family centered care, Family centered services, Health care reform, Medical home, National initiatives, Organizational change, Patient care, Reimbursement

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.