Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: 9 to 5 is a nationwide membership association of women office workers established in 1973 that promotes fair pay, career advancement, safer office automation, parental leaves and pensions, job dignity, and other issues of importance to working women. The association currently has 25 chapters and sponsors a summer conference, workshops, and seminars. 9 to 5 operates a toll-free Job Problems Hotline, (800) 522-0925, and publishes a newsletter, 9 to 5 Newsline, five times a year.

Keywords: Ethical/Legal Issues, Ethics, Hotlines, Maternity leave, Working women

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: The American Medical Association (AMA), a federation of 54 state or comparable medical associations, works to promote the art and science of medicine and the improvement of public health. The association brings together 82 national societies representing a variety of medical specialties. Publications include the Journal of the American Medical Association. A list of publications and audiovisual materials is available. The AMA also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Public health, AMA, Advocacy, Conferences, Health promotion, Physicians, Policy analysis, Policy development, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Training

Annotation: The Council for Responsible Genetics (CRG) monitors and analyzes the social impact of the biotechnological industry nationwide and internationally. Members include scientists, trade unionists, bioethicists, environmentalists, public health experts, and other concerned citizens. The council raises issues for public debate, submits comments on pending regulations, provides speakers, and produces educational materials on various biotech issues. Publications include a bimonthly magazine, GeneWATCH. Since 1983, GeneWATCH has covered a broad spectrum of issues, from genetically engineered foods to biological weapons, genetic privacy and discrimination, reproductive technologies, and human cloning.

Keywords: Biotechnology, Public health, Ethics, Genetic engineering, Genetics, Legal issues

Annotation: The Joseph and Rose Kennedy Institute of Ethics, established at Georgetown University in 1971, is a teaching and research center offering ethical perspectives on major policy issues. It is a large university based group of faculty members devoted to research and teaching in biomedical ethics and other areas of applied ethics. The institute also houses the extensive library of ethics, the National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature; produces bibliographic records for bioethics related materials included in PubMed and LOCATORplus, the online databases at the National Library of Medicine; publishes a quarterly, the Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal; and conducts regular seminars and courses in bioethics.

Keywords: Ethics, Health policy

Annotation: The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) -- originally established as the National Center for Human Genome Research -- led the National Institutes of Health's (NIH) contribution to the International Human Genome Project, which successfully completed the sequencing the human genome in April 2003. Since then, NHGRI's mission has expanded to encompass a broad range of studies aimed at better understanding the structure and function of the human genome and its role in health and disease. NHGRI supports the development of resources and technology that will accelerate genome research and its application to human health. A critical part of the NHGRI mission continues to be the study of the ethical, legal and social implications of genome research. NHGRI also supports the training of investigators and the dissemination of genome information to the public and to health professionals. Through its Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center, NHGRI information specialists answer questions in English and Spanish from the general public, including patients and their families, health care professionals and biomedical researchers. The Web site offers a vast array of online tools for researchers and consumers, including databases, lecture series, a talking glossary of genetics terms, and downloadable publications.

Keywords: Genome project, Chromosome mapping, DNA sequencing, Ethics, Genetics, Information dissemination

Annotation: The Park Ridge Center for the Study of Health, Faith, and Ethics is an independent not-for-profit organization supported by grants, foundations, and private and corporate contributors. The center explores the relationship between religious beliefs and health-related issues in collaboration with representatives from diverse cultures, religious communities, health care fields, and academic disciplines. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages. The center also publishes a bulletin and a catalog and sponsors workshops.

Keywords: Bioethics, Ethics, Faith, Health, Information services, Religion, Religious organizations

Annotation: PediaGen provides a searchable database of regional, national, and international laws, norms, guidelines, and policies relevant to both genetic research and clinical applications involving children and minors, as well as a selective review of literature. The materials entered in PediaGen are grouped under six broad themes: Banking, Genetic Testing, Research, Genetic Screening, Gene Therapy, and Pharmacogenomics. Users can search by title, publisher (organization), keyword, country of origin, year published (dating from 1985 through 2009) and language (English or French).

Keywords: Genetics, Adolescent health, Child health, Ethics, Infant health, Legal issues, Online databases, Research

Annotation: The Religious Institute develops and supports a network of clergy, religious educators, theologians, theological ethicists, and other religious leaders committed to promoting sexual justice in the faith community and society. It promotes the goals and vision of the Religious Declaration. It is an ecumenical, interfaith organization dedicated to advocating for sexual health, education and justice in faith communities and society. The institute works to build the capacity of religious institutions and clergy to offer sexuality education within the context of their own faith traditions and to advocate for sexual rights. It also strives to help congregations become sexually healthy faith communities and to educate the public and policy makers about sexual justice issues. Areas of focus include reproductive justice; inclusion of gays, lesbians, bisexual, and transgender people; abuse prevention; religious leader preparation; and international issues. The Institute provides technical assistance to faith communities and sexual and reproductive health organizations and publishes a newsletter, research reports, congressional guidebooks, and books for general audiences on sexual justice issues.

Keywords: Moral values, Civil rights, Clergy, Ethics, Marriage, Religion, Religious organizations, Reproductive rights, Sexuality, Sexuality education

Annotation: The Vereniging Samenwerkende Ouder en Patientenorganisaties (VSOP), or the Dutch Genetic Alliance, is an umbrella organisation of about sixty national, disease-linked, parent and patient organisations, most of them concerned with genetic and/or congenital disorders. The VSOP's mission is to optimise the implications of research in the field of genetics, medical biotechnology and life sciences for both patients and the public well-being and health. The integrated participation in society of people with a hereditary disorder or a genetic predisposition is central in this mission. In addition to this, the VSOP strives to increase awareness of developments in the area of genetics and the involvement of the public and society at large, and more specifically of those people directly concerned with these disorders. The VSOP aims to arrange that all citizens will be informed about the possibilities and consequences of these developments so that well-informed, well-thought-out dialogue and decision-making can take place. Three fields of interest are central to the VSOP: community genetics, medical biotechnology and rare disorders. Attached to all three fields are ethical implications and societal awareness. VSOP fosters efforts to fulfil vital needs by offering reliable and well-balanced information for patients and public; early and accurate detection and diagnosis of diseases; highly qualified, accessible and affordable genetic services; psychosocial support and counselling of carriers, patients and parents; reflection on ethical issues; and stimulation of research into causes, prevention and treatment of genetic disease, both monogenetic and multifactorial. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. Information on the Web site is primarily in Dutch, with an overview of the organization in English.

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Congenital abnormalities, Counseling, Ethics, Overseas organization, Support groups