Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (38 total).

American Academy of Pediatrics, Council on Environmental Health (COEH)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Council on Environmental Health (COEH) advises the AAP Board of Directors on environmental health issues and supports legislative initiatives designed to protect the health of the fetus, infant, and child from toxic exposure and debilitating or hazardous environmental agents. The Council also leads educational initiatives related to children's environmental health. The website provides links to patient education materials, Council newsletters, environmental health-related articles in AAP News, and Council-authored policy statements on issues such as air pollution, lead screening, secondhand smoke, and radiation disasters.

Keywords: , Child health, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Risk factors

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC)

Annotation: The Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC) was established to enhance the practice of occupational and environmental medicine through information sharing, education, and research. AOEC -- which is now a network of more than 60 clinics and 250 individuals -- works with communities to address their environmental health concerns and is a resource for patient referrals from other agencies. It administers the Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units Program to address the special needs of children and their families regarding environmental health concerns. It develops curriculum materials in environmental health and sponsors CME programs for clinicians and other health professionals. The Web site offers epidemiology tools, educational resources, training opportunities, and links.

Keywords: Child health, Cllinics, Environmental health, Occupational safety and health, Professional societies, Professional training

Center for Progressive Reform

Annotation: The Center for Progressive Reform is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit research and educational organization working to protect health, safety, and the environment through analysis and commentary. CPR’s core issue areas are health, safety and the environment, addressing topics as: protecting the environment (including climate change, clean air and water, enforcement issues, environmental justice, toxins, the next generation of environmental policies, natural resources, wildlife and nature); defending clean science from political or corporate interference; ensuring food and drug safety; excessive secrecy in government (focused on areas affecting health, safety and the environment); regulatory policy (including cost-benefit analysis, risk assessment and various tools for weighing the merits of protective regulation); and corporate accountability and tort reform (including federal preemption of state tort laws).

Keywords: Advocacy, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Food safety, Public health, Safety

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN)

Annotation: The Children's Environmental Health Network (CEHN) is a national non-profit organization dedicated to addressing pediatric environmental health concerns. In its ongoing efforts to promote a healthy environment, and to protect the fetus and child from environmental hazards, CEHN curently focuses on the key areas of chemical-safe policy; global climate change and children's health; education and training (for child care and health care providers, and the general public); and support for pediatric research and protective policies. A variety of materials, including a resource guide, are available on the website. Workshops and professional educational modules are available.

Keywords: Environmental health, Training

Columbia Center for Children's Environmental Health

Annotation: The mission of the Columbia Center for Children’s Environmental Health is to improve the respiratory health and cognitive development of children and to reduce their cancer risk by identifying environmental toxicants, genetic susceptibility factors, and conditions related to poverty that increase their risk of disease. Additionally, research results are used to educate parents, families, and health professionals and inform prevention strategies and public policy to reduce levels of harmful environmental toxicants.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Research

Concerned Educators Allied for a Safe Environment (CEASE)

Annotation: The Concerned Educators Allied for a Safe Environment (CEASE) is a national network of parents, teachers, and other advocates of young children. The organization draws attention to the conflict between efforts to make the classrooms safe for children and the lack of attention to the dangerous world outside. CEASE publishes Cease News three times a year; develops peace education materials; gives workshops for local groups and at regional and national conferences; conducts petition campaigns on such issues as child care, the military budget, and war toys; and works for the regulation of the amount of violence and commercialism on children's TV programming.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Child health, Environmental hazards

Healthy Child Healthy World ( )

Annotation: Healthy Child Healthy World (formerly the Children's Health Environmental Coalition) is dedicated to protecting the health and well being of children from harmful environmental exposures. The organization works to educate parents, support protective policies, and engage communities in making responsible decisions and well-informed lifestyle improvements to create healthy environments where children and families can flourish. Healthy Child Healthy World provides a variety on online resources, including environmental-safety checklists, articles describing preventive techniques, downloadable reports (many related to organic lifestyle choices), a community action kit, a blog featuring recognized health experts and highlighting news and events, an electronic newsletter, links to searchable databases, and Health eHouse -- an interactive virtual house designed to make it easier for families to identify environmental health hazards in the home.

Keywords: Environmental health, Child health, Household safety, Public awareness campaigns, Teratogens, Teratology, Toxicology

Healthy Schools Campaign

Annotation: Healthy Schools Campaign advocates for policies and practices that allow all students, teachers, and staff to learn and work in a healthy school environment. HSC addresses issues of environmental health and wellness in schools by preparing stakeholders to become leaders in efforts to create change at the school, district, state, and national levels.The website contains information on programs and publications on topics such as food and fitness, environmental justice and health disparities, environmental health, and school nursing.

Keywords: Barriers, Environmental health, Organizational change, Policy analysis, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, School nursing, Schools

Healthy Schools Network

Annotation: Healthy Schools Network is a leading national voice for children's environmental health at school. The network's policy campaigns address three core facets: 1) child-safe standards for school design, construction, and siting; 2) child-safe policies for housekeeping and purchasing; and 3) environmental public health services for children. The network's resources include fact sheets, guides, peer-reviewed reports, and state-by-state data and policy profiles. The network convenes the Coalition for Healthier Schools, which provides a platform and forum for environmental health through regular conference calls and annual meetings. The center's National Collaborative on Green Cleaning and Chemical Policy Reform in Schools has worked to strengthen certification standards for cleaning products; develop a training toolkit; and provide information and technical comments to policymakers, schools, and communities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Health policy, Networking, Policy development, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, School age children, School health, Schools, Students, Training

Initiative on Children's Environmental Health

Annotation: The Initiative on Children's Environmental Health (ICEH) -- formerly the Institute for Children's Environmental Health -- is a working group within the Collaborative on Health and the Environment. ICEH is devoted to the promotion of children's health and the prevention of environmental exposures and other factors that may undermine healthy development. Resources include fact sheets for nonscientists on various environmental factors that impact health; presentations from lectures, meetings, and conferences; biweekly news bulletins; parent materials; and a portal to science (a searchable collection of books, websites, databases, reports, videos and other media relating to health and environmental factors).

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration , Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Health promotion, Prevention

Mesothelioma Center

Annotation: The Mesothelioma Center provides information on asbestos, mesothelioma, and other cancers that are associated with asbestos exposure. The center's Web site provides news and information on asbestos issues ranging from occupational exposure to mesothelioma treatment options. The site covers prevention, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and legal issues. It includes an overview on the use of asbestos-containing construction materials in schools, including increased risks to children.

Keywords: Hazardous materials, Asbestos, Cancer , Child health, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, School health

Mid-Atlantic Center for Children's Health and the Environment

Annotation: The Mid-Atlantic Center for Children's Health and the Environment is a pediatric environmental health specialty unit affiliated with the Georgetown University Medical Center.

Keywords: Child health, Environmental health

National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)

Annotation: The National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH), a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), strives to promote health and quality of life by preventing or controlling those diseases or deaths that result from interactions between people and their environment. Programs and campaigns include vessel sanitation, healthy places, poisoning prevention, and air pollution and resipratory health. Information is also provided on asthma and emergency response. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information and publications, including a newsletter. The center also sponsor conferences and training seminars and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Government financing, Hazardous materials, Lead poisoning, Medical research, Reproductive hazards, Teratology

National Center for Healthy Housing (NCHH)

Annotation: The National Center for Healthy Housing (NCHH), formerly the National Center for Lead-Safe Housing, develops and promotes methods to protect children from residential environmental hazards while preserving the supply of affordable housing. The center not only works to reduce children's risk of lead poisoning, but also aims to decrease children's exposure to other hazards in the home, including allergens and irritants associated with asthma. NCHH sponsors research on methods to reduce residential environmental hazards and seeks to find scientifically valid and practical strategies that make homes safe from these hazards. The center offers technical assistance and training to individuals, government agencies, nonprofit organizations, and others interested in lead poisoning prevention and methods for lead hazard control. NCHH publishes a free quarterly e-newsletter and has developed a variety of downloadable publications on topics related to healthy housing, including lead hazard control and prevention. Through its National Healthy Housing Clearinghouse, the Center maintains a searchable database of over 600 documents on lead and healthy housing topics.

Keywords: Environmental health, Asthma, Chemicals, Lead poisoning, Preventive health services, Public health, Research, Technical assistance

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD)

Annotation: The National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD) is a federal agency within the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Activities include surveillance, research, technical assistance to states, and provision of information and education to the public. Topics include: causes of birth defects (including causes, having a healthy pregnancy, folic acid, and fetal alcohol syndrome); developmental disabilities (austism spectrum disorders, cerebal palsy, vision impairment, hearing loss, mental retardation), helping children develop and reach their full potential (child development, early hearing detection and intervention, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, Duchenne Becker Muscular Dystrophy), and promoting health and well-being among people of all ages with disabilities (disability and health, hereditary blood disorders, and woment with disability). NCBDDD publishes a newsletter and a journal and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Some publications and the Web site are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Human development, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Teratology

National Children's Study

Annotation: The National Children's Study is a federal collaboration to examine the effects of environmental influences on the health and development of more than 100,000 children across the United States, following them from before birth until age 21. The study is national in scope -- including children and families from different areas of the country, from varied backgrounds, and of different family types to allow investigation of issues important to the diverse U.S. population. The study defines “environment” broadly and will take a number of issues into account, including natural and man-made environment factors, biological and chemical factors, physical surroundings, social factors, genetics, and geography. The Web site provides progress updates and meeting announcements, links to related publications and adjunct studies, details of the study (including research methodology), and a list of study centers. The ultimate goal of the study is to improve the health and well-being of children. Participating government agencies include the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Keywords: Collaboration, Environmental health, Research, Child health, Data collection, Federal programs

National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR)

Annotation: The National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR) was launched in 2009 to bring together four research funders -- the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Institutes of Health, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture -- to accelerate progress in reducing childhood obesity in America. These organizations work in tandem to manage projects and reach common goals, coordinate funding to make the most of available resources, and share insights and expertise to strengthen research. The website provides information about projects, tools, webinars, publications, events, and resources.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Collaboration, Databases, Environmental influences, Financing, Health status, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research

National Drinking Water Alliance

Annotation: The National Drinking Water Alliance's mission is to ensure that all children in the U.S. can drink safe water in the places where they live, learn and play. NDWA works to build access and consumption through inter-related action areas: research, policy, safety, access, and education. NDWA is funded by the WK Kellogg Foundation and coordinated by the Nutrition Policy Institute, University of California, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Keywords: Environmental health, Public health, Safety, Water

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.