Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Council on Environmental Health (COEH) advises the AAP Board of Directors on environmental health issues and supports legislative initiatives designed to protect the health of the fetus, infant, and child from toxic exposure and debilitating or hazardous environmental agents. The Council also leads educational initiatives related to children's environmental health. The website provides links to patient education materials, Council newsletters, environmental health-related articles in AAP News, and Council-authored policy statements on issues such as air pollution, lead screening, secondhand smoke, and radiation disasters.

Keywords: , Child health, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Risk factors

Annotation: Americans for Nonsmokers' Rights is a member-supported lobbying association. It promotes clean indoor air legislation. Its sister organization the American Nonsmokers' Rights Foundation creates comprehensive programs for youth of all ages on issues of smoking prevention, the benefits of smokefree air, and the right to breathe smokefree air. It provides educational resources for schools, health departments, medical organizations, and others interested in the issues surrounding smoking and secondhand smoke.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Consumer protection, Environmental exposure, Nicotine, Smoking cessation

Annotation: Birth Defect Research for Children (BDRC), formerly the Association of Birth Defect Children (ABDC), disseminates information on birth defects, especially those that may be caused by environmental substances such as drugs, pesticides and other chemicals, and radiation. It also provides referrals and helps people with birth defects to cope with problems associated with physical malformation. The 501 (c) (3) organization sponsors a national parent matching program that links families of children with similar birth defects, and in 1993 it established a National Birth Defect Registry that collects information on birth defects, learning disabilities, cancers, and other childhood disabilities that may be related to environmental exposure of either parent during or before pregnancy. Publications include fact sheets on the most common categories of birth defects as well as environmental toxins that have been linked to birth defects.  A free monthly newsletter is sent out electronically.  Parents may subscribe on the BDRC web site.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Environmental exposures, Family support services, Information services

Annotation: The Center for Progressive Reform is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit research and educational organization working to protect health, safety, and the environment through analysis and commentary. CPR’s core issue areas are health, safety and the environment, addressing topics as: protecting the environment (including climate change, clean air and water, enforcement issues, environmental justice, toxins, the next generation of environmental policies, natural resources, wildlife and nature); defending clean science from political or corporate interference; ensuring food and drug safety; excessive secrecy in government (focused on areas affecting health, safety and the environment); regulatory policy (including cost-benefit analysis, risk assessment and various tools for weighing the merits of protective regulation); and corporate accountability and tort reform (including federal preemption of state tort laws).

Keywords: Advocacy, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Food safety, Public health, Safety

Annotation: The mission of the Columbia Center for Children’s Environmental Health is to improve the respiratory health and cognitive development of children and to reduce their cancer risk by identifying environmental toxicants, genetic susceptibility factors, and conditions related to poverty that increase their risk of disease. Additionally, research results are used to educate parents, families, and health professionals and inform prevention strategies and public policy to reduce levels of harmful environmental toxicants.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Research

Annotation: Healthy Schools Network is a leading national voice for children's environmental health at school. The network's policy campaigns address three core facets: 1) child-safe standards for school design, construction, and siting; 2) child-safe policies for housekeeping and purchasing; and 3) environmental public health services for children. The network's resources include fact sheets, guides, peer-reviewed reports, and state-by-state data and policy profiles. The network convenes the Coalition for Healthier Schools, which provides a platform and forum for environmental health through regular conference calls and annual meetings. The center's National Collaborative on Green Cleaning and Chemical Policy Reform in Schools has worked to strengthen certification standards for cleaning products; develop a training toolkit; and provide information and technical comments to policymakers, schools, and communities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Health policy, Networking, Policy development, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, School age children, School health, Schools, Students, Training

Annotation: The Initiative on Children's Environmental Health (ICEH) -- formerly the Institute for Children's Environmental Health -- is a working group within the Collaborative on Health and the Environment. ICEH is devoted to the promotion of children's health and the prevention of environmental exposures and other factors that may undermine healthy development. Resources include fact sheets for nonscientists on various environmental factors that impact health; presentations from lectures, meetings, and conferences; biweekly news bulletins; parent materials; and a portal to science (a searchable collection of books, websites, databases, reports, videos and other media relating to health and environmental factors).

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration , Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Health promotion, Prevention

Annotation: The Mesothelioma Center provides information on asbestos, mesothelioma, and other cancers that are associated with asbestos exposure. The center's Web site provides news and information on asbestos issues ranging from occupational exposure to mesothelioma treatment options. The site covers prevention, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and legal issues. It includes an overview on the use of asbestos-containing construction materials in schools, including increased risks to children.

Keywords: Hazardous materials, Asbestos, Cancer , Child health, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, School health

Annotation: The National Association of Atomic Veterans (NAAV) brings together veterans who participated in the nuclear bomb testing program in the Pacific and Nevada. The association sponsors conferences and publishes the quarterly Atomic Veterans Newsletter.

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Radiation

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: The National Library of Medicine'sToxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) maintains an environmental health Web site that provides access to resources produced by TEHIP as well as other governrment agencies and organizations. The Web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. Other toxicology and environmental health-related web resources available from TEHIP include the Households Products Database, HazMap (an occupational toxicology database), ToxMap (which uses U.S. maps to show the location of toxic chemicals), and Tox Town -- an interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances, your health, and the environment. Online reference tools guide users through the various components of the TEHIP site.

Keywords: Toxicology, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Hazardous materials, Health sciences libraries, Information dissemination, Information services, Information sources, Online databases

Annotation: The National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC) provides information on a variety of pesticide-related topics, including toxicology, health and environmental effects, pesticide product information, information on the recognition and management of pesticide poisonings, treferrals for laboratroy analyses, investigation of pesticide incidents, emergency treatment information, safety information, and clean-up and disposal procedures. NPIC provides a toll-free telephone service available to anyone in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands including the general public, the hearing impaired, Spanish speakers and medical, veterinary, and other health care professionals.

Keywords: Insecticides, Environmental exposures, Hotlines, Information services, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC), a nonprofit foundation, collects and disseminates information on the impact of drugs, chemical and physical agents, or other environmental factors on human fertility, pregnancy, and development. Unlimited access to the Reprotox database of fact sheets is available with an annual membership. Members can access Reprotox on the Internet at http://reprotox.org.

Keywords: Teratology, Drug use during pregnancy, Environmental exposures, Fertility, Information services, Nonprescription drugs, Prescription drugs, Radiation, Recreational drug use, Teratogens, Toxicology

Annotation: The Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) (formerly the Assistant Secretary for Public Health Emergency Preparedness) serves as the principal advisor to the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on matters related to bioterrorism and other public health emergencies. ASPR also coordinates interagency activities between HHS, other federal departments, agencies, offices and state and local officials responsible for emergency preparedness and the protection of the civilian population from acts of bioterrorism and other public health emergencies.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Public health, Emergency medical system, Environmental exposures , Prevention, Preventive health services, Terrorism

Annotation: The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) works to protect the natural environment -- air, water, and land -- and to preserve human health in the process. The EPA develops and enforces regulations, offers financial assistance to state environmental programs, conducts research, and sponsors voluntary partnerships and programs through its regional offices. Through its Office of Environmental Education, EPA works to advance and support educational efforts and to develop an environmentally conscious and responsible public. EPA also supports a variety of libraries, hotlines, and clearinghouses that respond to information requests from the public; they can be identified on the EPA Web site. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Hazardous materials, Air pollution, Asbestos, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Insecticides, Regulations, Water pollution