Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 4 (4 total).

American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)

Annotation: The American College of Emergency Physicians is a body of professional physicians who are involved in emergency medicine practice. They conduct internal training and information dissemination and promote public safety and health, especially in emergency care. ACEP publishes a journal and a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Emergency medicine

Emergency Medicine Foundation (EMF)

Annotation: The Emergency Medicine Foundation provides financial support for hypothesis-based emergency medicine research projects and education to improve patient care in emergency medicine. Donors are emergency physicians, professional practice groups, and corporations actively involved in the emergency medicine marketplace. The foundation publishes SCOPE, a semi-annual report.

Keywords: Emergency medicine, Grants, Research

National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN)

Annotation: The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) is a coalition of 54 treatment centers working to improve the quality, effectiveness, and availability of therapeutic services delivered to all children and adolescents experiencing traumatic events. The Network -- a Congressional initiative funded by the Center for Mental Health Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, US Department of Health and Human Services -- will collect data for systematic study; help to educate professionals and the public about the effects of trauma on children; and develop and disseminate effective, evidence-based treatments. The National Resource Center for Child Traumatic Stress (NRC-CTS) supports the mission of NCTSN by providing relevant information and resources to professionals and the public, including survivors of childhood trauma, their families, and communities. The Resource Center provides referrals, inquiry responses, reference information, and publications for consumers. The NCTSN Web site provides access to full-text reports, related reading lists, an archive of NCTSN newsletters, and the PILOTS database of scientific literature on traumatic stress. Some client brochures about child traumatic stress are available in foreign languages.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Coalitions, Emergency medical services, Resource centers, Therapeutics, Trauma, Treatment services

National Emergency Medicine Association (NEMA)

Annotation: The National Emergency Medicine Association (NEMA) provides information on a wide variety of health related topics. Its work is conducted through special programs including: National Heart Council, National Stroke Council, Seniors Life Council, and Kids Do Matter. NEMA is the producer of The Heart of the Matter, a daily radio health program. Through its special program, Kids Do Matter, it published The Little Book of Parenting. It also produced and distributes In A Flash, the youth gun violence prevention video and program targeted to middle school-aged youth. Brochures are available and some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Emergency medicine, Hospital emergency services, Prevention programs
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. The library is supported through foundation, univerity, state, and federal funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by the U.S. Government. Note: web pages whose development was supported by federal government grants are being reviewed to comply with applicable Executive Orders.