Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

American Red Cross (ARC)

Annotation: The American Red Cross (ARC) and its local chapters provide blood services, volunteer training for hospitals and other community agencies, and services for children and youth. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include pamphlets, brochures, and books on health and safety education, community disaster preparedness, babysitting, and baby and child care. Some materials are available in Spanish. Local chapters offer water safety programs, first aid and emergency training, birth classes, adult and youth health and safety courses, and community involvement activities.

Keywords: Blood banks, Child care, Childbirth education, Educational materials, Emergency medical services for children, Emergency services, Health education, Information services, Training

Columbus Children's Hospital, Center for Injury Research and Policy

Annotation: Based on scientific principles, the Children's Center for Injury Research and Policy conducts research activities to address prevention, acute care, rehabilitation and biomechanics related to injury in children and to increase energy and capacity related to pediatric injury research and prevention which will have the maximum positive impact on the health and wellbeing of children, their families and communities. Goals include increasing the scientific understanding of the epidemiology, prevention, treatment, rehabilitation and biomechanics of injuries through high quality, cutting-edge, translational research; providing leadership and technical assistance for injury research and prevention from local to international levels; educating medical and public health professionals and trainees about injury research, and effective prevention strategies for injury prevention; educating the public and key public policy decision-makers regarding the importance of injury research and prevention; and providing leadership in the development, implementation, and scientific evaluation of public policy addressing the prevention of injuries.

Keywords: Child health, Emergency medical services for children, Injury prevention, Ohio

Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center (EMSCNRC)

Annotation: The Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center (EMSCNRC), funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, provides technical assistance to Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) projects. Areas of assistance include communication strategies, cooperation with advisory boards and task forces, conversion of grant proposal objectives into action plans, identification of potential collaborators among relevant national organizations, and networking to promote awareness and advocacy of EMSC issues, injury prevention strategies, programs for children with special health care needs, public awareness strategies, and issues associated with various health insurance models. The center monitors and researches relevant federal and state legislation and disseminates information on its status through EMS Systems, EMS provider education, media outreach, its website and quarterly newsletter, EMS News. The organization also sponsors conferences and offers some materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Data, Emergencies, Emergency medical services, Emergency medical services for children, Legislation, National MCH resource center, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, Resources for professionals, Rural health, Spanish language materials, Technical assistance, Training

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

National Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) Data Analysis Resource Center (NEDARC)

Annotation: The National Emergency Medical Services for Children Data Analysis Resource Center (NEDARC) assists Emergency Medical Services (EMS) agencies and Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) managers in developing the capability to collect, analyze, and utilize EMS data. The center provides consultation and technical assistance with EMS/EMSC activities. The Web site provides online tutorials and a resource library of templates, state fact sheets, publications, research resources, statistics, and other materials. NEDARC is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Proposal writing, Data analysis, Data collection, Emergency medical services, Emergency medical services for children, Listservs, National MCH resource center, Research design, Resource centers, Statistics, Technical assistance, University affiliated centers

National Pediatric Readiness Project (NPRP)

Annotation: The National Pediatric Readiness Project is a multi-phase quality improvement initiative to ensure that all U.S. emergency departments (ED) have the essential guidelines and resources in place to provide effective emergency care to children. The first phase of this project will be a national assessment of EDs' readiness to care for children. The primary purpose of this project is three-fold: (1) to establish a composite baseline of the nation's capacity to provide care to children in the ED, (2) to create a foundation for EDs to engage in an ongoing quality improvement process that includes implementing the Guidelines for the Care of Children in the Emergency Department and (3) to establish a benchmark that measures an ED's improvement overtime. Project Support Provided by: EMS for Children Program, MCHB/HRSA (Cooperative agreement number U07MC09174), American Academy of Pediatrics, American College of Emergency Physicians, and Emergency Nurses Association. The EMSC NRC is housed within Childrens National Medical Center, Washington, DC

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children

Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC)

Annotation: The Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC) provides a central repository for data generated by the research nodes and hospital affiliates of PECARN, a federally-funded pediatric emergency medicine research network that conducts high-priority, multi-institutional research on the prevention and management of acute illnesses and injuries in children and adolescents. The DCC also works with each of the RNC principal investigators to implement PECARN-wide standards for data collection and analysis in order to ensure uniformity and quality of the data and monitor the safety and timely progress of PECARN studies. PECARN is supported by cooperative agreements between six academic medical centers and the Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Bureau, Emergency Medical Services for Children Program.

Keywords: Data collection, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, Injuries, MCH research, Patient care management, Pediatrics

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.