Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

Annotation: The American College of Emergency Physicians is a body of professional physicians who are involved in emergency medicine practice. They conduct internal training and information dissemination and promote public safety and health, especially in emergency care. ACEP publishes a journal and a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Emergency medicine

Annotation: The American Red Cross (ARC) and its local chapters provide blood services, volunteer training for hospitals and other community agencies, and services for children and youth. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include pamphlets, brochures, and books on health and safety education, community disaster preparedness, babysitting, and baby and child care. Some materials are available in Spanish. Local chapters offer water safety programs, first aid and emergency training, birth classes, adult and youth health and safety courses, and community involvement activities.

Keywords: Blood banks, Child care, Childbirth education, Educational materials, Emergency medical services for children, Emergency services, Health education, Information services, Training

Annotation: The American Trauma Society (ATS), a membership organization for health care trauma personnel, works to save lives through improved trauma care and injury prevention. ATS provides critical information on trauma to its members, to policy makers, and to the public. It supports the needs of families. It is also a strong supporter of injury prevention, creating and producing programs and providing these programs to its members. ATS programs cover the life-time of a person beginning with safety for children (the “Traumaroo Program”), teen behavior (alcohol, driving, etc.), adult and senior years (falls and driving). The society provides brochures and other print materials, videos, and posters to assist members in their community injury prevention programs.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Injury prevention, Safety education, Therapeutics, Trauma

Annotation: The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing (BCEN) grew out of a certification program established in 1979 by the Emergency Nurses Association. Since 1986 the board has assumed sole responsibility for the Certification Examination for Emergency Nurses. The board also manages the certification examination for flight nurses, which was first offered in 1993. Publications include a newsletter and brochure.

Keywords: Emergency nurses, Certification, Emergency medical services

Annotation: Based on scientific principles, the Children's Center for Injury Research and Policy conducts research activities to address prevention, acute care, rehabilitation and biomechanics related to injury in children and to increase energy and capacity related to pediatric injury research and prevention which will have the maximum positive impact on the health and wellbeing of children, their families and communities. Goals include increasing the scientific understanding of the epidemiology, prevention, treatment, rehabilitation and biomechanics of injuries through high quality, cutting-edge, translational research; providing leadership and technical assistance for injury research and prevention from local to international levels; educating medical and public health professionals and trainees about injury research, and effective prevention strategies for injury prevention; educating the public and key public policy decision-makers regarding the importance of injury research and prevention; and providing leadership in the development, implementation, and scientific evaluation of public policy addressing the prevention of injuries.

Keywords: Child health, Emergency medical services for children, Injury prevention, Ohio

Annotation: The Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) is a national membership association committed to excellence in emergency care. ENA works to define standards of excellence for emergency nurses, to promote the specialty of emergency nursing, to identify and address emergency care issues, and to serve as a resource for emergency nursing practice, professionalism, education, research, and consultation. The association also sponsors conferences, offers continuing education activities and collaborates with other health-related organizations in efforts to improve emergency care. Publications include the bimonthly Journal of Emergency Nursing and a newsletter, Etcetera., and a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Emergency nurses, Emergency medical services, Health promotion, Nurses, Professional education

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

Annotation: The National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP) has the mission to foster excellence and provide medical leadership so that all individual and communities receive quality out-of-hospital emergency medical services. The association develops guidelines and strategies to prevent discomfort, disability, and death in the community. It provides electronic communications, an EMS literature retrieval service, and a comprehensive network for all professionals servicing the EMS industry. Publications include a journal, Prehospital Emergency Care; a newsletter, NAEMSP News; and several textbooks. NAEMSP also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Injury prevention, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics, Training, Trauma

Annotation: The National Association of State EMS Directors (NASEMSD) brings together the emergency medical services (EMS) directors of each state, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories. The association provides leadership in developing effective emergency medical systems and helps to formulate national EMS policy. It also sponsors an annual conference, and maintains databases on U.S. ambulance services and on physicians who provide medical direction to EMS provider agencies.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Ambulances, Child health, Child injury, Emergency Medical System, Injuries, Injury prevention, National organizations, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics, Trauma

Annotation: The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) is a coalition of 54 treatment centers working to improve the quality, effectiveness, and availability of therapeutic services delivered to all children and adolescents experiencing traumatic events. The Network -- a Congressional initiative funded by the Center for Mental Health Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, US Department of Health and Human Services -- will collect data for systematic study; help to educate professionals and the public about the effects of trauma on children; and develop and disseminate effective, evidence-based treatments. The National Resource Center for Child Traumatic Stress (NRC-CTS) supports the mission of NCTSN by providing relevant information and resources to professionals and the public, including survivors of childhood trauma, their families, and communities. The Resource Center provides referrals, inquiry responses, reference information, and publications for consumers. The NCTSN Web site provides access to full-text reports, related reading lists, an archive of NCTSN newsletters, and the PILOTS database of scientific literature on traumatic stress. Some client brochures about child traumatic stress are available in foreign languages.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Coalitions, Emergency medical services, Resource centers, Therapeutics, Trauma, Treatment services

Annotation: The National Emergency Medical Services for Children Data Analysis Resource Center (NEDARC) assists Emergency Medical Services (EMS) agencies and Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) managers in developing the capability to collect, analyze, and utilize EMS data. The center provides consultation and technical assistance with EMS/EMSC activities. The Web site provides online tutorials and a resource library of templates, state fact sheets, publications, research resources, statistics, and other materials. NEDARC is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Proposal writing, Data analysis, Data collection, Emergency medical services, Emergency medical services for children, Listservs, National MCH resource center, Research design, Resource centers, Statistics, Technical assistance, University affiliated centers

Annotation: The National Emergency Medicine Association (NEMA) provides information on a wide variety of health related topics. Its work is conducted through special programs including: National Heart Council, National Stroke Council, Seniors Life Council, and Kids Do Matter. NEMA is the producer of The Heart of the Matter, a daily radio health program. Through its special program, Kids Do Matter, it published The Little Book of Parenting. It also produced and distributes In A Flash, the youth gun violence prevention video and program targeted to middle school-aged youth. Brochures are available and some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Emergency medicine, Hospital emergency services, Prevention programs

Annotation: The National Pediatric Readiness Project is a multi-phase quality improvement initiative to ensure that all U.S. emergency departments (ED) have the essential guidelines and resources in place to provide effective emergency care to children. The first phase of this project will be a national assessment of EDs' readiness to care for children. The primary purpose of this project is three-fold: (1) to establish a composite baseline of the nation's capacity to provide care to children in the ED, (2) to create a foundation for EDs to engage in an ongoing quality improvement process that includes implementing the Guidelines for the Care of Children in the Emergency Department and (3) to establish a benchmark that measures an ED's improvement overtime. Project Support Provided by: EMS for Children Program, MCHB/HRSA (Cooperative agreement number U07MC09174), American Academy of Pediatrics, American College of Emergency Physicians, and Emergency Nurses Association. The EMSC NRC is housed within Childrens National Medical Center, Washington, DC

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children

Annotation: The Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC) provides a central repository for data generated by the research nodes and hospital affiliates of PECARN, a federally-funded pediatric emergency medicine research network that conducts high-priority, multi-institutional research on the prevention and management of acute illnesses and injuries in children and adolescents. The DCC also works with each of the RNC principal investigators to implement PECARN-wide standards for data collection and analysis in order to ensure uniformity and quality of the data and monitor the safety and timely progress of PECARN studies. PECARN is supported by cooperative agreements between six academic medical centers and the Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Bureau, Emergency Medical Services for Children Program.

Keywords: Data collection, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, Injuries, MCH research, Patient care management, Pediatrics

Annotation: The Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) (formerly the Assistant Secretary for Public Health Emergency Preparedness) serves as the principal advisor to the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on matters related to bioterrorism and other public health emergencies. ASPR also coordinates interagency activities between HHS, other federal departments, agencies, offices and state and local officials responsible for emergency preparedness and the protection of the civilian population from acts of bioterrorism and other public health emergencies.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Public health, Emergency medical system, Environmental exposures , Prevention, Preventive health services, Terrorism

Annotation: Urgent Matters is an initiative of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to help hospitals eliminate emergency department (ED) crowding and help communities understand the challenges facing the health care safety net. The program's goals are: (1) to improve the ability of safety net profiders to respond to increasing emergency department volumes; (2) to assess and highlight the state of local safety nets in select communities; and (3) to publicize the program's findings to local and national audiences. Publications and an electronic newsletter are available.

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Health care systems, Health services delivery, Hospitals, National initiatives