Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 2 (2 total).

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH)

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

Starlight Children's Foundation

Annotation: Starlight Children's Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to brightening the lives of seriously ill children and their families. Working with pediatricians, technology experts, and the entertainment industry, Starlight Starbright creates programs to address the various social, emotional, and medical aspects of living with a chronic, serious, or life threatening illness or injury. The foundation's programs -- available not only to children and families, but also hospitals, clinics, schools, support groups, faith based organizations, and healthcare centers -- are designed to empower children and families to take charge of their illness, play a more active role in their treatment, and better cope with the challenges that accompany prolonged illness. The foundation has regional and international chapters, and was formed by a merger of the Starlight Foundation and the Starbright Foundation. Detailed information on the foundation's products and programs, including its electronic newsletter, are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Child health programs, Electronic newsletters, Family support, Terminal illness, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coping, Emotional adjustment, Family support programs, Foundations, Hospital programs, Injuries, Materials for children, Mental health, Patient care
   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.