Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 13 (13 total).

Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST)

Annotation: The Center for Applied Special Technology (CAST) is a not-for-profit organization that works to expand educational opportunities for individuals with disabilities through innovative uses oftechnology. CAST focuses on the development of learning models and tools that are usable by a wide range of learners and specifically promotes Universal Design for Learning (UDL), an approach to teaching, learning and curriculum development that draws on current brain research and new technology to respond to individual differences in learning styles. CAST promotes UDL through leadership in the National Center on Accessing the General Curriculum, and through presentations and participation in national education forums. Books, journal articles, videotapes and newsletters that discuss both UDL and technology in learning are available. CAST also develops software and Web sites that support UDL. CAST is the developer of Bobby (acquired by Watchfire in July 2002),a Web-based program that assists designers in making Web sites accessible to disabled people. CAST offers professional development and curriculum planning support in schools and other educational settings.

Keywords: Educational materials, Curriculum development, Disabilities, Educational programs, Special education

Center for Health Policy and Inequalities Research

Annotation: The Center for Health Policy and Inequalities Research (formerly the Duke University Center for Health Policy) stimulates and facilitates collaborative, interdisciplinary research focusing on population based health, health systems, intervention, and evaluation. The Center also offers an array of educational opportunities for students seeking careers in health policy making, research, and analysis.

Keywords: Public health, Educational programs, Health policy, Interdisciplinary approach, Legal processes, Management, Research, Social sciences, University affiliated centers

Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice (CIPPP)

Annotation: The Center for Injury Prevention Policy & Practice (CIPPP) serves as a resource center for childhood injury prevention and is located within the Maternal and Child Health Division of the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego University. The Center focuses on reducing child and adolescent injury, mortality, morbidity, and cost by facilitating increased capacity for childhood injury prevention at the state and local level. CIPPP hosts the Injury Prevention Web family of sites (see http://www.injuryprevention.org); provides a weekly update of injury research and prevention literature (see http://safetylit.org); provides technical assistance; conducts training workshops on injuries and prevention strategies; hosts an annual conference; and develops materials to assist government agencies, community organizations, and others with the development and implementation of injury prevention programs. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Adolescent health, California, Child health, Data, Educational materials, Prevention programs, Program development, Research, Resources for professionals

Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)

Annotation: The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is a large international professional organization dedicated to improving educational success for individuals with exceptionalities - students with disabilities and/or gifts. CEC advocates for appropriate governmental policies; sets professional standards; provides continual professional development; advocates for newly and historically underserved individuals with exceptionalities; and helps professionals obtain conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice. Services provided include the following: information dissemination, public policy advocacy and information; conventions and conferences; special education publications; and standards for the preparation and certification of special educators and professional practice. Please note: consumers are asked not to direct inquiries to both CEC and the ERIC Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Gifted Education, since the two organizations share staff and resources in responding to questions on disabilities.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Educational factors, Educational programs, Professional societies, Special education programs

Council of the Great City Schools

Annotation: The Council of the Great City Schools provides a forum for urban educators to develop strategies, exchange ideas, and conduct research on urban education. The council promotes public policy initiatives to ensure improvement of education and equity in the delivery of comprehensive educational programs. The organization publishes reports and a newsletter (these can be downloaded in pdf format from the Web site), and sponsors training seminars and conferences.

Keywords: Child health, Educational programs, School districts, Urban environment

CYFERNet: Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Early Intervention Program /The Arc -- Baton Rouge (EIP)

Annotation: The Early Intervention Program (EIP) provides educational and other services to Louisiana children 0–3 years old with developmental disabilities, including direct services, information, support, and statewide referrals. The program also provides in-service training and technical assistance on developmental disabilities and early education, publishes a newsletter, and maintains a library of information on Down syndrome, early intervention, and developmental disabilities. EIP also provides an Inclusive Day School; a learning center for typical and special needs children (ages 6 weeks to 6 years).

Keywords: Down syndrome, Developmental disabilities, Early intervention, Educational programs, Information services, Louisiana, Technical assistance

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Annotation: The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Activities that fulfill the ERIC mission are broadly categorized as collection development, content authorizations and agreements, acquisitions and processing, database and website operations, and communications.

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Education, Educational programs, Evaluation methods, Online databases, Professional education, Teachers

National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA)

Annotation: The National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA) is a national membership-based organization whose mission is to improve the quality of life for Latino elderly, families, and communities through advocacy, technical assistance, demonstration projects, capacity and institution building, and the development of educational materials. NHCOA informs members of issues significant to Latino seniors, especially those related to health, housing, income, education, employment, building communities, and strengthening families. The council participates in local and national coalitions, task forces, and committees that address these issues and their impact on Latino seniors and collaborates with its local chapters and affiliates to demonstrate programs and approaches to this population.

Keywords: Advocacy, Aging, Community development, Demonstration programs, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Minority health, Spanish language, Technical assistance, Women's health

National Institute for Children's Health Quality (NICHQ)

Annotation: The National Institute for Children's Health Quality (NICHQ) is an independent, not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving children's health by improving the systems responsible for the delivery of children's healthcare. Services include learning collaboratives, building the capacity for improvement, state and regional improvement programs, advocacy and mobilization, and networks. The website provides information on areas of focus, projects, and resources including toolkits, publications, summary sheets, advocacy resources, and resources for parents.

Keywords: , Child health, Adolescent health, Asthma, Attention deficit disorder, Children with special health care needs, Data, Educational materials, Foster care, Health services, Model programs, Preventive health services, Primary care, Quality assurance, Training

Population Resource Center (PRC)

Annotation: The Population Resource Center (PRC) is a nonprofit organization, founded in 1975, which serves as a resource for policymakers in government, business and the not-for-profit sector on the relationship of demographic trends to socio-economic, political, and environmental issues. The center provides briefings, discussions, presentations, and publications offered by experts in the fields of demographic research, population, international affairs, economic development, reproductive health, family planning, and the environment. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter, PRC Focus, and an annual report.

Keywords: Demography, Economics, Educational programs, Environment, Family planning, Reproductive health

Reading Is Fundamental (RIF)

Annotation: Reading Is Fundamental, Inc. (RIF), founded in 1966, motivates children to read by working with them, their parents, and community members to make reading a fun and beneficial part of everyday life. RIF’s highest priority is reaching underserved children from birth to age 8. Through community volunteers in every state and U.S. territory, RIF provides 4.5 million children with 16 million new, free books and literacy resources each year. For more information and to access reading resources, visit RIF’s website.

Keywords: Educational programs, Children's literature, Community programs, Literacy, National programs, Parent child relations, Parent education programs, Reading

ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation (ThinkFirst)

Annotation: ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation works to prevent brain, spinal cord, and other traumatic injuries through education, research, and advocacy. The foundation offers theory-based, evidence-based injury prevention programs for children, adolescents, and young adults; presentations through a chapter network; injury prevention facts; educational materials and resources; training for physicians and other health professionals; and speaker, volunteer, and support opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain injuries, Child safety, Educational materials, Injury prevention, Multimedia, Prevention programs, Research, Resources for professionals, Spinal cord injuries, Traffic safety, Training

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.