Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (45 total).

American Montessori Society (AMS)

Annotation: The American Montessori Society (AMS) works to spread the use of the Montessori teaching approach in private, publicly funded, and public schools. The society issues teaching credentials, assists in start-up of Montessori schools, maintains a consultation service, and sponsors professional development activities and conferences. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include directories, books, pamphlets, surveys, reports, and a magazine.

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Schools

Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI)

Annotation: The Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI) is a not-for-profit professional educational organization whose mission is to promote and support in the global community the optimal education and development of children, from infancy through middle childhood, and to influence the professional growth of educators, and the efforts of others who are committed to the needs of children in a changing society. The association provides publications for consumers; some of the information is in Spanish. Publications include a catalogue, a newsletter, a journal, and several books. The association conducts conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Child care, Children rights, , Early childhood education

Building Bright Futures

Annotation: Building Bright Futures is a nonprofit organization that serves the dual role as the State Early Childhood Advisory Council and the governance structure for the early childhood system, aligning the work at the state level with the work of 12 regional councils across Vermont to promote improvements in access, quality, and affordability of prevention and intervention services for families and young children from birth through age 6. This work includes maintaining a formal system for planning, coordinating, and integrating early childhood programs, policies, information and resources that is recognized, consistent and supported at the state and regional levels.

Keywords: Early childhood education, Early intervention, Public private partnerships, Service delivery systems, State organizations, Vermont, Young children

Catherine E. Cutler Institute for Child and Family Policy

Annotation: The Catherine E. Cutler Institute for Child and Family Policy is funded by the Child Care Bureau to conduct a mixed method, in-depth case study in Colorado to examine current practice across systems in order to determine the degree to which the educational needs of children younger than five in the child welfare system are being addressed through collaborations between child welfare agencies, early intervention/preschool special education programs under IDEA and quality early care and education programs. The Institute also identifies best practices and develops policy recommendations for how the multiple agencies which provide these services can better coordinate their efforts.

Keywords: Child development, Child welfare, Collaboration, Early childhood education, Early intervention services, School readiness, Service integration, Young children

Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Education

Annotation: The Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Education in the College of Education and Human Services at Western Illinois University provides products, training materials, conference presentations and workshops on topics relating to technology and early childhood. Catalogs of various software, print, and video products and complimentary copies of ACTTive Technology, the Center's quarterly publication dedicated to technology and young children with disabilities, are available upon request.

Keywords: Technology, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Early intervention

Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning

Annotation: The Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning is a five-year project designed to strengthen the capacity of child care and Head Start programs to improve the social and emotional outcomes of young children. Funded by Head Start and the Child Care Bureau in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the center will develop training and technical assistance (T/TA) materials that reflect evidence-based practices for promoting children's social and emotional development and preventing challenging behaviors. The center will then work with professional organizations and Head Start and child care T/TA providers to ensure the use of the evidence-based practices in local demonstration sites.

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Head Start, Mental health, Nuvee, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Technical assistance, Training

Child and Family Policy Center (CFPC)

Annotation: The Child and Family Policy Center (CFPC) is a nonprofit research and advocacy organization promoting outcome-based policies that improve child well-being. The center focuses on a range of policy areas in Iowa, including child care and early education, health and well-being, and family economic success. CFPC also conducts national evaluation work focused on early-childhood system building and policy development promoting comprehensive, asset-based approaches to supporting children and families.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Child health, Children, Early childhood education, Evaluation, Families, Family economics, Iowa, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research, Systems development

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (CCEERC)

Annotation: Child Care and Education Research Connections (CCEERC) is a tool for researchers and policymakers that facilitates access to current research and findings, datasets, statistics, instruments, and other analytic tools related to child care and early childhood education. It is a partnership among the National Center for Children in Poverty at Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health; the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research; and the U.S. Administration for Children and Families' Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation. Research Connections highlights current research; develops and disseminates materials designed to improve child care policy research; provides technical assistance to researchers and policy makers; synthesizes findings into policy research briefs; and facilitates collaboration in the field. Services to consumers include referrals, data sets, inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and provides an online discussion list and an electronic announcement list.

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Public policy, Research, Statistics

CLAS Institute (CLAS)

Annotation: The CLAS Institute identifies, evaluates, and promotes effective and appropriate early intervention and preschool practices that are sensitive and respectful to children and families from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. The Web site includes a searchable database of culturally and linguistically appropriate materials produced by child education and multicultural experts for use by early childhood/special education practitioners and administrators. The Institute reviews and acquires materals from various national, regional, state and local organizations, grant-funded projects, national, state and local programs, and publishers. The Web site is maintained by the Early Childhood and Parenting Collaborative at the University of Illinois.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Linguistic competence, Spanish language materials

Council for Professional Recognition

Annotation: The Council for Professional Recognition works to improve the status of early childhood educators nationwide. The Council administers the Child Development Associate (CDA) National Credentialing Program, a collaborative effort between the early childhood profession and the Administration on Children and Families. The CDA Program establishes national standards for the evaluation and credentialing of center-based teachers, family child care providers, and home visitors. The Council's CDA Professional Preparation Program, a national one-year training program, will provide uniform and accessible training for people interested in becoming CDAs. Interested users may download a variety of free publications from the website. Many materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to the council's electronic newsletter.

Keywords: Child Care, Child health, Early childhood education, Training

Early Care and Education Consortium (ECEC)

Annotation: The Early Care and Education Consortium (ECEC) is a non-profit alliance of national, regional, and independent providers of child care and early learning programs for young children. The consortium was formed in 1999 to create a provider voice to shape public policy in support of high-quality care and education for children and families. ECEC works to promote early care and education as a whole, and targets four specific state and federal policy areas: PreK and early learning initiatives, accessible child care subsidies, the early childhood educator work force, and quality rating and improvement systems. ECEC is engaged in the states and on the federal level in supporting strategies and advocating legislation that promotes the development and funding of high-quality early care and education.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Consortia, Early childhood education, Legislation

Early Childhood Iowa

Annotation: Early Childhood Iowa (ECI) is a confederation or alliance of stakeholders in early care, health and education systems that affect children age 0 to 5 in the state of Iowa. The structure of ECI includes six system component groups that describe the necessary elements of an effective and comprehensive system involving governance, planning and administration; professional development; public engagement; quality services and programs; resources and funding; and results accountability.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Child health, Early childhood education, Infants, Iowa, Iowa, State initiatives, Young children

Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (ECTAC)

Annotation: The Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center (ECTAC) supports the implementation of the early childhood provisions of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Their mission is to strengthen service systems to ensure that children with disabilities (birth through age five) and their families receive and benefit from high quality, culturally appropriate, and family-centered supports and services. The center is funded by the U.S. Department of Education. A publications list and online discussion lists are available on the Web site. The center was formerly called the National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System (NECTAS).

Keywords: Early intervention, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Information services, Outreach, Special education

Early Head Start National Resource Center (EHS NRC)

Annotation: The Early Head Start National Resource Center (EHS NRC) provides expertise, materials, resources, information, training, and technical assistance to Early Head Start and Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs, technical assistance providers, and federal staff in all work related to services for infants, toddlers, pregnant women, and families. EHS NRC provides professional development and technical assistance supports such as the annual Birth to Three Institute and national orientation conference, special initiatives, audio-conferences, online lessons, data analysis, and leadership seminars. EHS NRC also facilitates networks and forums such as listservs and work groups, and develops resources such as technical assistance papers, tip sheets, webinars and webcasts, an electronic newsletter, podcasts, research briefs, e-mail digests, and white papers.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Child development services, Early childhood education, Head Start, Low income groups, Nuvee, Resource centers, Training

First Things First

Annotation: First Things First supports the healthy development and learning of young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The website explains why the early years are critical for a child's healthy development and why investing in quality early childhood programs benefits children, families, communities, and the state. The website includes information for parents and families on topics such as brain development, ages and stages, child care and preschool, and literacy. Resources include a parent kit; a birth to five helpline; annual and biennial reports on statewide and regional needs and assets, and regional impact; research on brain science, quality early learning, and parenting education and family support; and data and statistics relevant to early childhood on national, state, and local levels.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family support, Learning, Parent education, Research, School readiness, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

FPG Child Development Institute

Annotation: The FPG Child Deveopment Institute's mission is to cultivate and share the knowledge necessary to enhance child development and family well being. Through a variety of grants and contracts, the institute conducts research and provides outreach services. Most of the institute’s work addresses young children ages birth to 8 years, with a special focus on children who experience biological or environmental factors that challenge early development and learning. The institute was founded in 1966 and is named for Dr. Frank Porter Graham and was formerly known as the Frank Porter Graham Child Development Center.

Keywords: Early childhood education, Child development, Cognitive development, Emotional development, Psychosocial development, Young children

Fred Rogers Center for Early Learning and Children's Media (Ele)

Annotation: The Fred Rogers Center for Early Learning and Children's Media (Ele) is a program at Saint Vincent College to advance the fields of early learning and children’s media by acting as a catalyst for communication, collaboration, and creative change. The website provides information, media-based activities, and social networking opportunities to help educators, families, and others support the healthy social, emotional, intellectual, and physical development of young children. Media types include books, videos, games, songs, interactive tools, and mobile. Information about content partners is included.

Keywords: Early childhood education, Multimedia

Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development (GUCCHD)

Annotation: The Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development (formerly Georgetown University Child Development Center) was established over four decades ago to improve the quality of life for all children and youth, especially those with, or at risk for, special needs and their families. A division of Georgetown University's Department of Pediatrics, the Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development is founded on an interdisciplinary approach to service, training programs, research, community outreach, and public policy. The center sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, a catalog, and access to a list service. The policy component of the Center works internationally and nationally, as well as with states and communities, to develop and implement policies and service systems that serve the child.

Keywords: Communication disorders, Congenital abnormalities, Developmental disabilities, Early childhood education, Listservs, Nervous system diseases, Neuropsychology

Great Kids Inc.

Annotation: Great Kids Inc. is a nonprofit international training and consulting organization dedicated to developing early childhood and home based programs for families with children 0-5 years. It provides training materials, support services, and curricula for child care providers and program staff (including home visitors). Materials are available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood, Home visiting, International programs, Parenting education, Pregnancy, Professional training, Spanish language materials, Young children

International Child Resource Institute (ICRI)

Annotation: The mission of International Child Resource Institute (ICRI) is to improve the lives of children and families throughout the world, enabling them to survive and succeed. ICRI provides services for families and children locally and around the world through technical assistance and consultation to a wide variety of national and international organizations, businesses, governments, non-profits and others interested in such children's issues as child care, child abuse prevention, child survival, maternal and child health, placement alternatives for abandoned and traumatized children and the promotion of children's rights.

Keywords: Child care, Adoption, Child abuse prevention, Child health, Cultural competence, Developing countries, Development, Early childhood education, Information services, Maternal health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.