Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Connecticut Pregnancy Exposure Information Service operates a telephone service that provides current information on the possible risk to a fetus exposed to a particular medication, chemical, infection, or substance abuse during pregnancy. The service is offered to women who are pregnant or planning a pregnancy, health care providers, and concerned partners who want information, education, or counseling about exposure risks. Callers at risk or with complicated exposures are encouraged to seek personal genetic counseling, which can be provided by this service or by a genetic counselor in the caller's region. Telephone callers receive written follow-ups. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include fact sheets and a newsletter.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Connecticut, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetus, Hotlines, Information services, Pregnancy, Risk assessment, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS) is a non-profit public health advocacy organization that develops and implements innovative ideas in prevention, education, intervention, and public policy in the United States and internationally. It provides materials for educators, advocacy groups, expectant mothers, those living with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, and health care professionals.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC), a nonprofit foundation, collects and disseminates information on the impact of drugs, chemical and physical agents, or other environmental factors on human fertility, pregnancy, and development. Unlimited access to the Reprotox database of fact sheets is available with an annual membership. Members can access Reprotox on the Internet at http://reprotox.org.

Keywords: Teratology, Drug use during pregnancy, Environmental exposures, Fertility, Information services, Nonprescription drugs, Prescription drugs, Radiation, Recreational drug use, Teratogens, Toxicology

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Center for Excellence is a project of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) devoted to preventing and treating FASD. The center has congressional mandates to: 1) study innovative clinical interventions and service delivery improvement strategies; 2) identify communities with exemplary comprehensive systems of care; 3) provide technical assistance to communities without comprehensive systems of care; 4) provide training to individuals in various service systems dealing with persons and families affected by FASD; 5) develop innovative techniques to prevent alcohol use by women in childbearing years; and 6) perform other functions, to the extent authorized by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, after consideration of recommendations made by the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. The Information Resource Center within the FASD Center for Excellence maintains an online database of selected journal articles, reports, books, and other materials to identify evidence-based information on FASD. The FASD Center also publishes special reports and provides public access (by appointment) to its Viewing Library located in Rockville, Maryland.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Alcohol abuse, Disorders, Drug affected children, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Online databases, Preventive health services, Resource centers , Service delivery systems, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services, Technical assistance, Teratology

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol and Drug Unit (FADU) is a research unit dedicated to the prevention, intervention and treatment of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS) and Fetal Alcohol Effects (FAE). The unit conducts research on fetal alcohol and drug effects across the life span; disseminates information on fetal alcohol and drug effects; provides training in human behavioral teratology; and provides consultation services for individuals of any age thought to be affected by prenatal exposure to alcohol. Links to FADU publications and other FAS/FAE resources are located on the Web site.

Keywords: Fetal alcohol syndrome, Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol effects, Information sources, Maternal fetal exchange, Medical research, Preventive health services, Teratogens, Teratology, Training