Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: African American Family Services (AAFS) provides culturally-specific, community-based mental health, chemical health, and family preservation services to African American youth, adults and families. A.A.F.S. consists of three divisions, including the Institute on Black Chemical Abuse, the African American Counseling Center, and the Institute for Resiliency and Culture: A Movement for Youth. AAFS provides referrals and inquiry responses and produces an electronic newsletter.

Keywords: Blacks, Drug abuse, Mental health, Minority health, Substance abuse

Annotation: The American Council for Drug Education (ACDE) works to curb drug abuse by informing and motivating the public. The council has launched educational campaigns targeted to specific high-risk audiences and has developed and distributed more than 60 publications and five videotapes. In addition, it produces a catalog and newsletter and provides consumers with referrals and reference information, some available in Spanish.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Drug abuse, Drug education, High risk groups

Annotation: The American Council on Alcoholism (ACA) is a national nonprofit health organization dedicated to educating the public about the effects of alcohol, alcoholism, and alcohol abuse, and the need for prompt effective, readily-available, and affordable alcoholism treatment.

Keywords: Substance abuse prevention programs, Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse

Annotation: The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) is a national specialty organization of 3,500 physicians who are concerned about alcoholism and other drug dependencies. ASAM's Goals are to improve access to care and to increase its quality and effectiveness for patients and their families. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include a textbook,Principles of Addiction Medicine, practice guidelines, the Patient Placement Criteria: Second Edition (PPC-2), a quarterly journal, and a bimonthly newsletter, ASAM News. ASAM also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alcoholism, Drugs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Annotation: The Connecticut Pregnancy Exposure Information Service operates a telephone service that provides current information on the possible risk to a fetus exposed to a particular medication, chemical, infection, or substance abuse during pregnancy. The service is offered to women who are pregnant or planning a pregnancy, health care providers, and concerned partners who want information, education, or counseling about exposure risks. Callers at risk or with complicated exposures are encouraged to seek personal genetic counseling, which can be provided by this service or by a genetic counselor in the caller's region. Telephone callers receive written follow-ups. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include fact sheets and a newsletter.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Connecticut, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetus, Hotlines, Information services, Pregnancy, Risk assessment, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: Families Anonymous (FA) serves parents, concerned relatives, and friends of loved ones who abuse drugs and/or alcohol and have related behavior problems. Services to consumers include referrals to support groups, inquiry responses, publications, and reference information. FA publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish and other languages can be made available through the organization's international groups.

Keywords: Families, Alcohol abuse, Bahavior problems, Drug abuse, Information services, Self help clearing houses, Substance abuse

Annotation: Narcotics Anonymous (NA) is an international organization of recovering drug addicts who attend more than 33,000 weekly meetings worldwide. Publications include six books: Narcotics Anonymous, the fellowship's Basic Text; It Works: How and Why (a study of the Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of NA); Narcotics Anonymous Step Working Guides(a workbook for members); Just For Today (a daily meditation book); and Miracles Happen, (a full-color coffee table book chronicling the birth of NA); seven booklets and a collection of over twenty informational pamphlets on recovery topics. Periodicals include The NA Way Magazine, Meeting by Mail (newsletter for recovering addicts unable to attend meetings), and Reaching Out (newsletter for addicts seeking recovery in hospitals or other institutions). A catalog is available in several languages and in Braille.

Keywords: Drug abuse, Drug addiction, International health, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

Annotation: A service of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), SAMHSA’s National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI ) is the Nation’s primary resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment. Free and low-cost information, publications, and multimedia resources are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, through toll-free phone service in English and Spanish. NCADI’s resources and Library databases are also accessible online. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. Anyone can sign up to receive electronic news updates. The on-site Resource Library is open to the public, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD) works to prevent and control alcoholism through programs of public and professional education, medical and scientific information, and public policy advocacy. The council refers callers to local affiliates for counseling and provides print information on alcoholism. Publications include a catalog and a newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholism, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse

Annotation: The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a Federal Information Exchange on criminal justice, juvenile justice, and drug policy. NCJRS shares resources through a toll-free number, online resources, conferences, and mailings. Services include referrals, reference information, and publications (including a catalog).

Keywords: Crime, Criminal justice system, Drug abuse, Juvenile justice, Public policies

Annotation: The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) responds to inquiries from the community, professionals, and the media. NIDA supports more than 85 percent of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The institute produces and distributes information based on its own drug abuse research, maintains statistics and information on drug exposed infants, and provides support and technical assistance for efforts to increase public and professional awareness of the relationship between drug abuse and AIDS. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Web site includes a section, NIDA for Teens, that is geared to adolescents ages 11 to 15. The institute also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops and publishes a catalog and a newsletter. The website and publications are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Drug abuse, AIDS, Adolescents, Research, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Statistics, Substance abuse prevention, Substance dependance, Technical assistance

Annotation: The National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (NOFAS) is a non-profit public health advocacy organization that develops and implements innovative ideas in prevention, education, intervention, and public policy in the United States and internationally. It provides materials for educators, advocacy groups, expectant mothers, those living with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, and health care professionals.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Teratogens, Teratology

Annotation: The Partnership for Drug-Free Kids is a nonprofit organization dedicated to reducing adolescent substance abuse and helping families impacted by addiction. The partnership provides information on drug and alcohol abuse, provides direct services to parents, reach youth through teen-targeted efforts, and has created a national action campaign, The Medicine Abuse Project, that focuses on prescription drugs and over-the-counter cough medicine. It was previously known as the Partnership for a Drug-Free America.

Keywords: Adolescents, Drug addiction, Families, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse treatment, Young adults

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Center for Excellence is a project of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) devoted to preventing and treating FASD. The center has congressional mandates to: 1) study innovative clinical interventions and service delivery improvement strategies; 2) identify communities with exemplary comprehensive systems of care; 3) provide technical assistance to communities without comprehensive systems of care; 4) provide training to individuals in various service systems dealing with persons and families affected by FASD; 5) develop innovative techniques to prevent alcohol use by women in childbearing years; and 6) perform other functions, to the extent authorized by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, after consideration of recommendations made by the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. The Information Resource Center within the FASD Center for Excellence maintains an online database of selected journal articles, reports, books, and other materials to identify evidence-based information on FASD. The FASD Center also publishes special reports and provides public access (by appointment) to its Viewing Library located in Rockville, Maryland.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Alcohol abuse, Disorders, Drug affected children, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Online databases, Preventive health services, Resource centers , Service delivery systems, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services, Technical assistance, Teratology

Annotation: The Saskatchewan Prevention Institute, formerly the Saskatchewan Institute on Prevention of Handicaps, is a nonprofit organization that raises province-wide awareness of prevention measures to reduce the incidence of handicapping conditions in children. Programs focus on four areas that impact the health and well-being of children: Reproductive and Infant Health; Alcohol, Tobacco and Drugs; Childhood Injuries; and Neglect and Abuse. Activities focus on raising awareness of prevention measures through: educational opportunities such as workshop presentations, conferences and public awareness campaigns; providing assistance for community groups to develop their own prevention education programs; networking and partnering projects that further prevention efforts; and maintaining links with community, non-profit and government organizations to ensure a coordinated approach to prevention programming. Publications include print and audio visual resources including brochures, fact sheets, resource kits, posters, videos, and a newsletter Prevention Post. A resource catalog is also available.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Alcoholism, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Child safety, Children, Drugs, Injury prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Tobacco

Annotation: The Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) works with federal, state, public, and private organizations to develop comprehensive prevention systems. CSAP provides national leadership in the development of policies, programs, and services to prevent the onset of illegal drug use, prescription drug misuse and abuse, alcohol misuse and abuse, and underage alcohol and tobacco use. CSAP also promotes effective substance abuse prevention practices that enable states, communities, and other organizations to apply prevention knowledge effectively.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Alcoholic beverages, Alcoholism, Drugs, High risk adolescents, Prevention programs, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: The ONDCP Drug Policy Information Clearinghouse supports drug control policy research and development. It provides policymakers with current data on illegal drug trafficking, drug law violators, drug use among offenders in the criminal justice system, and the impact of drugs on criminal justice administration. It also refers inquiries to the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention's National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information and other federally sponsored clearinghouses that address drug-related issues. The data center was established in 1987 and is a component of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service, U.S. Department of Justice.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Alcohol abuse, Clearinghouses, Crime prevention, Drug use behavior, Drugs, Policy development, Public policies, legislation

Annotation: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. The website provides information about strategic initiatives, health reform, prevention, treatment, and recovery;publications in English and Spanish; data; and grants.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Mental health, Model programs, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol and Drug Unit (FADU) is a research unit dedicated to the prevention, intervention and treatment of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS) and Fetal Alcohol Effects (FAE). The unit conducts research on fetal alcohol and drug effects across the life span; disseminates information on fetal alcohol and drug effects; provides training in human behavioral teratology; and provides consultation services for individuals of any age thought to be affected by prenatal exposure to alcohol. Links to FADU publications and other FAS/FAE resources are located on the Web site.

Keywords: Fetal alcohol syndrome, Alcohol abuse, Drug use during pregnancy, Fetal alcohol effects, Information sources, Maternal fetal exchange, Medical research, Preventive health services, Teratogens, Teratology, Training

Annotation: The Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources is an official information and materials resource for the state of Wisconsin that also serves schools, agencies, programs, community groups, and businesses nationwide. Its goal is to strengthen individuals, families, and communities. The Clearinghouse provides a wide range of educational materials and services to prevention specialists, counselors, and other professionals. Topics include alcohol and other drugs, curricula and teacher resources, high-risk youth and high-risk behaviors, resources for programs and professionals, tobacco and smoking, fetal alcohol syndrome, primary prevention and health promotion, mental health, and families and substance abuse prevention. Posters, publications and videotapes are available. Some materials are available in Spanish, plus a few items also available in Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Korean. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholic beverages, Audiovisual materials, Curricula, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Mental health, Recreational drug use, Self help clearinghouses, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Teratology, Tobacco, Wisconsin