Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: California Distance Learning Health Network (CDLHN), a non-profit organization under the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego State University, utilizes technology to bring educational opportunities to people in the state, across the nation, and around the world. CDLHN utilizes satellite broadcasts, webcasts, video and CD-ROM presentations, as well as live on-site training through the Skills Training Institute (a division of the California Distance Learning Health Network) to inform health care workers and the general public interested in the health related issues.  CDLHN links clients to the latest information on public health and safety issues, as well as provides access to continuing educational opportunities. The Web site offers a course listing, a discussion forum, an online skills institute, news, a course facilitator list, and more.

Keywords: Distance education, Information networks, Public health, Technology

Annotation: The Center for the Advancement of Distance Education (CADE) provides technical support for online projects of benefit to the MCH community, such as webcasts, conference archives, and distance learning activities. It manages MCHCOM.COM, MCH epidemiology meetings, and other meetings and Web sites.

Keywords: Conferences, Distance education, Child health, Electronic communication, Maternal health, Technical assistance, Webcasts

Annotation: The Institute for Child Health Policy works to improve the health status of infants and children by integrating intellectual and organizational resources of the state university system to assist in the formulation and evaluation of health policies, programs, and systems. A major division of the Institute is the Center for Policy and Program Coordination, funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The institute sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter. Topics include Children's Medical Services, Florida's Healthy Kids, Florida KidCare, child health financing and reimbursement, and telehealth. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Public policies, Child health, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Distance education, Florida, Health care financing, Health insurance, Health policy, Infant health, Managed care, Outreach, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Epidemiology and Statistics Program (MCHESP) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels to improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The website provides information about the graduate student epidemiology program including internships for public health students, the DataSpeak web conference series, and supported projects. Additional resources include publishing technical assistance, publications (chartbooks and databooks), and research and data.

Keywords: Distance education, Epidemiology, Federal programs, Graduate education, MCH research, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Public health infrastructure, Statistical data, Technical assistance

Annotation: The MidAtlantic Public Health Training Center provides training and continuing education opportunities for the public health workforce in the tri-state MidAtlantic network, covering Delaware, Maryland, and the District of Columbia. It is funded by the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, and has a variety of academic and practice partners in the three jurisdictions. It offers workshops, symposia, satellite broadcasts, conferences and internships.

Keywords: Distance education, Training, Public health education, Public health programs, Public health schools, Training materials, University affiliated programs

Annotation: The National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) promotes awareness of the needs of children and adolescents grieving a death and provides a network for nationwide communication between professionals and volunteers who want to share ideas, information and resources with each other to better support the children and families they serve in their own communities. NAGC offers online education, hosts an annual symposium on children's grief, maintains a national database of children's bereavement support programs, and promotes national awareness to enhance public sensitivity to the issues impacting grieving children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Bereavement, Children, Communication, Community based services, Databases, Distance education, Families, Family support programs, Information networks, National initiatives

Annotation: The National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC) is a non-profit organization that provides training, prevention, intervention and treatment services to fight child abuse and neglect. NCAC hosts the National Symposium on Child Abuse and the National Conference on Child Abuse Prevention; provides training seminars and online training programs for professionals; conducts research and develops best practice models; offers family-support services, including home visitation programs, and school-based programs for children; and provides intervention programs and therapy services for victims of child abuse. Additional information for children, families, and professionals is posted on the Web site.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Crisis intervention, Distance education, Electronic publications, Family support services, Maltreated children, Model programs, Prevention, Professional education, Research, Training, Victims

Annotation: The Public Health Foundation (PHF) is a national, non-profit organization dedicated to achieving healthy communities through research, training, and technical assistance. Building on over 32 years of experience, PHF assists health agencies and other community health system organizations by providing objective information in areas such as health improvement planning, understanding and using data, and improving performance. Through its Web-based Public Health Infrastructure Resource Center, PHF offers information and resources to help build the capacity of public health systems. PHF also provides training and resource materials via its online bookstore and sponsors TRAIN (TrainingFinder Real-time Affiliate Integrated Network) which provides a central database of training and education opportunities (including distance learning courses) for public health professionals of all disciplines. Spanish-language materials are available.

Keywords: Public health education, Databases, Distance education, Public health services