Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Celiac Society/Dietary Support Coalition (ACS/DSC) provides educational and informational materials on lactose-free, gluten-free diets to patients, physicians, nutritionists, and others. The society responds to information requests, provides referrals to support groups, publishes a newsletter, hosts a list serve, sponsors educational conferences and meetings on celiac desease(Sprue, Non-Tropical Sprue, Tropical Sprue), Dermatitis Herpetiformis, Crohn's Disease, Lactose Intolerance, Wheat Intolerance, and various autoimmune diseases, and supports research on celiac sprue disease and other dietary disorders. Membership is open to all individuals with dietary problems, family and friends of these individuals, medical professionals, and anyone interested in learning more about these dietary problems and promoting the ideals of our organization. Materials are available in Spanish and Italian.

Keywords: Celiac disease, Diet therapy, Gluten intolerance, Lactose intolerance, Restricted diets, Support groups

Annotation: The American Porphyria Foundation promotes awareness and treatment of the porphyrias, a group of at least eight types of rare and complex metabolic disorders. The organization serves patients and physicians as an information source and exchange and provides individuals with the opportunity to participate in research, support groups, conferences, political action, seminars, and fund raising projects. The Foundation also offers referrals and publications for consumers, and a list serv is open to anyone. Publications include Acute Intermittent Porphyria (AIP): A Description for Patients and Their Relatives, Diet and Nutrition in Porphyria, Hematin, Questions Commonly Asked About Porphyria, Erythropoietic Protoporphyria, Porphyria Cutanea Tarda, and a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Metabolic diseases, Diet, Nutrition, Porphyrias

Annotation: The Celiac Disease Foundation (CDF) is a nonprofit patient education, support, and research organization devoted to increasing awareness and understanding of Celiac Disease/Dermatitis Herprtiformis (CD/DH). In addition to offering services designed to educate, assist, and support affected individuals and their families, CDF works with the health care community to create more awareness of CD. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. CDF publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Celiac disease, Diet therapy, Gastrointestinal diseases, Gluten intolerance, Information services, Support groups

Annotation: The Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America (CSA/USA) provides information and referral services for people with celiac sprue (gluten-sensitive enteropathy and dermatitis herpetiformis) and for parents of children with celiac disease. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, Lifeline, a handbook and a series of brochures on gluten-free commercial foods, gluten-free diet, and related topics. The association, which also sponsors conferences and workshops, has six U.S. regions, 91 chapters, and over 50 active resource units.

Keywords: Celiac disease, Dermatitis herpetiformis, Diet therapy, Gastrointestinal diseases, Gluten intolerance, Gluten sensitive enteropathy

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: CDC's DES Update is a national health education program funded by the U.S. Congress and developed in partnership with the National Cancer Institute (NCI) and many other organizations. The DES Update has been developed to provide the public and health care providers with the most current and accurate information about DES, including resources to help people learn about related health risks and find current research related to DES exposure.

Keywords: Diethylstilbestrol, Estrogens, Federal initiatives, Men', Pregnancy, Premature labor, Public awareness campaigns, Teratogens, Women', s health, s health

Annotation: DES Action is a consumer advocacy group for people exposed to diethylstilbestrol (DES) in utero, for the mothers given this drug during pregnancy and also for the 3rd Generation exposed (grandchildren of women prescribed the drug). DES was prescribed to prevent miscarriage. DES Action provides inquiry responses, medical and legal referral lists and a quarterly newsletter, DES Action Voice.

Keywords: Adenosis, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Clear-cell adenocarcinoma, Diethylstilbestrol, Infertility, Pregnancy complications, Preterm birth, Spontaneous abortion, Tubal pregnancy, Vaginal cancer

Annotation: As the American Dietetic Association's public education center, the National Center for Nutrition and Dietetics (NCND) was established in 1990 to provide objective food and nutrition information to the public. NCND provides consumers with direct access to reliable food and nutrition information. Some materials are available in Spanish. Callers to (800) 366-1655 may listen to food and nutrition messages in English or Spanish or receive a referral to a registered dietitian in their area.

Keywords: Dietetics, Nutrition

Keywords: Dietary guidelines, Dietetics, Federal agencies, Food safety, Information sources, Internet, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physiology, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) is a federally funded nutrition education program designed to assist low-income families and youth acquire the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and changed behaviors necessary for nutritionally sound diets and to contribute to their personal development and the improvement of total family diet and nutritional welfare. Extension professionals train and supervise paraprofessionals and volunteers who then teach food and nutrition information and skills to the participants. All nutrition education is tailored to the needs, interests, financial resources, ethnic backgrounds, and learning capabilities of EFNEP participants. Publications are available for consumers, and materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent health, Diet, Education programs, Food handling, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, Maternal nutrition, Training