Search Results: MCH Organizations

Keywords: Diabetes

Annotation: The American Diabetes Association (ADA) promotes research on the prevention and cure of diabetes and works to improve the well-being of people with diabetes and their families. Publications include Clinical Diabetes, Diabetes, Diabetes Care, Diabetes Forecast, Diabetes Spectrum, andDiabetes Advisor. The association also publishes a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. ADA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Diabetes, Insulin, Metabolic diseases, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Buena Salud Club promotes healthy lifestyles among its members by providing health information. Services include action alerts and referrals to community health services. The club also produces books on heart health and diabetes. Each book defines the health concern, discusses the changes that individuals and families can make to live healthier lives, and provides tools for doing so. The website and publications are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Diabetes, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Hispanic Americans, Information sources, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Diabetes Insipidus Foundation works to provide a greater public awareness and understanding of all forms of Diabetes Insipidus: Neurogenic/Central, Nephrogenic, Gestagenic, and Dipsogenic/Polydipsia. Diabetes Insipidus is a rare disorder primarily characterized by excreting excessive amounts of urine and drinking excessive amounts of water, leading to dehydration or water intoxication. The foundation serves patients of all ages, their families and the medical community with informational material and through the quarterly publication of Endless Water. The foundation works to promote Diabetes Insipidus as "A DIFferent Diabetes" so that people will know that there is another diabetes. The main goal of the Foundation is improved treatment and ultimately the prevention and cure of all forms of Diabetes Insipidus through research. The Foundation offers referral services, reference information, and publications (including a newsletter). Some materials are available in Spanish and French.

Keywords: Diabetes insipidus, Gestational diabetes

Annotation: The Human Biological Data Interchange (HBDI) is a collaborative project of the National Disease Research Interchange, the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation International, and the Coriell Institute for Medical Research. It offers a new resource to facilitate research on the etiology and pathogenesis of disease with a computerized medical history database of special case families to assist researchers studying aspects of specific diseases. The initial category is insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus; the first population under study is the membership of the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation International.

Keywords: Diabetes, Diabetes mellitus, Medical research, Metabolic diseases

Annotation: The International Diabetes Center provides education, clinical research, patient care, referrals, publications, and dissemination of information, technology, and service delivery programs for people with diabetes, their families, and concerned health professionals. The center sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a catalog and a newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The center is a division of the Institute for Research and Education, Health System Minnesota and is designated a World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Diabetes Education Translation and Computer Technology.

Keywords: Diabetes, Health education, Information dissemination, Medical research, Metabolic diseases, Patient care

Annotation: The Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation International (JDRF) supports research on the causes, cure, treatment, and prevention of type 1 diabetes and its complications. Publications include Countdown magazine, research and life with diabetes e-newsletters, and educational pamphlets. JDRF has local chapters throughout the country.

Keywords: Diabetes, Diabetes mellitus, Information services, Insulin, Medical research, Metabolic diseases

Annotation: Learning about Diabetes ia nonprofit corporation that provides consumers and health care professionals with information on diabetes care. The corporation develops low literacy health education programs and conducts research on the role of art and design in creating effective health care communications. Booklets in both English and Spanish, downloadable patient handouts, and visual education aids are available from the Web site. Free programs on this Web site can be translated to any additional language to non-profit organizations at cost.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Consumer education, Diabetes, Patient education

Annotation: The National Diabetes Education Program (NDEP) works with partners to reduce the burden of diabetes and prediabetes by facilitating the adoption of proven approaches to prevent or delay the onset of type 2 diabetes and the complications of diabetes. The website describes NDEP's partnership activities and provides information on becoming a partner. The website also contains a searchable database of educational resources, lists resources for specific groups, and provides training and technical assistance resources. NDEP is a program of the National Institutes of Health and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes, Health promotion, Outreach, Prevention programs

Annotation: The National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse (NDIC) is an information and referral service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, one of the National Institutes of Health. The clearinghouse responds to written inquiries, develops and distributes publications about diabetes, and provides referrals to diabetes organizations. The NDIC maintains a database of patient and professional educational materials from which literature searches are generated. The clearinghouse will provide bulk orders of publications to health and information professionals planning patient health education programs at a minimal cost. Some publications are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors an email newsletter Diabetes Dateline.

Keywords: Diabetes, Digestive system diseases, Kidney diseases, Metabolic diseases, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) supports a wide range of medical research through grants to universities and other medical research institutions across the country. The Institute also supports government scientists who conduct basic, translational and clinical research across a broad spectrum of research topics and serious, chronic diseases and conditions related to the institute's mission. In addition, the NIDDK supports research training for students and scientists at various stages of their careers and a range of education and outreach programs to bring science-based information to patients and their families, health care professionals and the public.

Keywords: Diabetes, Cystic fibrosis, Digestive system diseases, Endocrine disorders, Information dissemination, Kidney diseases, Medical research, Medical research, Metabolic diseases

Annotation: The National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NKUDIC) is an information and referral service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, one of the National Institutes of Health. A central information resource on the prevention and management of kidney and urologic conditions, the clearinghouse responds to written inquiries, develops and distributes publications about kidney and urologic diseases, and provides referrals to kidney and urologic organizations. The NKUDIC maintains a database of patient and professional educational materials from which literature searches are generated. The clearinghouse will provide bulk orders of publications at a minimal cost to health and information professionals planning patient health education programs. Publications include a newsletter, and limited materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Kidney diseases, Clearinghouses, Diabetes, Digestive System diseases, Health education, Kidney diseases, Urologic diseases

Annotation: The New York State Health Foundation (NYSHealth) is a private, statewide foundation that aims to improve New York’s health care system by expanding health insurance coverage, containing health care costs, increasing access to high-quality services, and addressing public and community health. NYSHealth concentrates its initiatives in three strategic priority areas: expanding health care coverage, improving diabetes prevention and management, and advancing primary care.

Keywords: Community health services, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Health insurance, Health promotion, New York, Access to health care, Public health, State agencies, Uninsured persons

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention is responsible for developing, documenting, and sustaining clinical and public health efforts to treat and prevent diabetes in American Indians and Alaska Natives. The Web site provides information on contacts; programs; training and conferences; and resources and tools including podcasts, client education materials, fact sheets, Diabetes News, clinical guidelines, best practices, curricula, and algorithms.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Diabetes mellitus, Federal programs, Health promotion, Preventive health services