Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Black Women's Health Imperative seeks to improve the health and wellness of Black women by providing health resources and information, community health and wellness education, promoting advocacy and health policies, and interpreting and issuing reports on relevant research about the health status of America's Black women. Topics of interest include access to care, breast and cervical cancer, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, heart disease, obesity, and reproductive health. The website includes women's health news and healthy living resources, including publications, podcasts, videos, and a blog.

Keywords: Public health programs, Blacks, Developing countries, Health promotion, Information services, Minority groups, Women', s health

Annotation: FHI is an international public health organization that works to improve lives worldwide through research, education, and services in family health. Working with research institutions, community groups, government and nongovernment organizations, and the private sector, FHI aims to prevent the spread of HIV / AIDS and sexually transmitted infections and care for those affected by them; improve people's access to quality reproductive health services, especially safe, effective, and affordable family planning methods; and improve the health of women and children, especially those who live in resource-constrained settings. More than 3,000 materials are available as full text on FHI's Web site, including books, reports, case studies, guides and tools, research briefs, periodicals, and training tools. The Web pages and some of the publications are available in Spanish and French. FHI was previously called Family Health International.

Keywords: Family health, Spanish language materials, Child health, Consumer education materials, Developing countries, Disease prevention, Electronic publications, Health promotion, International health, Non English language materials, Public health, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: FHI 360 is a global development organization committed to solving social problems in the United States and around the world through education, social marketing, research, training, policy analysis, and innovative program design and management. FHI 360's programs focus primarily on health, education, youth development, and the environment. It acquired the programs, expertise, and assets of the Academy for Educational Development in 2011.

Keywords: Child development, Developing countries, International health, Adolescent health, Child health, Community development , Education, Educational change, Educational materials, Environment, International health, Policy analysis, Research, Social problems, Teaching, Training Program development, Youth, program management

Annotation: The mission of International Child Resource Institute (ICRI) is to improve the lives of children and families throughout the world, enabling them to survive and succeed. ICRI provides services for families and children locally and around the world through technical assistance and consultation to a wide variety of national and international organizations, businesses, governments, non-profits and others interested in such children's issues as child care, child abuse prevention, child survival, maternal and child health, placement alternatives for abandoned and traumatized children and the promotion of children's rights.

Keywords: Child care, Adoption, Child abuse prevention, Child health, Cultural competence, Developing countries, Development, Early childhood education, Information services, Maternal health

Annotation: Partners in Health (PIH) is an international medical organization committed to improving the health of the poor and marginalized by providing people access to modern medicine, strengthening public health systems, and addressing the root social and economic causes of poor health and disease: lack of access to clean water, healthy food, stable housing, education, and economic opportunities. PIH works in Haiti, Lesoth, Malawi, Peru, Russia, Ruanda, the USA, and Kazakshtan, and with partner projects in Mexico, Guatemala, Burundi, Mali, Nepal, and Liberia. Issues include HIV/AIDS; tuberculosis; women's and children's health; food, water, housing; and community health workers.

Keywords: Community health aides, Developing countries, Health services, International health

Annotation: The Population Council is an international, nonprofit, nongovernmental organization founded in 1952. The council conducts biomedical, social science, and public health research and helps build research capacities in developing countries. The council is governed by an international board of trustees. Its New York headquarters supports a global network of regional and country offices. Services to consumers include referrals, inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases. Materials are available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and the council has a listserv that is available to anyone. The council publishes a newsletter and a journal, and conducts conferences.

Keywords: Developing countries, Medicine, Population dynamics, Public health, Research, Social sciences

Annotation: The Population Reference Bureau (PRB) is a private, nonprofit organization that gathers, interprets, and disseminates information about population. The goal of the bureau is to increase awareness and understanding of population trends and their implications by presenting information that is reliable, unbiased, and up-to-date. Its audience includes legislators and public officials, teachers and students, the business community, and individuals with interest and concern about U.S. and world affairs. Publications include a catalog, a newsletter, a journal, and special reports. Materials are available in Spanish and French. The bureau also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Demography, Developing countries, International health, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: Program for Appropriate Technology in Health (PATH) is a nongovernmental international organization that works to improve the health of women and children in developing countries by focusing on the effectiveness, availability, safety, and appropriateness of technologies for health and family planning. Its programs bridge the gap between technologies and potential users through research and development, field assessment, technology transfer, communication, and other activities. Program areas include emerging and epidemic diseases, health technologies, maternal and child health, reproductive health, and vaccines and immunization.. PATH offers a reproductive health newsletter, Outlook, available from its office in Seattle. Some publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Child health, Contraception, Counseling, Developing countries, Education, Immunization, Reproduction, Research, Training, Women', s health

Annotation: Save the Children Federation/US (SC/US) is a nonprofit, nonsectarian organization with a mission to make lasting, positive change in the lives of children in need, both in the United States and abroad. SC/US's core development philosophy stresses the importance of engaging community members in problem analysis, action planning, and concerted community and family efforts to address the variety of obstacles inhibiting the successful development of children and society, working through these program areas: child protection, education, health and nutrition, HIV/AIDS, and livelihoods. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are provided in Spanish, French and Asian languages. The organization also sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Child health, Developing countries

Annotation: The Task Force for Global Health focuses on health systems strengthening, including training field epidemiologists and developing optimal information systems; neglected tropical diseases, including distributing pharmaceuticals and technical support; and immunizations and vaccines with other child survival efforts. It collaborates with local partners in over 80 countries.

Keywords: Developing countries, International health

Annotation: USAID's history goes back to the Marshall Plan reconstruction of Europe after World War Two and the Truman Administration's Point Four Program. In 1961, the Foreign Assistance Act was signed into law and USAID was created by executive order. Since that time, USAID has been the principal U.S. agency to extend assistance to countries recovering from disaster, trying to escape poverty, and engaging in democratic reforms. USAID is an independent federal government agency that receives overall foreign policy guidance from the Secretary of State. Our Work supports long-term and equitable economic growth and advances U.S. foreign policy objectives by supporting economic growth, agriculture and trade; global health; and democracy, conflict prevention and humanitarian assistance. Assistance in five regions of the world: Sub-Saharan Africa; Asia; Latin America and the Caribbean, Europe and Eurasia; and the Middle East.

Keywords: Developing countries, Federal agencies, International health

Annotation: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, works with others around the globe to overcome the obstacles caused by poverty, violence, disease, and discrimination. UNICEF promotes immunization, works to prevent the spread of HIV/Aids among young people, promotes girls' education and gender equality, and advocates for children. Information by country, contained on the Web site, includes basic health indicators such as mortality and life expectancy; efforts in advocacy, education, and fundraising; and guidelines for becoming involved. UNICEF's Innocenti Research Centre helps to identify and research areas that are vital to the current and future work of the organization. A publications catalog is available online. Interested individuals are invited to subscribe to receive electronic news alerts.

Keywords: Immunization, AIDS, Adolescents, Child advocacy, Child health, Developing countries, Fundraising, Gender discrimination, Health promotion, International health, Mortality, Preventive health services

Annotation: World Education provides training and technical assistance in nonformal education across a wide array of sectors in Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the United States. World Education strives to develop assets such as good health, literacy, numeracy, business and civic participation skills, and access to credit. World Education promotes local autonomy by partnering with stakeholders to plan and implement their programs for social and economic change, appropriate to the local context and the needs of grassroots constituents. In 2002 it incorporated the Institute for Development Research.

Keywords: Developing countries, International health, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The World Federation of Hemophilia is an international not-for-profit organization dedicated to introducing, improving, and maintaining care for people with hemophilia and related bleeding disorders around the world. The WFH works with national hemophilia organizations, health care providers, and government officials to foster quality health care for people with bleeding disorders. The WFH focuses its activities in health care development programs, humanitarian aid, data collection, public affairs and publications. WFH publications include information on diagnosis and treatment, directories, general guides, hemophilia organization resources, and safety and supply. The organization also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars and provides inquiry responses, reference information, and publications for consumers. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Asian languages.

Keywords: Hemophilia, AIDS, Developing countries, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, Hematologic diseases

Annotation: The maternal and child health activities of the World Health Organization (WHO) are coordinated by the Department of Reproductive Health and Research. The Web side provides links to WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products (including databases), and contacts, organized by health and developmental topic. In 2005 WHO initiated a Global Observatory for eHealth, which provides information and guidance on effective practices, policies, and standards in the use of information and communication technologies for health. WHO also provides a Global Health Library that points to resources around the world on many health topics.

Keywords: Computers, Overseas organization, Child health, Communication, Developing countries, Environmental health, Information networks, International health, Maternal health, Professional societies