Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) serves the needs of general dentists, represents their interests, and fosters their continued proficiency through high-quality continuing dental education. The website features information about AGD's annual meeting and periodicals, AGD Impact and General Dentistry. Additional resources include (1) the SmileLine Online (Ask a Dentist) message board where consumers can post questions answered by a dentist within 24 hours; (2) the 1-877 2X-A-YEAR referral service and online directory of 35,000 member-dentists where consumers can find a dentist by city, state, or zip code, and (3) the SmileLine monthly electronic newsletter. Information on selected oral health topics (for example, children's nutrition, dental sealants, choosing a dentist, and frequently asked questions about pediatric dentistry) is also provided.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Dentistry, Oral health

Annotation: The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) seeks to advance the periodontal health of the public and to represent and serve the academy's members. Their Web site provides a wealth of information on periodontal disease including consumer fact sheets, frequently asked questions, and other educational material. It also includes a database for finding a periodontist.

Keywords: Dental societies, Oral health, Periodontal diseases

Annotation: Formerly known as the American Association for Dental Research, the American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research is a division of the International Association for Dental Research, has as its mission to advance research and increase knowledge for the improvement of oral health, to support and represent the oral health research community, and to facilitate the communication and application of research findings. It is involved in the study of national affairs and related legislation, and the possible effects on dental research. The association's Web site includes fact sheets and research advocacy links.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health, Research

Annotation: The American Association of Women Dentists (AAWD) represents women dentists in the U.S., internationally, and in the U.S. armed forces. AAWD is a national network for employment opportunities and scientific exchange. The association sponsors an annual conference and a professional journal. AAWD's Smiles for Success (SFS) Foundation was formed to assist women in transition who cannot afford the cost of oral health care. The SFS Foundation offers cost-free oral health care to women graduates of accredited job readiness and placement programs, or other community-based agencies, religious institutions or rehabilitative systems. Smiles for Success educates and instructs women treated by the volunteer dentists, so that they and their families will then seek and maintain permanent oral health care as they become financially stable.

Keywords: Dental care, Dentists, Oral health, Professional societies, Women

Annotation: The American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA), founded in 1923, provides continuing education to dental assistants through home study courses, professional journals and local, state and national meetings with educational agendas. The association is a membership organization with state and local chapters.

Keywords: Dental assistants, Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) is committed to the public’s oral health and to ethics, science, and professional advancement. Initiatives include those related to advocacy, education, research, and the development of standards. ADA’s journal, Journal of the American Dental Association and website contain information on continuing education offerings and volunteer opportunities. The public resources section of the website provides information for families.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) works to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, promote standards of education and practice in the profession, and provide professional support and educational programs. ADHA’s website provides information about the association’s annual meeting and periodicals, Access and Journal of Dental Hygiene. These and other ADHA resources address issues and opportunities for public health advocacy, education, and research.

Keywords: Associations, Child health, Conferences, Dental health, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training materials

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Idaho, Oral health, Professional societies, State organizations

Annotation: The International Association of Dental Traumatology (IADT) is a non-profit, public benefit professional organization whose mission is to promote optimal prevention, research, and treatment service in the field of traumatic dental injuries through interaction with dental and medical colleagues, the public, and interested parties in education, sports, industry and appropriate governmental agencies. IADT produces a journal and a mobile application, and hosts the International World Congress on Dental Traumatology. The website provides information for patients and professionals. Topics include IADT membership, administration, guidelines, fellowship, educational material, social media, and partnerships.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Facial injuries, International health, Trauma care

Annotation: The purpose of the Pennsylvania Dental Association is to serve the public, improve their health, promote the art and science of dentistry and represent the interests of its members and the people they serve.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health, Pennsylvania, State organizations

Annotation: The Special Care Advocates in Dentistry (formerly Southern Association of Institutional Dentists) membership comprises oral health professionals working in institutions or professionals who devote a large portion of their time treating people with developmental or mental health challenges, or people who are otherwise medically compromised. Members represent institutional dentistry on local, state, and national committees that write legislation which regulates the practice of dentistry at all levels. The association convenes an annual meeting, produces a newsletter, and offers educational modules, an advocacy toolkit, and a literature review.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Dentists, Mental disorders, Oral health, Professional societies, Residential care

Annotation: Special Care Advocates in Dentistry (SAID) is a benevolent group of dental professionals whose mission is to improve the oral health of people with disabilities through service, education, and advocacy.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Special health care needs