Search Results: MCH Organizations

Keywords: Arizona, Dental education, Dental schools, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: The Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) serves the needs of general dentists, represents their interests, and fosters their continued proficiency through high-quality continuing dental education. The website features information about AGD's annual meeting and periodicals, AGD Impact and General Dentistry. Additional resources include (1) the SmileLine Online (Ask a Dentist) message board where consumers can post questions answered by a dentist within 24 hours; (2) the 1-877 2X-A-YEAR referral service and online directory of 35,000 member-dentists where consumers can find a dentist by city, state, or zip code, and (3) the SmileLine monthly electronic newsletter. Information on selected oral health topics (for example, children's nutrition, dental sealants, choosing a dentist, and frequently asked questions about pediatric dentistry) is also provided.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Dentistry, Oral health

Annotation: The ADEAGies Foundation is the philanthropic arm of the American Dental Education Association. The foundation enhances the oral health of the public through programs that support dental education, research, leadership, and recognition.

Keywords: Dental education, Foundations, Oral health

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry's Dental Home Resource Center provides information about and resources to support the delivery of oral health care to all children, with a focus on infants.

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Health care delivery, Infants, Medical home, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Annotation: The American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) seeks to advance the periodontal health of the public and to represent and serve the academy's members. Their Web site provides a wealth of information on periodontal disease including consumer fact sheets, frequently asked questions, and other educational material. It also includes a database for finding a periodontist.

Keywords: Dental societies, Oral health, Periodontal diseases

Annotation: Formerly known as the American Association for Dental Research, the American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research is a division of the International Association for Dental Research, has as its mission to advance research and increase knowledge for the improvement of oral health, to support and represent the oral health research community, and to facilitate the communication and application of research findings. It is involved in the study of national affairs and related legislation, and the possible effects on dental research. The association's Web site includes fact sheets and research advocacy links.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health, Research

Annotation: The American Association of Women Dentists (AAWD) represents women dentists in the U.S., internationally, and in the U.S. armed forces. AAWD is a national network for employment opportunities and scientific exchange. The association sponsors an annual conference and a professional journal. AAWD's Smiles for Success (SFS) Foundation was formed to assist women in transition who cannot afford the cost of oral health care. The SFS Foundation offers cost-free oral health care to women graduates of accredited job readiness and placement programs, or other community-based agencies, religious institutions or rehabilitative systems. Smiles for Success educates and instructs women treated by the volunteer dentists, so that they and their families will then seek and maintain permanent oral health care as they become financially stable.

Keywords: Dental care, Dentists, Oral health, Professional societies, Women

Annotation: The American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA), founded in 1923, provides continuing education to dental assistants through home study courses, professional journals and local, state and national meetings with educational agendas. The association is a membership organization with state and local chapters.

Keywords: Dental assistants, Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) is committed to the public’s oral health and to ethics, science, and professional advancement. Initiatives include those related to advocacy, education, research, and the development of standards. ADA’s journal, Journal of the American Dental Association and website contain information on continuing education offerings and volunteer opportunities. The public resources section of the website provides information for families.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Dental Association's Give Kids a Smile Children's Dental Access Program (GKAS) is a professional and industry alliance dedicated to the elimination of cavities in U.S. five year olds by 2020 by nurturing and enhancing community-based children's oral health and wellness programs that are expandable, sustainable, and innovative. Each year on the first Friday in February, dental teams provide free oral health care services to children from families with low incomes across the country. The GKAS website provides a planning toolbox for local programs, resources and reports, information about sponsors and products, and frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental care, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health

Annotation: The American Dental Education Association (ADEA), is a national organization representing academic dentistry and the community of dental educators. Its members include all U.S. and Canadian dental schools, advanced dental education programs, hospital dental education programs, allied dental education programs, corporations, faculty members, and students. The mission of ADEA is to lead the dental education community in addressing contemporary issues influencing education, research, and the health of the public. The association sponsors numerous conferences and training seminars. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. ADEA publishes a newsletter and a journal.

Keywords: Dental education, Dentistry, Oral health, Professional education

Annotation: The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) works to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, promote standards of education and practice in the profession, and provide professional support and educational programs. ADHA’s website provides information about the association’s annual meeting and periodicals, Access and Journal of Dental Hygiene. These and other ADHA resources address issues and opportunities for public health advocacy, education, and research.

Keywords: Associations, Child health, Conferences, Dental health, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training materials

Annotation: The Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors (ASTDD) formulates and promotes the establishment of national oral health public policy and assists state oral health programs in developing and implementing programs and policies for the prevention of oral diseases. ASTDD initiates activities to promote improved coordination of oral health activities in states and territories to improve oral health. ASTDD’s website contains information on national, state, and local partners; state reports and action plans; and related resources.

Keywords: Dental health, Oral health

Annotation: The CAMBRA (Caries Management By Risk Assessment) Coalition is a national 501(c)(3) organization that educates dental professionals on the prevention and management of dental caries. CAMBRA Coalitions exist in the western, central, and eastern parts of the United States, each with their own unique focus. Western CAMBRA is focused on creating awareness and buy-in among practicing dentists and their staff. Central CAMBRA is focused on the development of a standardized cariology curriculum for all U.S. dental schools. Eastern CAMBRA is focused on the inclusion of CAMBRA principles in the licensure process. The website provides information about the coalition's annual meeting and other events, and hosts a document library.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental education, Oral health

Annotation: CavityFree SF works to eliminate disparities in oral health care so all San Francisco children can be cavity-free and healthy.

Keywords: California, Dental care, Local organizations, Oral health

Annotation: This network for oral health professionals provides resources for dentists, hygienists and students and faculty; it also provides and patient education. Professionals can also order supplies for their practices and for their patients.

Keywords: Consumer education, Dental care, Oral health, Resources for professionals

Keywords: Dental care, Dental insurance, Health insurance, Health services, Oral health

Annotation: The Delta Dental Institute supports oral health for all Americans through research, community outreach, and advocacy. It works in partnership with Delta Dental companies to engage in and support oral health research, community outreach, and advocacy, striving to ensure everyone understands the importance of oral health to overall health and has access to the care that they need.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental insurance, Health insurance, Health services, Oral health

Keywords: Colorado, Dental care, Dental insurance, Health insurance, Health services, Oral health, State organizations

Keywords: Dental care, Dental insurance, Health insurance, Health services, Kansas, Oral health, State organizations