Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (32 total).

A.T. Still University, Arizona School of Dentistry and Oral Health

Academy of Dental Learning & OSHA Training

Annotation: The Academy of Dental Learning & OSHA Training was established in 1992 to provide high quality continuing education required to obtain or maintain licensure/compliance, for multiple dental professionals. Users can download course materials as a .pdf, watch an online video, or receive a course book in print.

Keywords: Continuing education, Dental education

ADEAGies Foundation

Annotation: The ADEAGies Foundation is the philanthropic arm of the American Dental Education Association. The foundation enhances the oral health of the public through programs that support dental education, research, leadership, and recognition.

Keywords: Dental education, Foundations, Oral health

American Dental Association (ADA)

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) is committed to the public’s oral health and to ethics, science, and professional advancement. Initiatives include those related to advocacy, education, research, and the development of standards. ADA’s journal, Journal of the American Dental Association and website contain information on continuing education offerings and volunteer opportunities. The public resources section of the website provides information for families.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Dental Education Association (ADEA)

Annotation: The American Dental Education Association (ADEA), is a national organization representing academic dentistry and the community of dental educators. Its members include all U.S. and Canadian dental schools, advanced dental education programs, hospital dental education programs, allied dental education programs, corporations, faculty members, and students. The mission of ADEA is to lead the dental education community in addressing contemporary issues influencing education, research, and the health of the public. The association sponsors numerous conferences and training seminars. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. ADEA publishes a newsletter and a journal.

Keywords: Dental education, Dentistry, Oral health, Professional education

American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)

Annotation: The American Dental Hygienists’ Association (ADHA) works to advance the art and science of dental hygiene, promote standards of education and practice in the profession, and provide professional support and educational programs. ADHA’s website provides information about the association’s annual meeting and periodicals, Access and Journal of Dental Hygiene. These and other ADHA resources address issues and opportunities for public health advocacy, education, and research.

Keywords: Associations, Child health, Conferences, Dental health, Dental hygienists, Oral health, Professional education, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials, Training materials

CAMBRA Coalition

Annotation: The CAMBRA (Caries Management By Risk Assessment) Coalition is a national 501(c)(3) organization that educates dental professionals on the prevention and management of dental caries. CAMBRA Coalitions exist in the western, central, and eastern parts of the United States, each with their own unique focus. Western CAMBRA is focused on creating awareness and buy-in among practicing dentists and their staff. Central CAMBRA is focused on the development of a standardized cariology curriculum for all U.S. dental schools. Eastern CAMBRA is focused on the inclusion of CAMBRA principles in the licensure process. The website provides information about the coalition's annual meeting and other events, and hosts a document library.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental education, Oral health

Colgate Oral Health Network for Professional Development and Education

Kids Smiles

Annotation: Kids Smiles non-profit dental centers provide oral health services and outreach programs to children from birth to age 18. The centers address the oral health of children at risk for dental caries with an integrated program of oral health care, in-house education, and outreach education and screening. Headquartered in Philadelphia, centers currently operate in Southwest Philadelphia, West Philadelphia, and Washington, DC.

Keywords: Dental care, Health education, High risk children, Oral health, Screening, Service integration

KinderSmile Foundation

Annotation: The KinderSmile Foundation is a community-based affiliate of the National Children's Oral Health Foundation that advocates for optimal oral health for children and families in underserved communities in New Jersey. The foundation's community-based services include oral health education for children, parents, and caregivers; oral examinations and referrals for pregnant women and new mothers; and opportunities for community service learning for high school and college students. The foundation also facilitates an annual oral health fair.

Keywords: Community based services, Dental care, Foundations, Health education, New Jersey, Oral health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Dentistry, Office of Oral Health Programs (LSUSD-OOHP)

Smiles for Success: A Foundation of the American Association of Women Dentists

Annotation: The Smiles for Success Foundation was formed by the American Association of Women Dentists to assist women in transition who cannot afford the cost of oral health care. The foundation offers cost-free oral health care to women graduates of accredited job readiness and placement programs, or other community-based agencies, religious institutions or rehabilitative systems. Smiles for Success educates and instructs women treated by the volunteer dentists, so that they and their families will then seek and maintain permanent oral health care as they become financially stable.

Keywords: Dental care, Financial support, Foundations, Health education, Oral health, Transitions, Women

TeamSmile

Temple University, Kornberg School of Dentistry

Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section

Annotation: The Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section provides programs for the prevention or oral disease and education of the public regarding the value of good oral health. In addition, the program identifies those without access to oral health care and attempts to assure basic care, as well as care for acute oral conditions. The Web site provides information on the history of the oral health program in Tennessee, the School-based Dental Prevention Project, dental clinics, alternative fluoride programs, and early childhood caries prevention. Information on fluoride supplement recommendations and the Tennessee fluoridated community water systems is presented for consumers and health professionals. Additional information for health professionals includes quality assurance tools, annual report, and standards of practice for dental public health. Fact sheets on selected oral health topics are also provided.

Keywords: Oral health, Access to health care, Dental care, Public health education, State programs

Tooth Mobile

Annotation: Tooth Mobile is a non-profit organization that works to prevent oral disease; increase access to affordable, comprehensive oral health care; and increase awareness of oral health issues by providing mobile oral health care and preventive oral hygiene education in schools and in the community. Tooth Mobile collaborates with California-based oral health coalitions; community health centers and schools; and Denti-Cal, Healthy Families, California Migrant Education, and other statewide programs for families with low incomes. The organization provides history, application, and consent forms in English, Korean, and Spanish.

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Collaboration, Community based services, Community health centers, Dental care, Disease prevention, Health education, Low income groups, Medicaid, Migrants, Mobile health units, Non English language materials, Oral health, Preventive health services, State initiatives

University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, Center to Address Disparities in Oral Health (CAN DO Center)

Annotation: The Center to Address Disparities in Children's Oral Health (CAN DO Center) at the University of California San Francisco School of Dentistry addresses socioeconomic and cultural disparities in oral health. The center is funded by the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research to launch new programs to prevent early childhood tooth decay. The programs include new research to compare methods to prevent dental caries in children, as well as efforts to integrate and implement current scientific understanding across a variety of primary care and social service settings. UCSF also serves as the Data Coordinating Center for three of NIDCR-funded centers: UCSF, Boston University, and University of Colorado, Denver.

Keywords: California, Child health, Dental education, Dental schools, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Health status, Minority health, Oral health, Public health, Racial factors, Research, State programs

University of California, Los Angeles, School of Dentistry

University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry (USCF)

University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.