Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (47 total).

Academy of General Dentistry (AGD)

Annotation: The Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) serves the needs of general dentists, represents their interests, and fosters their continued proficiency through high-quality continuing dental education. The website features information about AGD's annual meeting and periodicals, AGD Impact and General Dentistry. Additional resources include (1) the SmileLine Online (Ask a Dentist) message board where consumers can post questions answered by a dentist within 24 hours; (2) the 1-877 2X-A-YEAR referral service and online directory of 35,000 member-dentists where consumers can find a dentist by city, state, or zip code, and (3) the SmileLine monthly e-newsletter. Information on selected oral health topics (for example, children's nutrition, dental sealants, choosing a dentist, and frequently asked questions about pediatric dentistry) is also provided.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Dentistry, Oral health

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Dental Home Resource Center

American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR)

Annotation: Formerly known as the American Association for Dental Research, the American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research is a division of the International Association for Dental Research, has as its mission to advance research and increase knowledge for the improvement of oral health, to support and represent the oral health research community, and to facilitate the communication and application of research findings. It is involved in the study of national affairs and related legislation, and the possible effects on dental research. The association's Web site includes fact sheets and research advocacy links.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health, Research

American Association of Women Dentists (AAWD)

Annotation: The American Association of Women Dentists (AAWD) represents women dentists in the U.S., internationally, and in the U.S. armed forces. AAWD is a national network for employment opportunities and scientific exchange. The association sponsors an annual conference and a professional journal. AAWD's Smiles for Success (SFS) Foundation was formed to assist women in transition who cannot afford the cost of oral health care. The SFS Foundation offers cost-free oral health care to women graduates of accredited job readiness and placement programs, or other community-based agencies, religious institutions or rehabilitative systems. Smiles for Success educates and instructs women treated by the volunteer dentists, so that they and their families will then seek and maintain permanent oral health care as they become financially stable.

Keywords: Dental care, Dentists, Oral health, Professional societies, Women

American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA)

Annotation: The American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA), founded in 1923, provides continuing education to dental assistants through home study courses, professional journals and local, state and national meetings with educational agendas. The association is a membership organization with state and local chapters.

Keywords: Dental assistants, Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health

American Dental Association, Give Kids a Smile! (GKAS)

Annotation: The American Dental Association's Give Kids a Smile Children's Dental Access Program (GKAS) is a professional and industry alliance dedicated to the elimination of cavities in U.S. five year olds by 2020 by nurturing and enhancing community-based children's oral health and wellness programs that are expandable, sustainable, and innovative. Each year on the first Friday in February, dental teams provide free oral health care services to children from families with low incomes across the country. The GKAS website provides a planning toolbox for local programs, resources and reports, information about sponsors and products, and frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental care, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health

CavityFree SF

Children's Dental Health Project (CDHP)

Annotation: The Children’s Dental Health Project (CDHP) promotes research-driven policies and innovative solutions by engaging a broad base of partners committed to children and oral health. The project provides publications (including an electronic newsletter), reference information, and searchable databases.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental societies, Oral health, Public health policies

Colgate Oral Health Network for Professional Development and Education

Delta Dental Foundation

Delta Dental Institute

Annotation: The Delta Dental Institute supports oral health for all Americans through research, community outreach, and advocacy. It works in partnership with Delta Dental companies to engage in and support oral health research, community outreach, and advocacy, striving to ensure everyone understands the importance of oral health to overall health and has access to the care that they need.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental insurance, Health insurance, Health services, Oral health

Delta Dental of Colorado

Delta Dental of Kansas

Delta Dental of Minnesota

Delta Dental of New Jersey

Delta Dental of Oklahoma Oral Health Foundation

Delta Dental of Oklahoma, Provider Relations Department

Delta Dental Plan of Michigan

Dental Lifeline Network

Annotation: The Dental Lifeline Network (formerly the National Foundation of Dentistry for the Handicapped), an affiliate of the American Dental Association, works to arrange comprehensive oral health care for individuals with special needs through a national network of direct service programs involving volunteer dentists and laboratories. Programs include Donated Dental Services, Bridge/Campaign of Concern, and HouseCalls. The network publishes Dental Lifeline Network News and collaborates with dental suppliers to offer DentaCheques, a revenue-generating coupon book for dentists.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental hygiene, Older adults, Oral health, Special health care needs

From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth (FTFT BTFT)

Annotation: From the First Tooth (FTFT) began as a pilot program of the Sadie and Harry Davis Foundation in 2008 and grew to a statewide effort in 2010 through the leadership of MaineHealth in partnership with EMHS and MaineGeneral. An Advisory Committee and National Advisors continue to guide the initiative. In 2015, the pediatric oral health initiative expanded to include a focus on pregnant and postnatal women. FTFT is now a six state collaborative located in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Each state offers slightly different assistance to medical practices but all are working together with health professionals to improve children’s oral health in the region. Before the First Tooth provides information about prenatal dental care.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental care, Geographic regions, New England, Pediatric care, Prenatal care, State initiatives, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.