Search Results: MCH Organizations

Keywords: Child nutrition programs, Federal agencies, Information sources, Internet, Online databases

Annotation: The U.S. Census Bureau collects, tabulates, and disseminates data on the social and economic characteristics of the United States, including demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data for metropolitan statistical areas. It provides publications and reference information to consumers. It informs its customers about the full range of products on the Internet and in newsletters and an annual catalog. Most data are available either on the internet or on CD-ROM products.

Keywords: Statistics, CD-Roms, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal agencies, Information for professionals, Information sources, Online databases, Population, Publications, Reference materials

Keywords: Adolescents, Child care, Data sources, Health promotion, Infant care, Information sources, Service statistics, State surveys

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Keywords: Data sources, Health statistics, Information sources, Internet, Service statistics, Statistics

Annotation: The Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies provides cross-national, comparative information and linkages regarding the policies, programs, benefits and services available in the advanced industrialized countries to address child, youth and family needs.  Initial coverage focuses on the countries of the European Union (EU) plus Norway and Iceland, and on most of the Organization for Economic Development (OECD) countries. Expansion to other countries and parts of the world is planned. The clearinghouse serves the U.S. media, public officials and their staffs, public and private agency administrators and their board members, scholars, students, and all English-reading individuals throughout the world with access to the World Wide Web.

Keywords: Children, Clearinghouses, Europe, Families, Health statistics, Information sources, International organizations, Online databases, Program descriptions, Public policies, Youth

Annotation: Community Engaged Scholarship for Health (CES4Health.info) provides a mechanism for peer-reviewing, publishing, and disseminating products of health-related community-engaged scholarship that are in forms other than journal articles. The website is a component of Community-Campus Partnerships for Health's Faculty for the Engaged Campus project that aims to strengthen career paths in the academy and is supported by a grant from the U.S. Department of Education's Fund for Improvement of Postsecondary Education. The website contains a products database that can be browsed by category, keyword, author, title, resource type, product type, or methodological approach. Visitors can also save searches to a selected products folder or submit new products. Information about the editorial team and how to be a reviewer is included.

Keywords: Community health, Community participation, Databases, Information sources, Peer review organizations, Professional training, Public private partnerships, Research

Keywords: Data, Federal agencies, Information sources, Internet

Annotation: The Disability and Health Data System (DHDS) is a state-level disability surveillance tool designed to assist partners, researchers, advocates, and the general public in the assessment of the health and wellness of people with disabilities. The DHDS features three types of data: disability, psychological distress, and disability-associated health care expenditures. The data are presented in a variety of formats including interactive maps and data tables. The display options provide users with the ability to identify location-specific data for a single time period, along with multiple time period trends. Users can view the data by states, territories, divisions, and regions. The tool was developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the Division of Human Development and Disability at the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities.

Keywords: Assessment, Data sources, Disabilities, Health care costs, Population surveillance, State initiatives, Stress

Annotation: Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics is a collection of 20 federal government agencies that produce or use statistical data on children and families. The Forum publishes the annual report America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being. This time-based report summarizes major issues related to children and families, including economic security, health, behavior and social environment, education, and population and family characteristics.

Keywords: Data sources, Health statistics, Information sources, Internet, Service statistics, Statistics

Annotation: Guideline Central is a non-profit initiative dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible. It partners with over thirty-five medical societies and government agencies to provide quick-reference tools that physicians can rely on for credible guidance in the management of a medical condition. It was established following the closure of the National Guideline Clearinghouse.

Keywords: Databases, Evidence based health care, Guidelines, Information sources, Professional standards review, Resource centers

Keywords: Medical research, Disabilities, Diseases, Information sources, NIH, Nutrition, Online databases, Public health, Publications

Annotation: The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private foundation focusing on U.S. health care issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or media companies. The foundation produces policy analysis and research, serves as a clearinghouse for news and information for the health policy community, and develops and runs large-scale public health information campaigns. Information and products are disseminated via the Washington, D.C., Office / Public Affairs Center, comprising the Barbara Jordan Conference Center, the Third Floor Visitors' Center, and the Kaiser Broadcast Studio. The foundation also hosts a number of websites including kff.org, kaiserhealthnews.org, statehealthfacts.org, kaiserEDU.org, healthreform.kff.org, and globalhealth.kff.org.

Keywords: Foundations, AIDS, Access to health care, Curricula, Data analysis, Grants, HIV, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Philanthropy, Publications, Reproductive health, Research, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics (NCHPEG) promotes health professional education and access to information about advances in human genetics. NCHPEG develops educational tools and resources to facilitate the integration of genetics into the health professional practice and works to strengthen and expand the interdisciplinary community of organizations and individuals committed to coordinated national genetics education for health professionals.  NCHPEG provides technical assistance to individuals, organizations, and health professionals who have questions about genetics or genetics education; supports cultural diversity initiatives; and provides information on contracts and grants. The coalition also maintains the search engine and listserv, Genetics Resources on the Web (Grow), and a clearinghouse of genetics education materials. Resources are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Genetics, Biological sciences, Clearinghouses, Genetics education, Health education, Information sources, Interdisciplinary approach, Online databases, Publications

Annotation: The National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service that links people to organizations that provide reliable health information. The Health Information Resource Database includes organizations and government offices that provide health information upon request. Entries include contact information, short abstracts, and information about publications and services the organization provides. NHIC also provides key support for the healthfinder.gov website, a gateway to consumer health information in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Health education, Databases, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Reference materials, Referrals, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses

Annotation: The National Library of Medicine'sToxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) maintains an environmental health Web site that provides access to resources produced by TEHIP as well as other governrment agencies and organizations. The Web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources. Other toxicology and environmental health-related web resources available from TEHIP include the Households Products Database, HazMap (an occupational toxicology database), ToxMap (which uses U.S. maps to show the location of toxic chemicals), and Tox Town -- an interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances, your health, and the environment. Online reference tools guide users through the various components of the TEHIP site.

Keywords: Toxicology, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Hazardous materials, Health sciences libraries, Information dissemination, Information services, Information sources, Online databases

Annotation: The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) is a federation of voluntary health organizations and individuals dedicated to helping people with rare diseases and assisting the organizations that serve them. NORD is committed to the identification, treatment, and cure of rare disorders through programs of education, advocacy, research, and service. NORD provides information on diseases, referrals to patient organizations, a networking program, medication assistance programs, research grants and fellowships, and advocacy on issues related to rare diseases. Publications include the NORD resource guide (5th edition, 2005) for use in offices and instititional settings; the NORD Guide to Rare Disorders, a series of booklets for physicians, and reports on specific diseases. The organization also publishes a newsletter and sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Orphan drugs, Advocacy, Health education, Information services, Information sources, Medical research, Online databases, Publications, Rare diseases

Annotation: The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR). NARIC collects, catalogs, and disseminates the articles, reports, curricula, guides, and other publications and products of the research projects funded by NIDRR. These projects focus on a wide range of issues, including technology, health and function, independent living, and capacity building. The website content can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: Disabilities, Directories, Information services, Information sources, Online databases, Program descriptions, Publications, Referrals, Rehabilitation, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education (NRC) at the University of Colorado Denver promotes health and safety in out-of-home child care settings throughout the nation. NRC collaborates with the American Public Health Association, the American Academy of Pediatrics, and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau to produce national health and safety performance standards guidelines for out-of-home child care programs. The center's website provides resources for child care providers, parents, health consultants, regulators, and early childhood systems leaders including a database of state licensure regulations.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Child care workers, Child safety, Consumer education, Information sources, Injury prevention, National MCH resource center, Online databases, Regulations, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Standards, State programs, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC) is a service of the Office on Women's Health (OWH) in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NWHIC provides a gateway to a wide variety of federal and other women's health information resources. Through its toll-free call center and Web site, NWHIC helps individuals in ordering, linking to, and downloading women's health-related material developed by the Department of Health and Human Services, other federal agencies, and private sector sources; some materials are available in Spanish. To reach NWHIC's breastfeeding helpline, dial 800/994-9662. NWHIC also provides a Web site for girls at www.girlshealth.gov and Quick Health Data Online, formerly the National Women's Health Indicators Database (NWHID), a free online tool containing extensive national health data from the year 2000 to the present. The database provides access to a breakdown of statistics on a national, regional, state and county level for various topics. The tool can be accessed at http://www.healthstatus2010.com/owh/index.html.

Keywords: Women', Federal agencies, Health statistics, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Women', Women', s health, s health services, s studies