Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (23 total).

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count

Annotation: Kids Count, a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States. By providing policymakers and citizens with benchmarks of child well-being, KIDS COUNT seeks to enrich local, state, and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children. The Casey Foundation supports KIDS COUNT projects in more than 50 areas of the United States to raise public awareness and accountability for the condition of kids and families. The Kids Count project conducts surveys, collects and compiles data, hosts online data sites, including CLIKS online (a database of county, city and community level information on children), and publishes a variety of data books and pocket guides

Keywords: Statistical data, Child advocacy, Child health, Child welfare, Data collection, Online databases, Public awareness campaigns, Publications

U.S. Census Bureau

Annotation: The U.S. Census Bureau collects, tabulates, and disseminates data on the social and economic characteristics of the United States, including demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data for metropolitan statistical areas. It provides publications and reference information to consumers. It informs its customers about the full range of products on the Internet and in newsletters and an annual catalog. Most data are available either on the internet or on CD-ROM products.

Keywords: Statistics, CD-Roms, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal agencies, Information for professionals, Information sources, Online databases, Population, Publications, Reference materials

Center for Human Resource Research (CHRR)

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)

Annotation: The Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) is a surveillance project of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and state health departments. PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Selected resources, which can be downloaded from the Web site, include reports on PRAMS and postpartum depression, PRAMS and unintended pregnancy, a list of publications that use multistate PRAMS data, and a list of states that use PRAMS data (along with links to lists of state publications using PRAMS data). Instructions on how to request PRAMS data are also provided on the Web site.

Keywords: Data, Data analysis, Data collection, Federal agencies, Federal programs, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Risk assessment, Statistics

Child Trends

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Children's HealthWatch

Annotation: Children's HealthWatch, formerly Children's Sentinel Nutrition Assessment Program (C-SNAP), Children's HealthWatch works to improve child health by bringing evidence and analysis from the front lines of pediatric care to policy makers and the public. The network of pediatricians and public health researchers collects data on children up to the age of four in emergency rooms and clinics at Boston Medical Center, the University of Maryland School of Medicine in Baltimore; the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock; Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis; and St. Christopher's Hospital in Philadelphia. Data is collected and analyzed on food security, housing stability, home environment issues, health, and other possible hardship experiences for young children, particularly in low income areas.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Collaboration, Data collection, Housing, Hunger, Low income groups, Nutrition assessment, Public policy, advocacy

Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

Annotation: The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) evaluates the safety of products sold to the public, including children's furniture and toys. The commission receives safety-related complaints about these products through its toll-free hotline or its website. Safety-related publications can be downloaded from CPSC's Electronic Reading Room (searchable by subject) or ordered, free-of-charge, in print formats. Many materials are available in Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, Korean, and Portuguese. The website also provides access to consumer product-related statistics and the National Electronic Surveillance System( a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S.). A special section of the website is designed for children.

Keywords: Safety, Data, Data collection, Data profiles, Federal agencies, Hotlines, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, NEISS, Product safety, Publications, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Spanish language materials, Toy injuries, Toy labeling, Toy safety, Transportation injuries

Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRCC )

Annotation: The Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRC) -- formerly the Mountain States Genetic Network -- is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetic services in Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, and Nevada. Members include representatives of state health departments, university medical schools, genetic services laboratories, hospitals, private medical practices, and various consumer organizations. The group is a regional network that provides a forum for problem sharing and solving, provides referrals, promotes efficient use of resources, and facilitates improvement of the quality and quantity of genetic services offered in the Mountain States region. The network maintains an online events calendar and provides links to genetics centers and resources.

Keywords: Genetics, Arizona, Colorado, Consortia, Data collection, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Information services, Montana, New Mexico, Problem solving, Regional genetics networks, Utah, Wyoming

National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association (NAAPIMHA)

Annotation: The National Asian American Pacific Islander Mental Health Association (NAAPIMHA) advocates on behalf of Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) mental health issues and collaborates with others in efforts to develop comprehensive, culturally comptenent services to meet the needs of the AAPI population. Formed in the year 2000, the association aims to enhance the collection of appropriate and accurate data; identify current best practices and service models; increase capacity building (which includes providing technical assistance and training of service providers); conduct research and evaluation; and work to engage consumers and families. The association serves as a forum for effective collaboration, and networks among stake holders of community based organizations, consumers, family members, service providers, program developers, researchers, evaluators, and policy makers. NAAPIMHA provides electronic access to a national directory of AAPI services providers which can be searched via the website.

Keywords: Associations, Mental health, Asian American, Collaboration, Culturally competenent services, Data collection, Model programs, Research

National Association of Health Data Organizations (NAHDO)

Annotation: The National Association of Health Data Organizations (NAHDO) is a nonprofit national membership and educational organization dedicated to improving health care data systems for public health, research, policy, and market applications. Established in 1986, the association serves as an advocate for state health care data programs and provides technical support on collecting, analyzing, and disseminating health care data. NAHDO's Quality Reporting Workgroup provides state-to-state technical assistance and guidance on state quality initiatives. NAHDO produces a newsletter and white papers, provides online resources, and maintains listservs for members, quality reporting, web-based data query systems, and standards. NAHDO hosts one Annual meeting in D.C. the first week of December each year, webinars on topics related to data collection and dissemination, and regional workshops and meetings.

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, Health services

National Birth Defects Prevention Network (NBDPN)

Annotation: The National Birth Defects Prevention Network (NBDPN) is a network of individuals working at the national, state, and local level in birth defects surveillance, research, and prevention. It serves as a forum for exchanging ideas about the prevention of birth defects, developing uniform methods of birth defect surveillance and research, and providing technical support for state and local programs. It was incorporated as a 501c3 non-profit organization in 2000, and aims to improve the quality of birth defect surveillance data; promote scientific collaboration for the prevention of birth defects; provide technical assistance for the development of uniform methods of data collection; facilitate the communication and dissemination of information related to birth defects; collect, analyze and disseminate state and population-based birth defect surveillance data; and encourage the use of birth defect data for decisions regarding health services planning (secondary disabilities prevention and services). The network holds annual meetings, and publishes an annual report on birth defects surveillance and prevention, a newsletter, and other materials.

Keywords: , Population surveillance, Congenital abnormalities, Collaboration, Data, Data collection, Genetic disorders, Information dissemination, Prevention programs, Research, Research methodology, Technical assistance

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH)

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

National Children's Study

Annotation: The National Children's Study is a federal collaboration to examine the effects of environmental influences on the health and development of more than 100,000 children across the United States, following them from before birth until age 21. The study is national in scope -- including children and families from different areas of the country, from varied backgrounds, and of different family types to allow investigation of issues important to the diverse U.S. population. The study defines “environment” broadly and will take a number of issues into account, including natural and man-made environment factors, biological and chemical factors, physical surroundings, social factors, genetics, and geography. The Web site provides progress updates and meeting announcements, links to related publications and adjunct studies, details of the study (including research methodology), and a list of study centers. The ultimate goal of the study is to improve the health and well-being of children. Participating government agencies include the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Keywords: Collaboration, Environmental health, Research, Child health, Data collection, Federal programs

National Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) Data Analysis Resource Center (NEDARC)

Annotation: The National Emergency Medical Services for Children Data Analysis Resource Center (NEDARC) assists Emergency Medical Services (EMS) agencies and Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) managers in developing the capability to collect, analyze, and utilize EMS data. The center provides consultation and technical assistance with EMS/EMSC activities. The Web site provides online tutorials and a resource library of templates, state fact sheets, publications, research resources, statistics, and other materials. NEDARC is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Proposal writing, Data analysis, Data collection, Emergency medical services, Emergency medical services for children, Listservs, National MCH resource center, Research design, Resource centers, Statistics, Technical assistance, University affiliated centers

National HPV and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center

Annotation: The National HPV and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center, created by the American Social Health Association (ASHA), focuses on collecting, summarizing, and disseminating information on the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of HPV and the prevention of cervical cancer. The center offers information to the public, health care providers, and policy makers about human papillomavirus (HPV) and its link to cervical cancer; develops and distributes clinical guidelines; promotes public awareness; and contributes to Web-based continuing medical education sources.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, Cervical cancer, Continuing education, Data collection, Disease prevention, Dissemination, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, National information resource centers, Public awareness materials

Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC)

Annotation: The Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network, Data Coordinating Center (PECARN DCC) provides a central repository for data generated by the research nodes and hospital affiliates of PECARN, a federally-funded pediatric emergency medicine research network that conducts high-priority, multi-institutional research on the prevention and management of acute illnesses and injuries in children and adolescents. The DCC also works with each of the RNC principal investigators to implement PECARN-wide standards for data collection and analysis in order to ensure uniformity and quality of the data and monitor the safety and timely progress of PECARN studies. PECARN is supported by cooperative agreements between six academic medical centers and the Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Bureau, Emergency Medical Services for Children Program.

Keywords: Data collection, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, Injuries, MCH research, Patient care management, Pediatrics

Saginaw Healthy Start Program

Annotation: Infant mortality and morbidity are alarming concerns in the Saginaw community, particularly in high-risk women and minorities within the city of Saginaw. The purpose of this project is to develop a program to reduce specific identified risk and high-risk behaviors; improve pregnancy outcome and infant mortality in the community; and provide needed ancillary services that emphasize comprehensive, culturally competent care. The program will promote a continuum of family health that includes preconception, prenatal, postpartum, and interpartum periods involving mothers, infants, and fathers. The program will enhance the existing perinatal care system and develop creative new programs and services to fill gaps in care.

Keywords: Adolescent Health Programs, African American/ Black, Cultural Sensitivity, Data Collection, Domestic Violence, Health Education, Infant Mortality, Infant Morbidity, Prenatal Care, Provider Training, Risk Assessment, Smoking During Pregnancy.

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.