Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 19 (19 total).

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)

Annotation: The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) represents America's baccalaureate- and higher-degree nursing education programs. AACN conducts research, collects data, advocates, and develops curriculum standards and policy statements. Publications include the Journal of Professional Nursing, Syllabus (a bimonthly newsletter), and AACN Issue Bulletins (each focusing on a specific topic).

Keywords: Curricula, School health programs, Colleges, Data collection, Education, Nursing, Nursing services, Policy development, Standards

Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health (ATMCH)

Annotation: The Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health (ATMCH) provides leadership in education, research, and service in the field of maternal and child health (MCH). ATMCH offers an interdisciplinary forum through which MCH faculty from schools of public health and other institutions of higher learning can share knowledge, ideas, and skills for educating students, advancing research, and applying research results to policies, programs, and services. The website contains information on AMCHP membership, leadership, meetings, projects, and awards, as well as links to MCH-related resources such as data, competencies, history, and training. Additional content includes a biannual newsletter and links to MCH programs in schools of public health and related organizations.

Keywords: Maternal health, Child health, Curricula, Health education, History, MCH programs, Professional education, Professional societies, Public health, Teaching

Biological Sciences Curriculum Study (BSCS)

Annotation: Biological Sciences Curriculum Study (BSCS) is an international organization that develops curricula and conducts research to improve literacy in science. Programs are marketed through commercial publishers. Publications include a newsletter (three per year), a catalog of publications and supplementary materials.

Keywords: Biological sciences, Curricula, Genetics education, Health education

Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV)

Annotation: The Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV), established in 1983, is a nonprofit education and research organization that works to educate the public about the scope of handgun violence in the United States and the risks and responsibilities of handgun ownership. The center developed the nation's first K–12 curriculum on gun violence prevention, now used in several major school systems. CPHV publishes a newsletter and provides publications and reference information for consumers; some materials are available in Spanish. The center also sponsors conferences and training seminars. The center does not respond to individual inquiries.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Consumer education, Curricula, Firearms, Handguns, School health education, Violence prevention, Weapons

Camp Fire USA

Annotation: Camp Fire USA, with national headquarters in Kansas City, Mo., provides coeducational programming for more than 670,000 participants annually, through 120 councils in 40 states and the District of Columbia. As a not-for-profit organization, Camp Fire provides programs that include mentoring opportunities through community clubs and environmental education through direct child care services. Other innovative activities include an in-school, community-service curriculum, gang peace programs, pregnancy prevention programs, and a course that teaches teens to provide respite care for children with disabilities. Publications include a catalog and newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization sponsors some conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Advocacy, Curricula, Mentors, Peer education, Peer support programs

Education Development Center (EDC)

Annotation: The Education Development Center, Inc. (EDC) is a nonprofit research and development company engaged in a wide variety of projects to promote health and education throughout the United States and worldwide. EDC works with national organizations and their affiliates; state health, education, and social services agencies; local school districts; and schools to promote the healthy development and successful learning of students. Activities include research, training and technical assistance, and curriculum development. In the maternal and child health field, activities focus on professional development for educators and health professionals, as well as programs to help young people avoid health risk behaviors. EDC manages more than 335 projects in 50 countries and publishes numerous print and on-line newsletters, journals, and other materials.

Keywords: Curricula, Health education, Health promotion, Training

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Annotation: The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Activities that fulfill the ERIC mission are broadly categorized as collection development, content authorizations and agreements, acquisitions and processing, database and website operations, and communications.

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Education, Educational programs, Evaluation methods, Online databases, Professional education, Teachers

Girls Incorporated

Annotation: Girls Incorporated has developed several programs and curricula to promote the health of girls and young women, including Friendly PEERsuasion and Preventing Adolescent Pregnancy. Programs may be licensed to youth-serving agencies. The Girls Incorporated National Resource Center furnishes research materials to organizations, individuals, and the media. The resource center is located at 441 West Michigan Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202; (317) 634-7546. The organization provides publications to consumers.

Keywords: Advocacy, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Curricula, Health promotion, Peer education, Peer support programs, Women

Great Kids Inc.

Annotation: Great Kids Inc. is a nonprofit international training and consulting organization dedicated to developing early childhood and home based programs for families with children 0-5 years. It provides training materials, support services, and curricula for child care providers and program staff (including home visitors). Materials are available in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood, Home visiting, International programs, Parenting education, Pregnancy, Professional training, Spanish language materials, Young children

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)

Annotation: The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private foundation focusing on U.S. health care issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or media companies. The foundation produces policy analysis and research, serves as a clearinghouse for news and information for the health policy community, and develops and runs large-scale public health information campaigns. Information and products are disseminated via the Washington, D.C., Office / Public Affairs Center, comprising the Barbara Jordan Conference Center, the Third Floor Visitors' Center, and the Kaiser Broadcast Studio. The foundation also hosts a number of websites including kff.org, kaiserhealthnews.org, statehealthfacts.org, kaiserEDU.org, healthreform.kff.org, and globalhealth.kff.org.

Keywords: Foundations, AIDS, Access to health care, Curricula, Data analysis, Grants, HIV, Health policy, Health promotion, Health services, Information sources, Low income groups, Minority groups, Philanthropy, Publications, Reproductive health, Research, Spanish language materials

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Violence and Injury Prevention

National Center for Disaster Medicine and Public Health (NDCMPH)

Annotation: The National Center for Disaster Medicine and Public Health (NCDMPH) is an academic center tasked with leading federal, and coordinating national, efforts to develop and propagate core curricula, education, training and research in all-hazards disaster health. It was established in 2008 by Homeland Security Presidential Directive-21 as a Center of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences and receives additional program support from the Henry M. Jackson Foundation for the Advancement of Military Medicine. By establishing core curricula and competencies in disaster medicine and public health education, the NCDMPH will better prepare the nation to respond to natural and man-made disasters or other catastrophic public health events.

Keywords: Curricula, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Hazards, Health education, Professional education, Training for professionals

National Center for Disaster Preparedness (NCDP)

Annotation: The National Center for Disaster Preparedness (NCDP) serves as a national resource in disaster and terrorism readiness. The NCDP, which includes the CDC-funded Academic Centers for Public Health Preparedness (initiated prior to the attacks of September 11), works with other academic institutions, advocacy organizations, and public policy institutions to provide bioterrorism curriculum development, training for public health professionals, crisis-response mechanisms, surveillance models, preparedness standards, public policy analysis, and research methodologies in efforts to increase the nation's capacity to prevent and respond to terrorism and enhance disaster preparedness.

Keywords: Model programs, Professional training, Public health, . Research, Injury prevention, Leadership training, Preventive health services, Public health service, Resources for professionals, Standards, curricula

North American Menopause Society (NAMS)

Annotation: The North American Menopause Society (NAMS) is a nonprofit organization that promotes the health and quality of life of women through an understanding of menopause. NAMS publishes materials for professionals and consumers. The Society also develops curriculum materials, surveys and questionnaires, position statements, and recommended reading lists, and publishes book reviews of publications about menopause. Some materials are available in Spanish. Consumers can sign up online to receive a free monthly newsletter.

Keywords: Aging, Consumer education materials, Curricula, Menopause, Resources for professionals, Women's health

Peace Education Foundation (PEF)

Public/Private Ventures (P/PV)

Annotation: Public/Private Ventures is a national nonprofit organization whose mission is to improve the effectiveness of social policies, programs and community initiatives, especially as they affect youth and young adults. In carrying out this mission, P/PV works with philanthropies, the public and business sectors, and nonprofit organizations. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include policy papers, guidebooks, a catalog, an annual report, and a newsletter, Public/Private Ventures News.

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescents, Curricula, Employment programs, Mentors, Vocational education

Rocky Mountain Center for Health Promotion and Education (RMC)

Annotation: The Rocky Mountain Center for Health Promotion and Education (RMC) is a private nonprofit corporation that trains educators to implement comprehensive sequential health education for children and youth. The center advocates a comprehensive, school-based approach focused on student-centered curricula, teacher training, and ongoing support. RMC provides other services to consumers include publications, referrals, and reference information. RMC publishes a newsletter and catalog, and some materials are available in Spanish. RMC provides health education, technical assistance, and training on leadership, facilitation, and standards and assessments.

Keywords: Curricula, Education, Health promotion

Sex and Gender Women's Health Collaborative (SGWHC)

Annotation: The Sex and Gender Women's Health Collaborative (SGWHC, formerly the Advancing Women's Health Initiative) is dedicated to sex and gender evidence-based care to promote health and improve disease outcomes. The collaborative was launched on March 7, 2013, to accelerate the integration of sex and gender influences into medical education and clinical training. The website contains medical education curricula and teaching tools for medical students, nurse practitioners/nurses, and allied health faculty and practitioners to foster sex and gender sensitivity in delivering optimal care for all.

Keywords: Allied health services, Collaboration, Curricula, Medical education, Nursing education, Sex characteristics, Teaching, Training, Women's health

Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources (WCH)

Annotation: The Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources is an official information and materials resource for the state of Wisconsin that also serves schools, agencies, programs, community groups, and businesses nationwide. Its goal is to strengthen individuals, families, and communities. The Clearinghouse provides a wide range of educational materials and services to prevention specialists, counselors, and other professionals. Topics include alcohol and other drugs, curricula and teacher resources, high-risk youth and high-risk behaviors, resources for programs and professionals, tobacco and smoking, fetal alcohol syndrome, primary prevention and health promotion, mental health, and families and substance abuse prevention. Posters, publications and videotapes are available. Some materials are available in Spanish, plus a few items also available in Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Korean. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Alcoholic beverages, Audiovisual materials, Curricula, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Mental health, Recreational drug use, Self help clearinghouses, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Teratology, Tobacco, Wisconsin

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.