Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The California Endowment is a private, statewide health foundation whose mission is to expand access to affordable, quality health care for underserved individuals and communities, and to promote fundamental improvements in the health status of all Californians. Guiding the endowment's work is a multicultural approach to health, which is defined not only by race and ethnicity, but financial status, cultural beliefs, gender, age, sexual orientation, geographic location, immigration status, and physical or mental abilities. This approach seeks to mobilize the talents, cultures and assets of California's diverse populations to improve the quality of our health systems and to promote health at the level of communities. A wide variety of publications covering topics such as access to care, mental health, cultural competence, and disparities in health can be downloaded in pdf format from the endowment's Web site.

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Underserved communities, . Program improvement, Access to health care, California, Cultural competence, Foundations

Annotation: The Center for Healthy Families and Cultural Diversity (CHFCD) is dedicated to leadership, advocacy, and excellence in promoting culturally-responsive, quality health care for diverse populations. The center has evolved from a program focused primarily on multicultural education and training for health professionals, to an expanded and growing resource for technical assistance, consultation, and research/evaluation services. CHFCD sponsors conferences and disseminates information through publications, Web sites, videos, and CD-ROMs, and more than 200 presentations have been given on the subject of culturally and linguistically appropriate services delivery.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Health promotion, Linguistic competence, Service delivery, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The CLAS Institute identifies, evaluates, and promotes effective and appropriate early intervention and preschool practices that are sensitive and respectful to children and families from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds. The Web site includes a searchable database of culturally and linguistically appropriate materials produced by child education and multicultural experts for use by early childhood/special education practitioners and administrators. The Institute reviews and acquires materals from various national, regional, state and local organizations, grant-funded projects, national, state and local programs, and publishers. The Web site is maintained by the Early Childhood and Parenting Collaborative at the University of Illinois.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Linguistic competence, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Diversity Rx Web site serves as a clearinghouse of information on model programs, policies, and legal issues related to cross cultural health, in collaboration with the National Conference of State Legislatures, Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care, and the Kaiser Family Foundation. Diversity Rx sponsors conferences, produces reports, and hosts an email discussion group for those interested in cross-cultural healthcare news.

Keywords: Languages, Cultural competence, Clearinghouses. , Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Health education, Linguistic competence, Model programs, Program development, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: EthnoMed is an ethnic medicine website related to cross-cultural and refuge health topics, including health screening, cultural competence, breastfeeding, domestic violence, mental health, nutrition, oral health, women's health, and infant/child care The website contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the United States, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Immigrants, Minority health, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Refugees, Resources for professionals

Annotation: The Hmong Health Education Network provides access to health information for Hmong people and those who provide health, education, and social services to the Hmong community. The Network's bilingual Web site provides links to resources on preventive health care, cultural healing traditions, and family health topics such as asthma, mental health, and dental surgery. The project is funded by the National Library of Medicine and managed by the Northern Wisconsin Area Health Education Center (NAHEC). The network also provides an online discussion list.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Cultural competence, Cultural sensitivity, Foreign language materials, Health promotion, Hmong, Hmong people, Information sources, Listserves, Preventive health services, Publications

Annotation: The mission of International Child Resource Institute (ICRI) is to improve the lives of children and families throughout the world, enabling them to survive and succeed. ICRI provides services for families and children locally and around the world through technical assistance and consultation to a wide variety of national and international organizations, businesses, governments, non-profits and others interested in such children's issues as child care, child abuse prevention, child survival, maternal and child health, placement alternatives for abandoned and traumatized children and the promotion of children's rights.

Keywords: Child care, Adoption, Child abuse prevention, Child health, Cultural competence, Developing countries, Development, Early childhood education, Information services, Maternal health

Annotation: Journeyworks Publishing produces health education promotion materials including pamphlets, brochures, posters, and bookmarks, in these topic areas: tobacco prevention, smoking cessation, secondhand smoke, sexual abstinence, pregnancy prevention, male involvement, HIV and STD prevention, birth control, prenatal care, child health and parenting, drugs and alcohol, violence prevention, stress, mental wellness, fitness and nutrition, date rape, gay youth, women's health, Alzheimer's disease, and materials in Spanish, Vietnamese, and Chinese. It also produces the Luann health series designed for the adolescent audience. Materials are directed at diverse audiences, and some are for low literacy audiences.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Adolescent health, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Health education, Low literacy materials, Minority groups, Posters

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training