Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Founded in 1996, Fight Crime: Invest in Kids is a bipartisan, nonprofit anti-crime organization led by police chiefs, sheriffs, prosecutors, victims of violence, and leaders of police officer associations. The organization's mission is to evaluate the effectiveness of crime-prevention strategies and to put that information into the hands of policy-makers and the public. Fight Crime develops policy recommendations; analyzes the impact of public policy proposals; educates opinion leaders, policy-makers, and the public; and serves as an information clearinghouse. Fight Crime has a national office in Washington, D.C. and other offices in California, Illinois, Michigan, New York, and Pennsylvania.

Keywords: Public policies, Crime prevention, Clearinghouses, Juvenile delinquency, Policy development, Violence prevention

Annotation: The Independence Institute is a Colorado think-tank which conducts analysis from the standpoint of free-market economics and individual freedom. This agenda informs their policy papers on family issues, welfare reform, culture, and other topics. Services to consumers include publications, searchable databases, and reference information The institute publishes an electronic newsletter and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Civil rights, Crime, Gun control, Public policies

Annotation: The National Center for Victims of Crime (NCVC) is a nonprofit organization that works to promote the rights and needs of victims of a crime and to educate the public about the devastating effect crime has on society. Training activities and programs developed and executed by the Center include the Stalking Resource Center, which provides training, technical assistance, and information for professionals working with and responding to stalking victims and offenders; the DNA Resource Center, which is a source for training, technical assistance, and information about the use of DNA in the criminal justice system; and a youth initiative, which builds the nation's capacity to support youth victims while working to advance their rights and to ensure youth leadership on issues that affect youth. The center also hosts national conferences and maintains a library of online resource materials.

Keywords: Advocacy, Crime, Technical assistance, Victims

Annotation: The National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD) is a nonprofit organization committed to developing and promoting criminal and juvenile justice strategies that are fair, humane, effective, and economically sound. The goal of the council is to help federal and state officials, criminal justice professionals, and community organizations implement programs that will improve the criminal justice system. It provides innovative and cost-effective strategies to help administrators and criminal justice professionals manage corrections systems more effectively. Activities include consulting and advocacy programs and publications. NCCD also publishes a newsletter and journal and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Courts, Crime, Juvenile delinquency, Juvenile justice

Annotation: The National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) is a private, nonprofit organization whose principal mission is to enable people to prevent crime and build safer, more caring communities. NCPC produces tools that communities can use to learn crime prevention strategies, engage community members, and coordinate with local agencies, including publications and teaching materials on a variety of topics; programs that can be implemented in communities and schools; local, regional, and national trainings; and public service announcements. NCPC manages the McGruff "Take a Bite Out of Crime" public service advertising campaign and other aspects of the National Citizens' Crime Prevention Campaign including publications, training, and technical assistance. Many of NCPC's publications can be downloaded from the Web site; others can be ordered through the online bookstore.

Keywords: Crime prevention

Annotation: The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a Federal Information Exchange on criminal justice, juvenile justice, and drug policy. NCJRS shares resources through a toll-free number, online resources, conferences, and mailings. Services include referrals, reference information, and publications (including a catalog).

Keywords: Crime, Criminal justice system, Drug abuse, Juvenile justice, Public policies

Annotation: The National Institute of Justice (NIJ) is the research and development agency of the U.S. Department of Justice, established to prevent and reduce crime and to improve the criminal justice system. The institute supports research and development programs and special projects that will improve and strengthen the criminal justice system and reduce or prevent crime; conducts national demonstration projects that employ innovative or promising approaches for improving criminal justice; evaluates the effectiveness of criminal justice programs and identifies programs that promise to be successful if continued or repeated; and develops new methods of crime prevention and reduction of crime and delinquency. Services include an electronic bulletin board, a reference service, and an information exchange as well as research programs on gangs, human development and criminal behavior, drug use forecasting, and data resources. Publications include a journal. The NIJ operates that National Criminal Justice Reference Service, a clearinghouse for criminal justice information and referral services

Keywords: Crime prevention, Criminal justice system, Injury prevention, Research

Annotation: The National Organization for Victim Assistance (NOVA) is a private nonprofit organization of victim and witness assistance programs and practitioners, criminal justice agencies and professionals, mental health professionals, researchers, former victims and survivors, and others committed to the recognition and implementation of victim rights. Activities include advocacy for victim interests in the legislative and executive branches of government, direct services to victims of crime, and technical assistance and training for local victim assistance programs and allied professionals. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. The organization sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter.

Keywords: Crime, Advocacy, Technical assistance, Training, Victim witness programs, Victims, Witnesses

Annotation: The Office for Victims of Crime Resource Center (OVCRC) is one of several information resources maintained by the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. The center's collection includes more than 13,000 books and articles on victim services, domestic violence, victim-witness programs, and violent crime. The center also collects and disseminates information on child physical and sexual abuse. Services to consumers include referrals, publications (a catalog and newsletter), and reference information. The center also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Advocacy, Crime, Injury prevention, Victims, Witnesses

Annotation: The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is a component of the Department of Justice. The bureau is the nation's primary source for criminal justice statistics. Activities include collecting, analyzing, publishing, and disseminating information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. The data collected by the bureau is used by Federal, State, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded. BJS also sponsors conferences, hosts a List Service (Juststats), and provides consumers with publications and reference information. A catalog is available.

Keywords: Crime, Crime prevention, Criminal justice system, Statistics

Annotation: The ONDCP Drug Policy Information Clearinghouse supports drug control policy research and development. It provides policymakers with current data on illegal drug trafficking, drug law violators, drug use among offenders in the criminal justice system, and the impact of drugs on criminal justice administration. It also refers inquiries to the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention's National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information and other federally sponsored clearinghouses that address drug-related issues. The data center was established in 1987 and is a component of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service, U.S. Department of Justice.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Alcohol abuse, Clearinghouses, Crime prevention, Drug use behavior, Drugs, Policy development, Public policies, legislation

Annotation: The U.S. Office of Justice Programs (OJP) provides leadership to federal, state, local, and tribal justice systems, by disseminating state-of-the art knowledge and practices across America, and providing grants for the implementation of crime fighting strategies. OJP does not directly carry out law enforcement and justice activities but works in partnership with the justice community to identify the most pressing crime-related challenges confronting the justice system and to provide information, training, coordination, and innovative strategies and approaches for addressing these challenges.

Keywords: Crime prevention, Federal agencies, Violence prevention

Annotation: Youth Crime Watch of America, the young person's component of Citizen's Crime Watch, provides an opportunity for students to get involved personally in creating and maintaining crime-free and drug-free environments. Programs are designed for use in both elementary and secondary schools. The organization conducts workshops; promotes the exchange of ideas and information; sponsors a national youth crime prevention conference; conducts on-site training in schools and communities; provides resource materials; and publishes a newsletter. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescents, Crime prevention, School age children