Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (22 total).

American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics (AAP SODBP), founded in 1960, works to optimize the relationship between primary care and subspecialists, provide education and disseminate strategies to support quality clinical practice, and advocate on behalf of children and providers. The website provides information about educational activities and a toolbox of resources and tools to help physicians advocate for children at the federal, state, or local practice level; screen and assess developmental and behavioral concerns; and support developmental and behavioral services and policies related to developmental and behavioral pediatrics. Additional contents include the Learning Disabilities Navigator, a comprehensive resource guide for learning difficulties and disabilities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavior development, Child development, Continuing education, Developmental screening, Emotional development, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals

American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA)

Annotation: The American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) works to provide quality, cost-effective,and accessible health care by supporting the professional and personal development of physician assistants (PAs). The website provides information on the PA profession, careers, and practice; continuing medical education; research activities; news and publications; and events. AAPA publishes the Journal of the American Academy of Physician's Assistants and sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Continuing education, Health occupations, Physician assistants, Professional societies

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA)

Annotation: The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) is a professional organization representing the nation's podiatrists in an orchestrated effort to improve the nation's quality of foot care. APMA's Council on Podiatric Medical Education accredits the nation's podiatric medical schools, residency programs, and continuing medical education programs. APMA sponsors an annual conference, publishes the Journal of the American Podiatric Medical Association, and provides career information and professional development opportunities. APMA also provides scholarships for podiatric medical students as well as free foot health information and online resources for the general public.

Keywords: Professional societies, Accreditation, Consumer education, Continuing education, Health personnel, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students, Podiatrists

Bright Futures Center for Pediatric Education in Growth and Development, Behavior, and Adolescent Health

Annotation: The Bright Futures Center for Pediatric Education in Growth and Development, Behavior, and Adolescent Health works to provide care-based teaching materials written by faculty from Children's Hospital in Boston and Harvard Medical Center to pediatric training programs worldwide. The center provides on-line access to over 30 case-based educational modules which have been pilot-tested and evaluated in pediatric training programs within the United States. Each module contains case abstracts, goals and objectives, a facilitators guide, a case narrative, teaching handouts, bibliographies, and evaluation materials on topics pertaining to child growth, development, behavior, and adolescent health. Publications include journal articles and presentations produced by the project. The organization is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Genentech Foundation for Growth and Development.

Keywords: Training materials, Adolescent health, Bright Futures, Case studies, Child health, Continuing education, Health supervision, Pediatrics

California Dental Association Foundation, First Smiles Education and Training Project

Annotation: First Smiles, a joint project of the California Dental Association Foundation and Dental Health Foundation, provides education and training on oral disease prevention in infants and children from birth to age 5, including those with special needs, for students and practitioners in the health professions. The program also provides oral health education for staff, parents, and other caregivers in WIC, Head Start, First 5 School Readiness, and California Childhood Health Programs.

Keywords: California, Continuing education, Disease prevention, Oral health, Preservice training, State initiatives, Young children

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Annotation: The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Activities that fulfill the ERIC mission are broadly categorized as collection development, content authorizations and agreements, acquisitions and processing, database and website operations, and communications.

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Education, Educational programs, Evaluation methods, Online databases, Professional education, Teachers

Gay Lesbian Medical Association (GLMA)

Annotation: The Gay Lesbian Medical Association (GLMA), formerly the American Association of Physicians for Human Rights, works to maximize the quality of health services for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and to foster a professional climate in which diverse members are encouraged to reach their full potential. GLMA offers continuing education opportunities; funds research; advocates for administrative and legislative changes; offers online health care referrals, and produces publications, including the Journal of the Gay and Lesbian Medical Association.

Keywords: Professional societies, Health services, Homosexuality, Advocacy, Continuing education, Gays, Lesbians, Research

Lactation Education Resources

Annotation: Lactation Education Resources strives to raise the standard of practice of certified lactation consultants by offering quality training programs and innovative educational materials for those who desire to become certified lactation consultants and continuing education for those who are certified. This program provides information on both on-site and online training opportunities, incuding Web links to self-learning modules, power-point presentations, and counseling protocols. Clinical updates and parent handouts can be downloaded from the Web site.The program is a contuation of the National Capitol Lactation Center at Georgetown University, which was dissolved in 1997.

Keywords: Lactation specialists, Breastfeeding. Consultants, Continuing education, Parent materials, Professional training, Training materials

MedChi, the Maryland State Medical Society (Med Chi)

Annotation: MedChi, The Maryland State Medical Society (formerly the Medical and Chirurgical Faculty) designs and disseminates physician education materials, conducts continuing medical education programs, and works to increase medical research in the state. The Maternal, Infant, Child and Adolescent Health Committee reviews maternal mortalities and coordinates activities of many maternal child health (MCH) specialties in Maryland, including setting standards, advocacy, and legislation. Med Chi operates the Baltimore City Fetal Infant Mortality Review (FIMR) and provides technical assistance to FIMR's in all counties of Maryland. The organization produces a newsletter and journal, maintains a listserv, and sponsors conferences and training seminars. It also provides referrals, publications and reference information for consumers.

Keywords: Health education, Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Continuing education, Educational materials, Infant health, Legislation, Maryland, Maternal health, Medical education, Standards

National Association of Neonatal Nurses (NANN)

Annotation: The National Association of Neonatal Nurses (NANN) serves as a forum for continuing education and information exchange, and it promotes legislation to improve neonatal nursing and health care for newborns and their families. Their services to consumers include referrals and reference information. NANN publishes a newsletter and journal, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Infant health, Continuing education, Health services, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal nursing, Newborn infants

National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses (NAON)

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH)

Annotation: The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) leads a national effort to collect, develop, and disseminate information and educational materials on maternal and child health. It collaborates with public agencies, voluntary and professional organizations, research and training programs, policy centers, and others to advance education and program and policy development in maternal and child health. The center maintains a reference collection of educational materials documenting the last 100 years of maternal and child health and publishes a variety of guides, directories, bibliographies, and newsletters. Additionally, subject specialists implement special projects in support of federal initiatives. NCEMCH houses on-line information on programs and products from the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other projects supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The Center's Web site contains databases, bibliographies on maternal and child health topics, lists of selected organizations and MCHB-funded projects, information about Center projects, and selected full-text publications. Selected records from the Center's bibliographic database are available for online retrieval through the Center database MCHLine(r) and also through the Combined Health Information Database (CHID), available on the World Wide Web. The NCEMCH organization database is included on the DIRLINE database at the National Library of Medicine. Services to consumers and health professionals include referrals, reference information, and publications. NCEMCH publishes a weekly electronic newsletter, MCH Alert, which provides timely MCH research and findings, policy developments, information about recently released publications, new programs and initiatives, and conferences affecting the MCH community.

Keywords: Health education, National Information Resource Centers, Adolescent health, Child health, Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Data Collection, Databases, Dissemination, Electronic newsletters, Health promotion, History, Information Services, Information services, Maternal health, Nutrition, Online Systems, Public Policy, Public awareness materials, School readiness, Young children

National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC)

Annotation: The National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC) works to improve the quality of health education practice. The commission maintains a certification process for health education specialists and promotes professional preparation and continuing education programs. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Certification, Continuing education, Health education, Professional review organizations, Professional standards review, Professional training, Resources for professionals

National HPV and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center

Annotation: The National HPV and Cervical Cancer Prevention Resource Center, created by the American Social Health Association (ASHA), focuses on collecting, summarizing, and disseminating information on the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of HPV and the prevention of cervical cancer. The center offers information to the public, health care providers, and policy makers about human papillomavirus (HPV) and its link to cervical cancer; develops and distributes clinical guidelines; promotes public awareness; and contributes to Web-based continuing medical education sources.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, Cervical cancer, Continuing education, Data collection, Disease prevention, Dissemination, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, National information resource centers, Public awareness materials

National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC)

Annotation: The National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC) promotes the genetic counseling profession as a recognized and integral part of health care delivery, research, education and public policy. It offers local and national continuing education opportunities and serves as a forum for discussion of issues relevant to human genetics and the genetic counseling profession. The organization sponsors conferences for professionals, publishes a quarterly newsletter and bi-monthly journal. Referrals are available to consumers on the website.

Keywords: Genetic counseling, Continuing education, Genetic counselors, Genetics

Procter and Gamble Company

Annotation: Dentalcare.com is the Procter and Gamble Company's online portal for oral health professionals and students. Contents include information on products and ordering, research, education, and practice management.

Keywords: Consumer education, Continuing education, Oral health

Public Health Learning Navigator

Annotation: The Public Health Learning Navigator is a streamlined, curated online resource supporting quality learning for the public health workforce. It is a produce of the Public Health Learning Network and the National Network of Public Health Institutes.

Keywords: Continuing education, Health personnel, Public health, Training

Public Health Learning Network

Annotation: The Public Health Learning Network is a system of public health educators, experts, and thought leaders which aims to advance public health practice and improve population health in the United States.

Keywords: Continuing education, Health personnel, Public health, Training

Union Institute and University (UI&U)

Annotation: Union Institute & University is an international university headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio. Its programs are geared entirely toward adult professinals. As part of the Healthy Children 2000 Project, and with the support of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau of the Health Resources and Services Administration, Union Institute & University offers a distance learning bachelor of arts degree program in Maternal-Child Health: Lactation Consulting, enrolling learners from across the United States.

Keywords: Continuing education, Women's studies, Public policies

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.