Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) represents members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Keywords: Health education, Consumer education, Evaluation, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Patient education, Public awareness materials

Annotation: The Collaborative Family Healthcare Association is a membership organization of physical and mental health providers and consumers. It promotes collaborative family healthcare as an optimal way to deliver care. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and reference information. A list serve is also available on the association's Web site. The association also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Health care, Collaboration, Consumers, Family centered care, Health personnel, Information services

Annotation: The National Fathers Network advocates for fathers of children with special health needs through support and mentoring programs, conferences and training seminars, a newsletter, a Web page, development of curriculum, and ongoing work with professionals to enhance service delivery for all family members. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Family centered services, Fathers, Information sources, Parenting, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Special education

Annotation: Genetics Home Reference (GHR) is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It provides brief, lay-language summaries of genetic conditions and related genes and chromosomes. Understanding is enhanced by direct links to glossary definitions and a handbook called Help Me Understand Genetics that explains fundamental genetic concepts. Additional links to onsumer information from MedlinePlus, applicable clinical trials, and relevant patient support groups are provided. Each summary of a specific medical condition includes links to advanced information from the National Library of Medicine and other authoritative sources. A glossary and information on newborn screening are included.

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Consumer education, Genes, Genetics, Genetics education, Information services, Information sources, Rare diseases, Special health care needs

Annotation: Hands on Health South Carolina provides information resources and links to health and wellness websites that focus on health issues of particular importance to South Carolina citizens and communities. The website includes information about health problems, environment and health, health services, and health news. Additional content includes information about health projects in South Carolina; multimedia resources; and information about health-related websites, careers, and dictionaries. Spanish-language resources and tools for health professionals are also provided.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Information sources, South Carolina, State initiatives, Web sites

Keywords: Consumer health, Family medicine, Information sources, Internet, Libraries, Pediatrics, Women', s health

Annotation: This Web site provides health information in these languages: American Sign Language, Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, English, French, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Marshallese, Portuguese Brazilian, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. Topics include disaster preparedness, diagnostic tests, diseases and conditions, exercise and rehabilitation, food and diet, general information, health and wellness, home care, pain and comfort, pediatrics, pregnancy and baby care, safety, stress and coping, and surgeries and treatments. It has been developed by nine Ohio-based and national health organizations.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer health information, Non-English language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Mayo Clinic is an integrated, not-for-profit group practice comprising staff physicians and scientists; residents, fellows, and students; and administrative and allied health personnel. The practice provides health services, health information, and education and research in clinics and hospitals in Rochester, Minnesota; Jacksonville, Florida; and Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona. The websites, MayoClinic.com, MayoClinic.edu, and MayoClinic.org, provide information and resources for clients and professionals. Health information topics include diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, tests and procedures, healthy lifestyle, and first aid. E-newsletters and a personalized health guidance tool are also available.

Keywords: Child health promotion, Consumer education, Development, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Nutrition, Therapeutics, Women', s health

Keywords: Child development, Consumer education, Dictionaries, Directories, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Mobile applications, NLM, Pregnancy, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Women', s health

Annotation: Formerly known as the National Mental Health Association, Mental Health America is a voluntary advocacy organization concerned with all aspects of mental health and mental illness. The association provides information on a broad range of mental illnesses and related issues through descriptions of programs and other resources to prevent mental-emotional disability. It also has a grassroots education initiative on children's mental health called Children's Mental Health Matters and promotes Children's Depression Awareness Day. Mental Health America offers information, referrals and publications, including a newsletter and a resource catalog through its resource center. Materials are available in Spanish. The association also provides public education, research, and advocacy services and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Children, Adolescents, Advocacy, Clearinghouses, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Program descriptions, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Merck Manual of Medical Information is a publication based on The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, commonly referred to as The Merck Manual. The textbook of medicine is used by health care professionals. The Manual contains information about diseases, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Consumers, Diagnosis, Information sources, Internet, Women', s health

Annotation: The National Council on Folic Acid (NCFA) is a partnership of over 80 national organizations and associations, state folic acid councils, and government agencies whose mission is to improve health by promoting the benefits and consumption of folic acid. NCFA is managed by the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition through a cooperative agreement with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The council distributes guidelines on folic acid consumption for women of childbearing age and promotes emerging and new science on folic acid (especially as it relates to maternal and child health). NCFA distributes monthly news alerts and provides electronic access to sources of information on folic acid (available in multiple languages).

Keywords: Nutrition, . Foreign language materials, Consumer education, Folic acid, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Neural tube defects, Preventive health services, Public health nutrition

Annotation: The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) publishes brochures and conducts public education programs that promote child passenger safety. It operates a toll-free telephone service that handles consumer complaints on child safety seats and other automotive safety technologies and provides information on product recalls. NHTSA produces a traffic safety materials catalog. Some publications are available in Spanish. The organization maintains specialized sections for impaired driving, distracted driving, seat belts, teen driving, and child safety. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Car seats, Child safety, Consumer education, Health promotion, Information services, Motor vehicle safety, Safety, Seat belts, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health, Health sciences libraries, Information sources, Libraries

Annotation: The National Ovarian Cancer Coalition (NOCC) is an ovarian cancer public information and education organization. NOCC provides toll-free information, online discussion forums, print and electronic materials, including news updates and research findings, and other ovarian cancer support resources and services.

Keywords: Gynecology, Cancer, Consumer education, Hotlines, Information sources, Ovarian cancer, Resource centers, Women', s health

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education (NRC) at the University of Colorado Denver promotes health and safety in out-of-home child care settings throughout the nation. NRC collaborates with the American Public Health Association, the American Academy of Pediatrics, and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau to produce national health and safety performance standards guidelines for out-of-home child care programs. The center's website provides resources for child care providers, parents, health consultants, regulators, and early childhood systems leaders including a database of state licensure regulations.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Child care workers, Child safety, Consumer education, Information sources, Injury prevention, National MCH resource center, Online databases, Regulations, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Standards, State programs, Technical assistance, Training