Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (48 total).

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Dental Association (ADA)

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) is committed to the public’s oral health and to ethics, science, and professional advancement. Initiatives include those related to advocacy, education, research, and the development of standards. ADA’s journal, Journal of the American Dental Association and website contain information on continuing education offerings and volunteer opportunities. The public resources section of the website provides information for families.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Health Care Association (AHCA)

Annotation: The American Health Care Association (AHCA) advocates for quality in long-term health care for elderly and disabled individuals. AHCA represents the long term care community to government, business leaders, and the general public, and works to effect change in the long term care field, providing information, education, and administrative tools designed to enhance quality on many levels. Web resources include consumer materials.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Older adults, Advocacy, Allied health professional education, Disabled, Long term care, Policy development, Research

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

American Psychological Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

Bright Futures for Families

California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program

Annotation: The California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program is dedicated to Sudden Infant Death support, awareness, and risk reduction. Information is provided on grief and bereavement, SIDS facts, and infant care practices for reducing the risk of SIDS. Information is available for SIDS professionals, SIDS Coordinators, and families. Numerous materials are available in Spanish, and occasionally in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Tagalog, and VIetnamese. The program is under the direction of the California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Division.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Consumer education materials, Family support, Infant death, Infant mortality, Parent support, SIDS, Spanish language materials

CAPHIS Top 100

Childbirth Graphics

Annotation: This publisher has easy-to-read materials on pregnancy, pregnancy hazards, postpartum, parenting, teen pregnancy, nutrition, newborns, high-risk pregnancy, labor and birth, breastfeeding, and women's health, including books, PowerPoint/CD ROMs, charts, posters,flip charts, and other materials.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Parenting, Pregnancy

Choosy Kids

Annotation: Choosy Kids offers training and educational materials for health professionals, teachers, and parents to help young children develop healthy behaviors. Topics include obesity, oral health, nutrition, and physical activity. The site also provides news, information about events, links to resources by topic and by audience such as Head Start and WIC programs, and tools for submitting and sharing resources with others.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Consumer education matrerials, DVDs, Head Start, Health behavior, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, WIC Program

Consumer Federation of America (CFA)

Annotation: The Consumer Federation of America (CFA) was established in 1968 as a nonprofit organization of national, state, and local groups committed to consumer advocacy and education. The federation lobbies for the passage of legislation to protect consumers in such areas as energy, food, health and safety, communications, handicaps, insurance, transportation, and the environment. Publications include CFA News, policy updates, studies, testimony, and more than a dozen consumer publications on topics ranging from managing consumer debt to resolving consumer complaints to safeguarding playgrounds. CFA's State and Local Resource Center, funded by Consumers Union and others, seeks to strengthen grassroots consumer organizations through grants, technical assistance, workshops, publications, and other services.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Bicycle helmets, Child health, Consumer Product Safety Network, Consumer education, Consumer education materials, Data, National organization, Residential injuries

DONA International

Annotation: Doulas of North America (DONA International) is primarily a professional organization for doulas whose work is to provide physical, emotional, and educational support to women during pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum period. The Web site includes an online library of downloadable publications (including some materials for consumers), as well as information on doula training, conferences, and certification. The site also hosts discussion boards and a directory of professional doulas.

Keywords: Childbirth, Childbirth educators, Alternative birth styles, Certification, Childbirth education, Consumer education materials, Electronic bulletin boards, Electronic publications, Online databases, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional training

Easy-to-Read Health and Medical Information

Family Voices

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children's health insurance program, State programs

FamilyDoctor.org

Fathers' Network

Annotation: The National Fathers Network advocates for fathers of children with special health needs through support and mentoring programs, conferences and training seminars, a newsletter, a Web page, development of curriculum, and ongoing work with professionals to enhance service delivery for all family members. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Family centered services, Fathers, Information sources, Parenting, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Spanish language materials, Special education

Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC)

Annotation: The Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC), in the U.S. Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies, provides U.S. government information and services to the public. FCIC offes a variety information channels, including websites, web chat, telephone, print, social media and email. Websites hosted by the center include USA.gov, publications.usa.gov, kids.gov, and blog.USA.gov. The FCIC's Contact Center serves as a single point of contact for individuals with questions about federal agencies, programs, and services.

Keywords: Consumer education materials

FHI

Annotation: FHI is an international public health organization that works to improve lives worldwide through research, education, and services in family health. Working with research institutions, community groups, government and nongovernment organizations, and the private sector, FHI aims to prevent the spread of HIV / AIDS and sexually transmitted infections and care for those affected by them; improve people's access to quality reproductive health services, especially safe, effective, and affordable family planning methods; and improve the health of women and children, especially those who live in resource-constrained settings. More than 3,000 materials are available as full text on FHI's Web site, including books, reports, case studies, guides and tools, research briefs, periodicals, and training tools. The Web pages and some of the publications are available in Spanish and French. FHI was previously called Family Health International.

Keywords: Family health, Spanish language materials, Child health, Consumer education materials, Developing countries, Disease prevention, Electronic publications, Health promotion, International health, Non English language materials, Public health, Reproductive health, Women's health

Hands on Health South Carolina (Hands on Health-SC)

Annotation: Hands on Health South Carolina provides information resources and links to health and wellness websites that focus on health issues of particular importance to South Carolina citizens and communities. The website includes information about health problems, environment and health, health services, and health news. Additional content includes information about health projects in South Carolina; multimedia resources; and information about health-related websites, careers, and dictionaries. Spanish-language resources and tools for health professionals are also provided.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Information sources, South Carolina, State initiatives, Web sites

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.