Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (79 total).

Academic Pediatric Association (APA)

Annotation: The Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is an organization of health care professionals that works to improve health care for children by conducting research, teaching, and formulating public policy. Publications include a newsletter, a series of guidelines for general pediatrics education of medical students and pediatric residents and a journal.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Consumer education, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Information sources, Professional societies, Professional training, Public policy, Research, Teaching

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

Alliance for Aging Research

Annotation: The Alliance for Aging Research supports and works to accelerate the pace of medical discoveries to improve the experience of aging and health. The Alliance advocates for increases in research dollars for age-related diseases and supports federal legislation that will advance medical breakthroughs. The alliance also conducts grassroots education campaigns for health professionals and the public on diseases which disproportionately affect the elderly; sponsors the Paul Beeson Physician Faculty Scholars in Aging Research Program; conducts studies and surveys that examine important medical, behavioral, and social issues associated with longevity; serves as a clearinghouse for information on the health and well-being of older people; and creates and disseminates health education materials to consumers in a variety of formats.

Keywords: , Public awareness campaigns, Advocacy, Aging, Clearinghouses, Consumer education, Fellowships, Geriatrics, Information sources, Legislation, Longevity, Medical research, Research, Studies, Surveys

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Annotation: The American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS), formerly the American Home Economics Association, works to affect public policy on families and to improve the quality of personal and family life through education, research, cooperative programs, and public information. Publications include brochures, booklets, reference books, periodicals (The Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (issued quarterly), and a publications & product catalog. AAFCS sponsors annual conferences and provides certification and accreditation programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education, Family life education, Health promotion, School linked programs

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)

Annotation: The American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) promotes and integrates scientific research, education and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health, and quality of life. ACSM offers members informational publications and video materials, meetings, and continuing education. Membership is open to interested individuals as well as health professionals.

Keywords: Sports medicine, Consumer education, Exercise, Health promotion, Physical activity, Professional education

American Dental Association (ADA)

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) is committed to the public’s oral health and to ethics, science, and professional advancement. Initiatives include those related to advocacy, education, research, and the development of standards. ADA’s journal, Journal of the American Dental Association and website contain information on continuing education offerings and volunteer opportunities. The public resources section of the website provides information for families.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Health Care Association (AHCA)

Annotation: The American Health Care Association (AHCA) advocates for quality in long-term health care for elderly and disabled individuals. AHCA represents the long term care community to government, business leaders, and the general public, and works to effect change in the long term care field, providing information, education, and administrative tools designed to enhance quality on many levels. Web resources include consumer materials.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Older adults, Advocacy, Allied health professional education, Disabled, Long term care, Policy development, Research

American Health Quality Association (AHQA)

American Heart Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM)

Annotation: Formed in 1991, the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) offers a forum that fosters a collegial relationship among primary care sports medicine physicians. The AMSSM provides educational opportunities for primary care sports medicine physicians through meetings and video and printed materials. The AMSSM Web site is an educational resource for members, other professionals and the general public.

Keywords: Sports medicine, Consumer education, Physicians

American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA)

Annotation: The American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) is a professional organization representing the nation's podiatrists in an orchestrated effort to improve the nation's quality of foot care. APMA's Council on Podiatric Medical Education accredits the nation's podiatric medical schools, residency programs, and continuing medical education programs. APMA sponsors an annual conference, publishes the Journal of the American Podiatric Medical Association, and provides career information and professional development opportunities. APMA also provides scholarships for podiatric medical students as well as free foot health information and online resources for the general public.

Keywords: Professional societies, Accreditation, Consumer education, Continuing education, Health personnel, Medical education, Medical schools, Medical students, Podiatrists

American Psychological Association (APA)

Annotation: The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional society of psychologists that works to advance psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting health, education and the human welfare. Students may participate as affiliates. Publications include newsletters, catalogs, journals, abstracts, and many other materials. APA also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: Psychology, Advocacy, Behavioral sciences, Conferences, Consumer education, Information sources, Mental health, Mental health services, Professional societies, Psychologists, Publications, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Training

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

American SIDS Institute (ASI)

Annotation: The American SIDS Institute (ASI) is a national nonprofit health care organization dedicated to the prevention of sudden infant death and the promotion of infant health. ASI's mission is to: conduct research related to the cause of sudden infant death and its prevention; provide clinical services to assist pediatricians in managing high risk infants; provide education about prevention methods aimed at the public and medical community; and offer family support services including crises phone counseling, grief literature, and referrals.

Keywords: Consumer education, Family support, Infant health, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Professional education, Research, SIDS

AUA Foundation (AAU Foundation)

Annotation: The AUA Foundation is a partnership of physicians, researchers, health-care professionals, patients, caregivers, families and the public established to support and promote research, patient/public education and advocacy. Originally established in 1987 as the American Foundation for Urologic Disease (AFUD), the organization entered a new era of service in 2005 when it consolidated its programs with the American Urological Association . Information for researchers, health professionals, and patients is available via the Web site.

Keywords: , Foundations, Health education, Sexual health, Urologic diseases, Advocacy, Consumer education, Fundraising, Infertility, Kidney diseases, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Research

Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV)

Annotation: The Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence (CPHV), established in 1983, is a nonprofit education and research organization that works to educate the public about the scope of handgun violence in the United States and the risks and responsibilities of handgun ownership. The center developed the nation's first K–12 curriculum on gun violence prevention, now used in several major school systems. CPHV publishes a newsletter and provides publications and reference information for consumers; some materials are available in Spanish. The center also sponsors conferences and training seminars. The center does not respond to individual inquiries.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Consumer education, Curricula, Firearms, Handguns, School health education, Violence prevention, Weapons

Bright Futures for Families

California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program

Annotation: The California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program is dedicated to Sudden Infant Death support, awareness, and risk reduction. Information is provided on grief and bereavement, SIDS facts, and infant care practices for reducing the risk of SIDS. Information is available for SIDS professionals, SIDS Coordinators, and families. Numerous materials are available in Spanish, and occasionally in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Tagalog, and VIetnamese. The program is under the direction of the California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Division.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Consumer education materials, Family support, Infant death, Infant mortality, Parent support, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA)

Annotation: The Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA) was founded in 1918 as a voluntary organization in Canada. Each year, it provides direct service to more than 100,000 Canadians through the combined efforts of more than 10,000 volunteers and staff across Canada in over 135 communities. As a nation-wide, voluntary organization, the Canadian Mental Health Association promotes the mental health of all and supports the resilience and recovery of people experiencing mental illness. The CMHA accomplishes this mission through advocacy, education, research and service.

Keywords: Advocacy, Canada, Consumer education, Mental health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.