Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Children’s Digital Media Center (CDMC) is a five-university consortium of scholars, researchers, educators, policy-makers, and industry professionals whose goal is to shed light on how entertainment media impact the development of youth and to disseminate that information to policy makers and businesses to create a quality media environment. Funded by the National Science Foundation, CDMC is working to gain a greater understanding of how interactive digital media experiences affect children’s long-term social adjustment, academic achievement, and personal identity. A variety of related publications, including technical reports and presentation papers, can be downloaded from the Web site.

Keywords: Interactive media, Academic achievement, Adolescent development, Adolescent psychology, Child development, Child psychology, Consortia, Mass media, Research, Self concept, Social adjustment

Annotation: The Congenital Heart Public Health Consortium (CHPHC) is a group of organizations uniting resources and efforts in public health activities to prevent the occurrence of congenital heart disease (CHD) and to enhance and prolong the lives of those with CHD through surveillance, population-based research, education, health promotion, advocacy, and policy development. The website provides information about the consortium's history, founding organizations, logic model, structure, committees, membership, and annual meeting. Additional contents include news, a calendar of events, a fact sheet, and information on CHD prevention, screening, and research. Information is available for clients, families, and health professionals.

Keywords: Advocacy, Congenital heart defects, Consortia, Health promotion, Policy development, Population surveillance, Prevention, Public health, Research, Screening

Annotation: The Early Care and Education Consortium (ECEC) is a non-profit alliance of national, regional, and independent providers of child care and early learning programs for young children. The consortium was formed in 1999 to create a provider voice to shape public policy in support of high-quality care and education for children and families. ECEC works to promote early care and education as a whole, and targets four specific state and federal policy areas: PreK and early learning initiatives, accessible child care subsidies, the early childhood educator work force, and quality rating and improvement systems. ECEC is engaged in the states and on the federal level in supporting strategies and advocating legislation that promotes the development and funding of high-quality early care and education.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child care, Consortia, Early childhood education, Legislation

Annotation: The Health Sciences Consortium (HSC) is an international nonprofit educational publishing cooperative that enables health science institutions to develop and share quality instructional materials. The consortium works to increase the variety and quantity of instructional materials available to health science institutions and to offer these materials at a reduced cost to its members. More than 700 titles are offered in a variety of media formats, including videotapes, CD-Rom and DVD. A health sciences discipline catalog, and a newsletter are available.

Keywords: Health education, Audiovisual materials, Consortia, Educational materials

Annotation: The Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative (MSGRC) -- formerly the Mountain States Genetic Network -- is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetic services in Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, Wyoming, and Nevada. Members include representatives of state health departments, university medical schools, genetic services laboratories, hospitals, private medical practices, and various consumer organizations. The group is a regional network that provides a forum for problem sharing and solving, provides referrals, promotes efficient use of resources, and facilitates improvement of the quality and quantity of genetic services offered in the Mountain States region. The network maintains an online events calendar and provides links to genetics centers and resources.

Keywords: Genetics, Arizona, Colorado, Consortia, Data collection, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Information services, Montana, New Mexico, Problem solving, Regional genetics networks, Utah, Wyoming

Annotation: The New England Genetics Collaborative (NEGC) works to promote and improve the health and social well-being of those with inherited conditions through collaborations among public health professionals, private health professionals, educators, consumers and advocates in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut. The primary goal of the NEGC is to assure that individuals with genetic disorders and their families have access to quality care and appropriate genetic expertise and information in the context of a medical home that provides accessible, family-centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate, and culturally effective care. NEGC provides online educational materials, a regional resource directory, and links to other genetics centers. The NEGC is a partnership between the Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, the New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice, and the University of New Hampshire Institute on Disability. The collaborative is supported by a cooperative agreement with the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Genetic Services Branch.

Keywords: Genetics, Consortia, Genetic services, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut., Federal programs, Public health , Newborn infants, Neonatal screening, Genetic counseling, Regional genetics networks

Annotation: The Public Health Data Standards Consortium is a non-profit membership-based organization of federal, state and local health agencies; national and local professional associations; academia, public and private sector organizations; international members, and individuals. The consortium's goal is to empower the agents of health and healthcare with public health information standards to improve individual and community health. The Consortium provides an organized common voice from public health in the national healthcare standardization efforts. It serves as a mechanism for ongoing representation of public health interests in the implementation of HIPAA and for other data standards setting processes.

Keywords: Consortia, Health statistics, Public health

Annotation: The Southeastern Regional Genetics Group (SERGG) is a network of providers of clinical genetic services, public health departments, consumers, and related laboratory services working together with affected individuals and their families. SERGG collects and disseminates information about genetic services, newborn screening programs, and other public health services related to genetics in the region, and supports research to promote better genetic services. The Group works to enhance the quality of genetic services in the Southeastern Region which includes the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands and to provide a forum for exchange of information among professionals who provide genetic services and the consumers of these services in the southeastern region of the United States.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Alabama, Consortia, Data collection, Florida, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Georgia, Information services, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Problem solving, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands