Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alliance of Information and Referral Systems (AIRS) is a professional association of community information and referral providers. AIRS works to enhance the capacity of I&R providers to better serve their communities. The organization develops service standards, sponsors training conferences, produces publications (including a newsletter and a journal), and maintains an I&R clearinghouse.

Keywords: Information systems, Clearinghouses, Community based services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Standards

Annotation: The American Dental Association's Give Kids a Smile Children's Dental Access Program (GKAS) is a professional and industry alliance dedicated to the elimination of cavities in U.S. five year olds by 2020 by nurturing and enhancing community-based children's oral health and wellness programs that are expandable, sustainable, and innovative. Each year on the first Friday in February, dental teams provide free oral health care services to children from families with low incomes across the country. The GKAS website provides a planning toolbox for local programs, resources and reports, information about sponsors and products, and frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental care, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health

Annotation: The Association for Community Health Improvement (ACHI) convenes and supports leaders from the health care, public health, community, and philanthropic sectors to help achieve shared community health goals. The association works to strengthen community health through education, peer networking, and the dissemination of practical tools such as searchable databases, audio conferences, and free downloadable community health materials. ACHI hosts an annual conference, publishes a newsletter, and posts news and updates on its website.

Keywords: Community based services, Collaboration, Electronic publications, Networking

Annotation: Cayaba Care is a community-based maternity program that provides wrap-around support throughout pregnancy and postpartum to improve maternal health outcomes. The program offers personalized maternal healthcare support through Maternity Navigators who are community health workers and certified doulas working closely with members both in-home and virtually. Founded in 2020 by obstetricans, mothers, and maternity care experts to address maternal health inequities in Black and Brown communities in Philadelphia, Cayaba Care offers prenatal support, mental and emotional support, labor and birth support, breastfeeding resources, postpartum care coordination, and nutritional counseling. The program currently serves select counties in Philadelphia, Delaware, and New Jersey.

Keywords: Community based services, Community health workers, Delaware, Doulas, Local initiatives, Maternal health, New Jersey , Pennsylvania, Perinatal care

Annotation: The UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities works to improve society's ability to provide children with the best opportunities for health and well-being, and the chance to assume productive roles within families and communities. Uniting a broad range of specialists, including health care providers, educators, economists, and public policy makers together with families, community groups, providers, and businesses, the center aims to increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and distribution of health and social services; assist communities in transforming themselves into healthier environments for their children; and improve the health of children, families, and communities by developing innovative and responsive service programs; The center is a multi-disciplinary program of the UCLA School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, and the UCLA School of Public Health, with faculty participation from the School of Public Policy and Social Research, School of Law, and the College of Letters and Sciences. The center provides technical assistance, training, publications, and other resources.

Keywords: , Public private partnerships, Child health, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Program improvement, School readiness, Service delivery, University affiliated centers

Annotation: Communities Can is a network of communities committed to ensuring comprehensive systems of services and support for children, especially children with special health care needs, and their families. Communities Can is designed to network communities to share information, skills and experiences in systems building; provide materials and resources on systems development; provide communities with a voice in national policy discussions; and recognize the achievements of communities in building successful systems for children and families. The network is funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, and the Center for Mental Health Services, and coordinated by Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Family centered services

Annotation: The Community Preventive Services Task Force was established in 1996 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to identify population health interventions that are scientifically proven to save lives, increase lifespans, and improve quality of life. The task force is an independent, nonfederal, unpaid panel of public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and policies to improve health. The task force produces recommendations (and identifies evidence gaps) to help inform the decision making of federal, state, and local health departments, other government agencies, communities, health professionals, employers, schools, and research organizations.

Keywords: Communities, Community health, Decision making, Health policy, Life course, Model programs, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program improvement, Research

Annotation: Community Voices Health Care for the Underserved works to increase enrollment of eligible people into public programs and to improve health care access and quality for the underserved by providing models for change and improvement. "Learning laboratories" are based in Albuquerque, NM; Baltimore, MD; Denver, CO; Lansing, MI; Miami, FL; New York, NY; Oakland, CA; and Pinehurst, NC. Areas of focus include community outreach using frontline workers, improving access to care for men, case/care management to link people with providers and services, improving adult access to oral health, and mental health treatment.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Health care delivery, Health services delivery

Annotation: The Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1996 to foster health-promoting partnerships between communities and educational institutions. It identifies students, institutional leaders, and community leaders as equal constituencies and serves as a bridge between government and foundation-sponsored initiatives in community-oriented health professions education. CCPH has an online newsletter, Partnership Matters; a mentor network that provides training and technical assistance; other training opportunities; and awards for exemplary partnerships.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health occupations, Health personnel, Model programs, Public private partnerships, Training, Universities

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Annotation: The Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (ECCS CoIIN) is a five-year initiative that supports 12 states and their communities in an effort to enhance early childhood systems and demonstrate improved outcomes in population-based children’s developmental health and family well-being indicators.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Community programs, Early childhood development, Model programs, Provider networks, Service delivery systems, Young children

Annotation: Educational Opportunities for Children & Families (EOCF) has been serving the southwest community of Washington state since 1967, when it was formed as a Community Action Agency to fight the War on Poverty. EOCF provides services to more than 2,000 low-income children and families in four southwest Washington counties through programs as Head Start, Early Head Start and Early Childhood Education and Assistance Program (ECEAP). EOCF offers a wide range of critical services to low-income children and families, including early childhood education; comprehensive health, mental health, nutrition, and disabilities; physical and developmental assessments; and support to families through case management, training and parent education. Translators are available for Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Community health services, Child health services, Early childhood development, Family support services, Head Start, Low income groups, Screening, Washington

Annotation: The FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (CBCAP) Programs provides training and technical assistance to federally funded CBCAP Programs. The Center assists in building networks, collecting data, promoting stakeholder involvement, and providing access to resources. The Web site provides access to online learning tools, print materials, a listserv, weblinks, and information on upcoming meetings and events. The Center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Community programs, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Parent support services, Prevention programs, State programs

Keywords: Community health services, Infant care, Infant nutrition, Information sources, Low birthweight infants, Premature infants, Program descriptions

Annotation: Health Outreach Partners (HOP) is a national non-profit health organization providing training, consultation, and information services to community-based organizations striving to improve the quality of life of hard-to-reach populations. HOP focuses on six priority areas that aim to increase access to care, quality of health services, and organizational sustainability: health outreach and enabling services, program planning and development, needs assessment and evaluation data, health education and promotion, community collaboration and coalition building, and cultural competency. Offices are also located in Seattle, WA and Washington, DC.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity Advocacy, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program development, Program planning

Annotation: HealthConnect One strives to advance equitable, community-based, peer-to-peer support for pregnancy, birth, breastfeeding, and early parenting in communities that have been historically marginalized and inadequately served. The organization trains community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors; mobilizes diverse stakeholders to develop policies and programs that improve MCH; assists organizations in developing programs that use peer support; and incorporates trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

Annotation: This group promotes the evidence-based self-management and physical activity programs that are available in Michigan communities and to support the partnerships that are active in their implementation. The programs featured have met the evidence-based criteria of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Arthritis Program and Administration on Aging. Information about partnerships and programs, including class and workshop schedules, leader training, promotional materials, and more are available from their website.

Keywords: Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Local initiatives, Michigan, State initiatives

Annotation: The Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care (formerly the Institute for Family-Centered Care) provides leadership in advancing the understanding and practice of patient- and family-centered care. By promoting collaborative, empowering relationships among providers, patients, and families, the Institute facilitates patient- and family-centered change in all settings where individuals and families receive care and support. The Institute serves as a central resource for policy makers, administrators, program planners, direct service providers, educators, design professionals, and family members. Institute staff promote change and enhance the quality of health and other human services through the development of print and audiovisual resources, information dissemination, policy and research initiatives, training, and technical assistance. Services to consumers also include referrals. Publications include a newsletter. The Institute sponsors training seminars and international conferences.

Keywords: Community-based services, Family centered services, Parent education

Annotation: The KinderSmile Foundation is a community-based affiliate of the National Children's Oral Health Foundation that advocates for optimal oral health for children and families in underserved communities in New Jersey. The foundation's community-based services include oral health education for children, parents, and caregivers; oral examinations and referrals for pregnant women and new mothers; and opportunities for community service learning for high school and college students. The foundation also facilitates an annual oral health fair.

Keywords: Community based services, Dental care, Foundations, Health education, New Jersey, Oral health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives