Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (35 total).

American Dental Association, Give Kids a Smile! (GKAS)

Annotation: The American Dental Association's Give Kids a Smile Children's Dental Access Program (GKAS) is a professional and industry alliance dedicated to the elimination of cavities in U.S. five year olds by 2020 by nurturing and enhancing community-based children's oral health and wellness programs that are expandable, sustainable, and innovative. Each year on the first Friday in February, dental teams provide free oral health care services to children from families with low incomes across the country. The GKAS website provides a planning toolbox for local programs, resources and reports, information about sponsors and products, and frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental care, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health

Communities Can

Annotation: Communities Can is a network of communities committed to ensuring comprehensive systems of services and support for children, especially children with special health care needs, and their families. Communities Can is designed to network communities to share information, skills and experiences in systems building; provide materials and resources on systems development; provide communities with a voice in national policy discussions; and recognize the achievements of communities in building successful systems for children and families. The network is funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, and the Center for Mental Health Services, and coordinated by Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Family centered services

Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF)

Annotation: The Community Preventive Services Task Force was established in 1996 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to identify population health interventions that are scientifically proven to save lives, increase lifespans, and improve quality of life. The task force is an independent, nonfederal, unpaid panel of public health and prevention experts that provides evidence-based findings and recommendations about community preventive services, programs, and policies to improve health. The task force produces recommendations (and identifies evidence gaps) to help inform the decision making of federal, state, and local health departments, other government agencies, communities, health professionals, employers, schools, and research organizations.

Keywords: Communities, Community health, Decision making, Health policy, Life course, Model programs, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program improvement, Research

Community Voices, Health Care for the Underserved

Annotation: Community Voices Health Care for the Underserved works to increase enrollment of eligible people into public programs and to improve health care access and quality for the underserved by providing models for change and improvement. "Learning laboratories" are based in Albuquerque, NM; Baltimore, MD; Denver, CO; Lansing, MI; Miami, FL; New York, NY; Oakland, CA; and Pinehurst, NC. Areas of focus include community outreach using frontline workers, improving access to care for men, case/care management to link people with providers and services, improving adult access to oral health, and mental health treatment.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Health care delivery, Health services delivery

Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH)

Annotation: The Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1996 to foster health-promoting partnerships between communities and educational institutions. It identifies students, institutional leaders, and community leaders as equal constituencies and serves as a bridge between government and foundation-sponsored initiatives in community-oriented health professions education. CCPH has an online newsletter, Partnership Matters; a mentor network that provides training and technical assistance; other training opportunities; and awards for exemplary partnerships.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health occupations, Health personnel, Model programs, Public private partnerships, Training, Universities

DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP)

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Educational Opportunities for Children and Families

Annotation: Educational Opportunities for Children & Families (EOCF) has been serving the southwest community of Washington state since 1967, when it was formed as a Community Action Agency to fight the War on Poverty. EOCF provides services to more than 2,000 low-income children and families in four southwest Washington counties through programs as Head Start, Early Head Start and Early Childhood Education and Assistance Program (ECEAP). EOCF offers a wide range of critical services to low-income children and families, including early childhood education; comprehensive health, mental health, nutrition, and disabilities; physical and developmental assessments; and support to families through case management, training and parent education. Translators are available for Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Community health services, Child health services, Early childhood development, Family support services, Head Start, Low income groups, Screening, Washington

Gaining and Growing: Assuring Nutritional Care of Preterm Infants

Health Outreach Partners

Annotation: Health Outreach Partners (HOP) is a national non-profit health organization providing training, consultation, and information services to community-based organizations striving to improve the quality of life of hard-to-reach populations. HOP focuses on six priority areas that aim to increase access to care, quality of health services, and organizational sustainability: health outreach and enabling services, program planning and development, needs assessment and evaluation data, health education and promotion, community collaboration and coalition building, and cultural competency. Offices are also located in Seattle, WA and Washington, DC.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity Advocacy, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program development, Program planning

HealthConnect One

Annotation: HealthConnect One focuses on collaborative work with grassroots maternal and child health (MCH) and social service providers. Activities include training community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors, to improve the health of their own community; assisting organizations in developing programs that use peer support, incorporating trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy; and mobilizing diverse stakeholders to build policies and programs that improve MCH in some of the most distressed communities in the country. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

KinderSmile Foundation

Annotation: The KinderSmile Foundation is a community-based affiliate of the National Children's Oral Health Foundation that advocates for optimal oral health for children and families in underserved communities in New Jersey. The foundation's community-based services include oral health education for children, parents, and caregivers; oral examinations and referrals for pregnant women and new mothers; and opportunities for community service learning for high school and college students. The foundation also facilitates an annual oral health fair.

Keywords: Community based services, Dental care, Foundations, Health education, New Jersey, Oral health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives

Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC)

Annotation: The Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC) assists community development corporations (CDC's) in their efforts to transform distressed neighborhoods into healthy communities. LISC supports CDC's in the development of affordable housing, vital commercial facilities, and job-creating industrial projects. It works on three levels: providing direct assistance to individual CDC's; improving local community development support systems; and strengthening national support for community development.

Keywords: Community development, Housing, Public health programs, Public health services

Mississippi State Department of Health, Division of Dental Services

Annotation: The Mississippi State Department of Health's Division of Dental Services was established to ensure optimal oral health for every citizen of Mississippi. The Division of Dental Services is responsible for the prevention and control of oral diseases through assessment, policy and program development, and assurance. Programs address children, adults, families, and communities through public health clinics, schools, and approved dental health providers.

Keywords: Community coordination, Disease prevention, Health services, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Program development, State agencies

Mountain States Group (MSG)

Annotation: Established in 1974, Mountain States Group is a private nonprofit organization that works to enhance the quality and availability of human services through creative program development, with a focus on underserved rural areas. The group conducts ongoing projects in health, education, and social services. Its activities promote the goal of community responsibility for the planning, implementation, and maintenance of human services programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. MSG sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter and program materials.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community-based health services, Health education, Human services, Information services, Rural population, Social services

National Association of Hispanic Nurses (NAHN)

Annotation: The National Association of Hispanic Nurses (NAHN) works to improve the health and nursing care of Hispanic consumers and toward providing equal access to educational, professional, and economic opportunities for Hispanic nurses. The association provides a forum for nurses to explore, research, and evaluate the health care needs of the Hispanic community; identifies barriers to the delivery of health services to Hispanic consumers; and recommends appropriate solutions to local, state, and federal agencies. NAHN also disseminates research findings; develops, tests and promotes culturally sensitive models of intervention; collaborates with (and provides assistance to) other Hispanic health care professionals; and works toward recruitment and retention of Hispanic nurses. The association offers scholarships and wards, sponsors an annual conference, and publishes a journal and a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Community health services, Minority groups, Nurses

National Black Nurses Association (NBNA)

Annotation: The National Black Nurses Association (NBNA) is a professional support and advocacy group for the black community and its need for equitable health care access and quality. The association recruits and assists blacks interested in pursuing nursing careers and offers scholarships to student nurses. Members include registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, licensed vocational nurses, and student nurses. Publications include a newsletter and journal. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Advocacy, Support groups, Blacks, Community health services, Minority groups, Nurses, Women's health

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)

Annotation: The National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is a component of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Divisions of the center that are relevant to maternal and child health include the Division of Adolescent and School Health, Division of Nutrition and Physical Activity, Division of Diabetes Translation, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, Division of Reproductive Health, Division of Oral Health, and Office on Smoking and Health.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community health services, Community programs, Data, Health promotion, Medical research, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policies, Nutrition programs, Nutrition research, Oral health, Outreach, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public health nutrition, School health, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women's health

National Center for Ease of Use of Community-Based Services

Annotation: The National Center for Ease of Use of Community-Based Services (Center for Community-Based Services) advances policy and practice solutions that improve the ease of use of community-based services for families with a child with special health care needs (SHCN). It is one of six national centers addressing the core outcome measures for success in serving children and youth with SCHN and is an Opening Doors Initiative. The center's website provides information on partners, the ease of use framework, and the community of practice.

Keywords: Access to health care, Best Practices, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Health policy, National health care reform

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness (NCECHW)

Annotation: The National Center on Health (NCECHW) provides resources, training, and technical assistance to the child care and Head Start communities on health-related topics (e.g., health literacy, physical health, mental health, nutrition, oral health, and injury and tobacco prevention). NCECHW is funded by the Administration for Children and Families’ Office of Head Start and Office of Child Care in partnership with the Health Resource and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health services, Early Head Start, Early childhood education, Families, Head Start, Mental health, Model programs, Pregnant women, Resource centers, Young children

National Council for Behavioral Health

Annotation: The National Council for Behavioral Health (Naitonal Council) members comprise community organizations working to ensure that all Americans have access to comprehensive, high-quality mental health and addictions care in their communities. The National Council pioneered Mental Health First Aid in the United States, a program that trains individuals to connect children, adolescents, and adults to care. The website contains a policy action center, as well as information on consulting services, best practices, topical resources, and events and training.

Keywords: Community based services, Mental health, Model programs, Substance use behavior, Training

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.