Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Arizona Alliance for Community Health Centers (AACHC) is the Primary Care Association (PCA) for the State of Arizona. The Alliance advances the expansion of Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) and advocates for the health care interests of people who are medically underserved and uninsured.

Keywords: Arizona, Community health centers, Primary care

Annotation: The UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities works to improve society's ability to provide children with the best opportunities for health and well-being, and the chance to assume productive roles within families and communities. Uniting a broad range of specialists, including health care providers, educators, economists, and public policy makers together with families, community groups, providers, and businesses, the center aims to increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and distribution of health and social services; assist communities in transforming themselves into healthier environments for their children; and improve the health of children, families, and communities by developing innovative and responsive service programs; The center is a multi-disciplinary program of the UCLA School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, and the UCLA School of Public Health, with faculty participation from the School of Public Policy and Social Research, School of Law, and the College of Letters and Sciences. The center provides technical assistance, training, publications, and other resources.

Keywords: , Public private partnerships, Child health, Collaboration, Community programs, Education, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Program improvement, School readiness, Service delivery, University affiliated centers

Annotation: The Colorado Community Health Network (CCHN) is the membership association representing Colorado's community health centers. Founded in 1982 as a non-profit organization, CCHN is recognized as the primary care association for the state of Colorado. Together with more than 100 community, migrant, homeless, and school-based health center sites, CCHN works to promote and expand access to primary health care throughout Colorado.

Keywords: Colorado, Community health centers, Primary care, State organizations

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children', State programs, s health insurance program

Annotation: The Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN) engages in research, develops appropriate resources, advocates for migrants and clinicians, engages outside partners, and runs programs that support clinical care on the frontline of migrant health. The website provides resources on a variety of topics including children's health, family violence, immunizations, oral health, and women's health. A resource database includes downloadable resources as well as links on a wide variety of primary care issues, including links to other organizations, patient education tools, clinical guidelines, MCN program materials, multilingual resources, research guidelines, a toolbox of best practices, and more.

Keywords: Community health centers, Migrants, Minority groups

Annotation: The National Association of Community Health Centers (NACHC) addresses the lack of access to basic health care by providing a unified voice and common source for research, information, training, and advocacy for a network of health centers and state and regional primary care organizations. The website contains information on policy and clinical issues, research and data, conferences, technical assistance, publications and resources, and careers. The association produces a magazine on news and issues surrounding health care delivery to the medically underserved and the community-based health professionals who serve them. NACHC also produces topical newsletters on developments in the legislative and policy arenas.

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health centers, Primary care, Rural health, Underserved communities

Annotation: The National Center for Children Exposed to Violence (NCCEV), founded in 1999, works to increase public and professional awareness of the effects of violence on children and to build the capacity of individuals and communities to reduce the impact of violence. NCCEV offers a Web based resource center which provides access to an on-line library, statistics, publications, and presentations. Training, technical assistance, and consultation are also provided to community programs such as Safe Start, a federally funded initiative which addresses the needs of children ages 0-6 who have been exposed to violence and the Child Development-Community Policing Program (CD-CP), a community collaboration involving law enforcement and mental health agencies.

Keywords: Violence prevention, Child health, Community programs, Interagency cooperation, Mental health, University affiliated centers

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) serves as a national resource for the collection and dissemination of evidence-based and best-practice information to improve services for youth involved with the juvenile justice system who have mental health problems. The center conduct research and evaluation to fill gaps in the existing knowledge base and fosters systems and policy changes at the national, state and local levels. A key aspect of the center's mission is to provide practical assistance to all persons interested in mental health and juvenile justice issues. Resources include a compendium of effective and innovative programs and policies; a list of experts and technical assistance resources; and publications that synthesize existing knowledge.

Keywords: Juvenile delinquency, Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Community programs, Evidence based medicine, Information dissemination, Juvenile justice, Model programs, Online databases, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, Resource centers

Annotation: The National Center on Health (NCECHW) provides resources, training, and technical assistance to the child care and Head Start communities on health-related topics (e.g., health literacy, physical health, mental health, nutrition, oral health, and injury and tobacco prevention). NCECHW is funded by the Administration for Children and Families’ Office of Head Start and Office of Child Care in partnership with the Health Resource and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health services, Early Head Start, Early childhood education, Families, Head Start, Mental health, Model programs, Pregnant women, Resource centers, Young children

Annotation: The National Program on Women and Aging (formerly the National Center on Women and Aging) works to focus national attention on the special concerns of women as they age; develop solutions and strategies for dealing with those concerns; and reaches out to women and organizations across the country in efforts to promote the changes necessary to improve the lives of older women. The program conducts research, analyzes policy, supports community education programs, and provides online access to publications for and about women, including a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Aging, Education, Women, . Women', Community outreach, Health promotion, Public policy, Publications , Research, Resource centers, Retirement, s health

Annotation: The Ohio Association of Community Health Centers (OACHC) is a not-for-profit professional trade association representing Ohio's Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs, or community health centers). OACHC's mission is to ensure access to high-quality affordable health care for all Ohioans through the growth and development of Ohio's Community Health Centers. Selected Web site contents include a buyer's guide, career center, clinical support, events and meetings, finance operations resources, funding opportunities, Medicaid managed care, news, and public policy.

Keywords: Access to health care, Associations, Community health centers, Ohio, State organizations

Annotation: The Oral Health Workforce Research Center (OHWRC) provides research on the oral health work force to assist in future health work force planning. Projects include professional practice index for dental hygienists, Medicaid dental claims data comparison, dental assistant work force, federally-qualified health center case studies, long-term care health service delivery, and model case studies. Resources include reports and oral health data sources.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Case studies, Community health centers, Comparative analysis, Data analysis, Dental care, Health care delivery, Model programs, Oral health, Research methodology, Work force

Annotation: Quality Community Health Care (QCHC) provides primary preventive, chronic, and episodic care services to residents in Philadelphia, many of whom do not have the ability to pay for quality health services. QCHC offers medical, dental, nutrition, behavioral health, case management, and integrated services to all clients.

Keywords: Community health centers, Health services delivery, Local agencies, Low income groups, Pennsylvania, Quality assurance

Annotation: Formed in 2005, the RCHN Community Health Foundation (RCHN CHF) is a not-for-profit operating foundation whose mission is to support and benefit the work of community health centers (CHCs) nationally. The Foundation's work focuses on three areas of critical importance to Federally Qualified Health Centers and medically underserved communities: access, affordable prescription drugs, and health information technology.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Health services delivery, Underserved communities

Annotation: The Resource Center for Community Health Assessments and Community Health Improvement Plans (CHA/CHIP Resource Center) supports local health departments and their partners in completing community health improvement processes, including community health assessments and community health improvement plans, in efforts to improve the health of local communities. The center provides resources and customizable tools to health departments in a central and publicly accessible location. Available materials include items developed by health department demonstration sites to complete community health assessments and community health improvement plans for accreditation preparation.

Keywords: Assessment, Community health services, Program improvement, Resource centers

Annotation: The Resource Center for Evidence-Based Prevention and Cross-Sector Approaches offers local health departments guidance for integrating the National Prevention Strategy, Healthy People 2020, The Community Guide, the National Association of County and City Health Officials' Health in All Policies Toolbox, and Community Health Improvement Planning into a uniform approach for achieving health and wellness in the jurisdictions they serve. Topics include evidence-based strategies; cross-sector collaboration; and planning, assessment, and evaluation. The site links to NACCHO's technical assistance site for each program.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning

Annotation: The Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs initiative uses a consortium-based approach to provide technical assistance, expert consultation, training, and resources to assist state and jurisdictions develop evidence based-/informed programs to support women, children, families, and communities. Evidence topics include (1) well-woman visit; (2) low-risk cesarean; (3) perinatal regionalization; (4) breastfeeding; (5) safe sleep; (6) developmental screening; (7) child safety/injury; (8) physical activity; (9) bullying; (10) adolescent well-visit; (11) medical home; (12) transition; (13) oral health; (14) smoking; (15) insurance coverage.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Evidence based health care, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Model programs, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, State government

Annotation: Tooth Mobile is a non-profit organization that works to prevent oral disease; increase access to affordable, comprehensive oral health care; and increase awareness of oral health issues by providing mobile oral health care and preventive oral hygiene education in schools and in the community. Tooth Mobile collaborates with California-based oral health coalitions; community health centers and schools; and Denti-Cal, Healthy Families, California Migrant Education, and other statewide programs for families with low incomes. The organization provides history, application, and consent forms in English, Korean, and Spanish.

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Collaboration, Community based services, Community health centers, Dental care, Disease prevention, Health education, Low income groups, Medicaid, Migrants, Mobile health units, Non English language materials, Oral health, Preventive health services, State initiatives

Annotation: The University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Education, Research, and Service (UCEDD) are a network of interdisciplinary, university-based centers that work to advance policy and practice for and with individuals with developmental and other disabilities, their families, and communities. Sixty one centers located in every state and territory facilitate the flow of disability-related information between communities and universities. The centers work with individuals with disabilities, members of their families, state and local government agencies, and community providers in projects that provide training, technical assistance, service, research, and information sharing, with a focus on building the capacity of communities to sustain all their citizens.

Keywords: Developmental disability programs, Community role, Education, Information networks, Interdisciplinary approach, Research, Special health care needs, Special health care services, University affiliated centers