Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (23 total).

Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation and Leadership Training

Annotation: The Center for Latino Community Health, Evaluation, and Leadership Training is a partnership between the National Council of La Raza and California State University, Long Beach to improve the health of the Latino community on local, regional, and national levels. The center develops health programs for underserved Latino communities, provides technical assistance to organizations already serving in this capacity, and furnishes Latino communities with the research and education needed to facilitate the development of effective health programs and policies.

Keywords: Community programs, Health policy, Hispanic Americans, Leadership training, National initiatives, Program development, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Training

Charles Stewart Mott Foundation

Annotation: The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation works to improve the quality of life for individuals and their communities by funding demonstration programs that offer unique approaches to community problems. Current activities focus on four major program areas: the environment, civil society, the local community (in the Flint, Michigan area), and pathways out of poverty. The foundation publishes an annual report and other publications periodically. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications.

Keywords: Funding, Poverty, Environment, Foundations, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention programs, Community development, Social problems

Community Development Society (CDS)

Annotation: The Community Development Society (CDS) is a professional association that promotes a global perspective on community development. Society members include academic institutions, citizen groups, finance and health care professionals, local and regional governments, public agencies, and utilities. Members share information on the community development profession and research resources.

Keywords: Community development

CYFERNet: Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP)

Annotation: The DC Health Resources Partnership (DCHRP) seeks to expand the community health care capacity for individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities in Washington, DC. Funded by the D.C. Mental Retardatrion and Developmental Disabilities Administration, the partnership is a collaboration between a number of community partners, including Georgetown University's Department of Family Medicine, DC Area Health Education Center, Inc., George Washington University Medical Center, D.C. Primary Care Association, Project Action, DC State Policy Council on Family Supports, the Arc of DC, the Quality Trust for Individuals with Disabilities, and the DC Coalition of Service Providers. The partnership, which is administered through GU's Center for Child and Human Development, convenes expert panels (these groups meet four times annually), provides an online database of Washington-area providers, and posts information and publications for consumers and professionals on its Web site.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Regional programs, Collaboration, Community programs, Health care systems, Local government, Online databases, Special health care services

Developing Families Center (DFC)

Annotation: The Developing Families Center (DFC) is a collaboration between three separate nonprofit organizations: the Family Health & Birth Center, The Healthy Babies Project, and the United Planning Organization Early Childhood Development Center to provide one stop, comprehensive health, child development and social services and supports to childbearing and childrearing families in Wards 5 and 6 in Washington, DC.

Keywords: Community programs, District of Columbia, Families, Family planning: Child development, Pregnancy

Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (ECC CoIIN)

Annotation: The Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (ECCS CoIIN) is a five-year initiative that supports 12 states and their communities in an effort to enhance early childhood systems and demonstrate improved outcomes in population-based children’s developmental health and family well-being indicators.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Community programs, Early childhood development, Model programs, Provider networks, Service delivery systems, Young children

Educational Opportunities for Children and Families

Annotation: Educational Opportunities for Children & Families (EOCF) has been serving the southwest community of Washington state since 1967, when it was formed as a Community Action Agency to fight the War on Poverty. EOCF provides services to more than 2,000 low-income children and families in four southwest Washington counties through programs as Head Start, Early Head Start and Early Childhood Education and Assistance Program (ECEAP). EOCF offers a wide range of critical services to low-income children and families, including early childhood education; comprehensive health, mental health, nutrition, and disabilities; physical and developmental assessments; and support to families through case management, training and parent education. Translators are available for Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Community health services, Child health services, Early childhood development, Family support services, Head Start, Low income groups, Screening, Washington

FHI 360 ( )

Annotation: FHI 360 is a global development organization committed to solving social problems in the United States and around the world through education, social marketing, research, training, policy analysis, and innovative program design and management. FHI 360's programs focus primarily on health, education, youth development, and the environment. It acquired the programs, expertise, and assets of the Academy for Educational Development in 2011.

Keywords: Child development, Developing countries, International health, Adolescent health, Child health, Community development , Education, Educational change, Educational materials, Environment, International health, Policy analysis, Research, Social problems, Teaching, Training Program development, Youth, program management

Health Outreach Partners

Annotation: Health Outreach Partners (HOP) is a national non-profit health organization providing training, consultation, and information services to community-based organizations striving to improve the quality of life of hard-to-reach populations. HOP focuses on six priority areas that aim to increase access to care, quality of health services, and organizational sustainability: health outreach and enabling services, program planning and development, needs assessment and evaluation data, health education and promotion, community collaboration and coalition building, and cultural competency. Offices are also located in Seattle, WA and Washington, DC.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity Advocacy, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program development, Program planning

Healthy Schools Network

Annotation: Healthy Schools Network is a leading national voice for children's environmental health at school. The network's policy campaigns address three core facets: 1) child-safe standards for school design, construction, and siting; 2) child-safe policies for housekeeping and purchasing; and 3) environmental public health services for children. The network's resources include fact sheets, guides, peer-reviewed reports, and state-by-state data and policy profiles. The network convenes the Coalition for Healthier Schools, which provides a platform and forum for environmental health through regular conference calls and annual meetings. The center's National Collaborative on Green Cleaning and Chemical Policy Reform in Schools has worked to strengthen certification standards for cleaning products; develop a training toolkit; and provide information and technical comments to policymakers, schools, and communities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Coalitions, Collaboration, Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Health policy, Networking, Policy development, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, School age children, School health, Schools, Students, Training

Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3)

Annotation: Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3) helps organizations, communities, and governments improve the understanding of, investment in, and action toward the vitality of people, places, and the natural environment. Services include data visualization and geographic information systems mapping, evidence and impact research, and storytelling and social media. IP3 supports Community Commons, an interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the healthy/sustainable/livable communities' movement.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health, Data, Networking, Policy development, Public private partnerships, Research, Social change, Social learning

Inter Tribal Council of Arizona

Annotation: The Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, Inc. is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation that administers over twenty federal, state, and private grants and contracts in a variety of areas including health, research, and environmental quality. ITCA staff provide technical assistance, disseminates information, and conducts trainings to assist Tribal governments in operating programs that comply with federal regulations and policies and protect the health and safety of Tribal members. The membership of ITCA consists of twenty of the federally recognized Tribes in Arizona. ITCA coordinates meetings and conferences to facilitate participation of Tribal leaders and other Tribal staff in the formulation of public policy at all levels.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Arizona, Community agencies, Health policy, Health promotion, Policy development, Public policy

Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC)

Annotation: The Local Initiatives Support Corporation (LISC) assists community development corporations (CDC's) in their efforts to transform distressed neighborhoods into healthy communities. LISC supports CDC's in the development of affordable housing, vital commercial facilities, and job-creating industrial projects. It works on three levels: providing direct assistance to individual CDC's; improving local community development support systems; and strengthening national support for community development.

Keywords: Community development, Housing, Public health programs, Public health services

Mississippi State Department of Health, Division of Dental Services

Annotation: The Mississippi State Department of Health's Division of Dental Services was established to ensure optimal oral health for every citizen of Mississippi. The Division of Dental Services is responsible for the prevention and control of oral diseases through assessment, policy and program development, and assurance. Programs address children, adults, families, and communities through public health clinics, schools, and approved dental health providers.

Keywords: Community coordination, Disease prevention, Health services, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Program development, State agencies

National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ)

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) serves as a national resource for the collection and dissemination of evidence-based and best-practice information to improve services for youth involved with the juvenile justice system who have mental health problems. The center conduct research and evaluation to fill gaps in the existing knowledge base and fosters systems and policy changes at the national, state and local levels. A key aspect of the center's mission is to provide practical assistance to all persons interested in mental health and juvenile justice issues. Resources include a compendium of effective and innovative programs and policies; a list of experts and technical assistance resources; and publications that synthesize existing knowledge.

Keywords: Juvenile delinquency, Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Community programs, Evidence based medicine, Information dissemination, Juvenile justice, Model programs, Online databases, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, Resource centers

National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA)

Annotation: The National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA) is a national membership-based organization whose mission is to improve the quality of life for Latino elderly, families, and communities through advocacy, technical assistance, demonstration projects, capacity and institution building, and the development of educational materials. NHCOA informs members of issues significant to Latino seniors, especially those related to health, housing, income, education, employment, building communities, and strengthening families. The council participates in local and national coalitions, task forces, and committees that address these issues and their impact on Latino seniors and collaborates with its local chapters and affiliates to demonstrate programs and approaches to this population.

Keywords: Advocacy, Aging, Community development, Demonstration programs, Educational materials, Geriatrics, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Minority health, Spanish language, Technical assistance, Women's health

St. John's Community Services (SJCS)

Truth Initiative

Annotation: Truth Initiative (formerly American Legacy Foundation) is a non-profit public health organization dedicated to speaking, seeking, and spreading the truth about tobacco through education, tobacco-control research, policy studies, and community activism and engagement. The initiative shares research and the work of tobacco control colleagues with summaries of peer review studies and academic analyses. Topics include tobacco products, industry and influence, who smokes, policy and intervention, and patterns of use.

Keywords: Community action, Evaluation, Initiatives, Policy development, Prevention programs, Research, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.