Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (24 total).

Alliance for Information and Referral Systems

Annotation: The Alliance of Information and Referral Systems (AIRS) is a professional association of community information and referral providers. AIRS works to enhance the capacity of I&R providers to better serve their communities. The organization develops service standards, sponsors training conferences, produces publications (including a newsletter and a journal), and maintains an I&R clearinghouse.

Keywords: Information systems, Clearinghouses, Community based services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Standards

American Dental Association, Give Kids a Smile! (GKAS)

Annotation: The American Dental Association's Give Kids a Smile Children's Dental Access Program (GKAS) is a professional and industry alliance dedicated to the elimination of cavities in U.S. five year olds by 2020 by nurturing and enhancing community-based children's oral health and wellness programs that are expandable, sustainable, and innovative. Each year on the first Friday in February, dental teams provide free oral health care services to children from families with low incomes across the country. The GKAS website provides a planning toolbox for local programs, resources and reports, information about sponsors and products, and frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental care, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health

Association for Community Health Improvement (ACHI)

Annotation: The Association for Community Health Improvement (ACHI) convenes and supports leaders from the health care, public health, community, and philanthropic sectors to help achieve shared community health goals. The association works to strengthen community health through education, peer networking, and the dissemination of practical tools such as searchable databases, audio conferences, and free downloadable community health materials. ACHI hosts an annual conference, publishes a newsletter, and posts news and updates on its website.

Keywords: Community based services, Collaboration, Electronic publications, Networking

Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH)

Annotation: The Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1996 to foster health-promoting partnerships between communities and educational institutions. It identifies students, institutional leaders, and community leaders as equal constituencies and serves as a bridge between government and foundation-sponsored initiatives in community-oriented health professions education. CCPH has an online newsletter, Partnership Matters; a mentor network that provides training and technical assistance; other training opportunities; and awards for exemplary partnerships.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health occupations, Health personnel, Model programs, Public private partnerships, Training, Universities

CYFERNet: Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Health Outreach Partners

Annotation: Health Outreach Partners (HOP) is a national non-profit health organization providing training, consultation, and information services to community-based organizations striving to improve the quality of life of hard-to-reach populations. HOP focuses on six priority areas that aim to increase access to care, quality of health services, and organizational sustainability: health outreach and enabling services, program planning and development, needs assessment and evaluation data, health education and promotion, community collaboration and coalition building, and cultural competency. Offices are also located in Seattle, WA and Washington, DC.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Cultural competency, Cultural sensitivity Advocacy, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program development, Program planning

HealthConnect One

Annotation: HealthConnect One focuses on collaborative work with grassroots maternal and child health (MCH) and social service providers. Activities include training community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors, to improve the health of their own community; assisting organizations in developing programs that use peer support, incorporating trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy; and mobilizing diverse stakeholders to build policies and programs that improve MCH in some of the most distressed communities in the country. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

Healthy Programs in Michigan

Annotation: This group promotes the evidence-based self-management and physical activity programs that are available in Michigan communities and to support the partnerships that are active in their implementation. The programs featured have met the evidence-based criteria of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Arthritis Program and Administration on Aging. Information about partnerships and programs, including class and workshop schedules, leader training, promotional materials, and more are available from their website.

Keywords: Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Local initiatives, Michigan, State initiatives

Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care (IFCC)

Annotation: The Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care (formerly the Institute for Family-Centered Care) provides leadership in advancing the understanding and practice of patient- and family-centered care. By promoting collaborative, empowering relationships among providers, patients, and families, the Institute facilitates patient- and family-centered change in all settings where individuals and families receive care and support. The Institute serves as a central resource for policy makers, administrators, program planners, direct service providers, educators, design professionals, and family members. Institute staff promote change and enhance the quality of health and other human services through the development of print and audiovisual resources, information dissemination, policy and research initiatives, training, and technical assistance. Services to consumers also include referrals. Publications include a newsletter. The Institute sponsors training seminars and international conferences.

Keywords: Community-based services, Family centered services, Parent education

KinderSmile Foundation

Annotation: The KinderSmile Foundation is a community-based affiliate of the National Children's Oral Health Foundation that advocates for optimal oral health for children and families in underserved communities in New Jersey. The foundation's community-based services include oral health education for children, parents, and caregivers; oral examinations and referrals for pregnant women and new mothers; and opportunities for community service learning for high school and college students. The foundation also facilitates an annual oral health fair.

Keywords: Community based services, Dental care, Foundations, Health education, New Jersey, Oral health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives

Mountain States Group (MSG)

Annotation: Established in 1974, Mountain States Group is a private nonprofit organization that works to enhance the quality and availability of human services through creative program development, with a focus on underserved rural areas. The group conducts ongoing projects in health, education, and social services. Its activities promote the goal of community responsibility for the planning, implementation, and maintenance of human services programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. MSG sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter and program materials.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community-based health services, Health education, Human services, Information services, Rural population, Social services

National Alliance for Grieving Children

Annotation: The National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) promotes awareness of the needs of children and adolescents grieving a death and provides a network for nationwide communication between professionals and volunteers who want to share ideas, information and resources with each other to better support the children and families they serve in their own communities. NAGC offers online education, hosts an annual symposium on children's grief, maintains a national database of children's bereavement support programs, and promotes national awareness to enhance public sensitivity to the issues impacting grieving children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Bereavement, Children, Communication, Community based services, Databases, Distance education, Families, Family support programs, Information networks, National initiatives

National Center for Ease of Use of Community-Based Services

Annotation: The National Center for Ease of Use of Community-Based Services (Center for Community-Based Services) advances policy and practice solutions that improve the ease of use of community-based services for families with a child with special health care needs (SHCN). It is one of six national centers addressing the core outcome measures for success in serving children and youth with SCHN and is an Opening Doors Initiative. The center's website provides information on partners, the ease of use framework, and the community of practice.

Keywords: Access to health care, Best Practices, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Health policy, National health care reform

National Council for Behavioral Health

Annotation: The National Council for Behavioral Health (Naitonal Council) members comprise community organizations working to ensure that all Americans have access to comprehensive, high-quality mental health and addictions care in their communities. The National Council pioneered Mental Health First Aid in the United States, a program that trains individuals to connect children, adolescents, and adults to care. The website contains a policy action center, as well as information on consulting services, best practices, topical resources, and events and training.

Keywords: Community based services, Mental health, Model programs, Substance use behavior, Training

National Healthy Start Association (NHSA)

Annotation: The National Healthy Start Association (NHSA) provides leadership and advocacy for health equity, services, and interventions that improve birth outcomes and family wellbeing. NHSA activities include an evaluation work group to establish the Healthy Start design as a evidence-based model, a health care navigator program, a leadership training institute, an infant mortality awareness campaign, a partnership to reduce racial disparities in infant mortality in U.S. urban areas, male involvement projects, and a campaign to promote preconception health and health care. The website includes newsletters, issue briefs, white papers, a calendar of events, training toolkits, links to related websites, press releases, a video, and blog. Information on how to become a NHSA member and how to make a donation are also provided.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Ethnic factors, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Pregnancy outcome, Prevention programs, Race, Technical assistance

National Wraparound Initiative (NWI)

Annotation: The National Wraparound Initiative (NWI) is a collaborative effort that promotes the implementation of high quality wraparound (a team-based, holistic approach to service and support planning for children, youth, and their families) . NWI seeks to accomplish this work through the creation of a learning and sharing community that includes a range of stakeholders (caregivers, educators, mental health professionals, etc.) with a high level of expertise in Wraparound. NWI provides conceptional background materials, implementation and fidelity tools, and handbooks for team participants.

Keywords: Collaboration, Child health programs, Community based services, Family support services, Holistic health, Program planning, Youth services

Planning Council for Health and Human Services

Annotation: The Planning Council for Health and Human Services primarily serves counties in Southeastern Wisconsin to advance community health and human services through planning, evaluation, and research. The Planning Council assists our clients and partners in looking for best practices, bringing stakeholders together to address issues and solve problems, conducting research and making sense of the data, and assisting service providers in program critiques, in advancing and improving our community’s health and well-being and figuring out What Works in Southeastern Wisconsin.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health care systems, Health planning

Providence Community Health Centers

Annotation: Providence Community Health Centers (PCHC), established in 1968, is a large primary health-care provider in Providence, RI, and treat patients regardless of their ability to pay. PCHC is dedicated to preventing most common medical problems as seen by pediatricians, internists, family practitioners, certified nurse midwives, and ob/gyn physicians. Well-respected medical professionals work to control common chronic diseases, treat acute illnesses, and arrange for referrals to specialists. In addition to five health clinics. PCHC also operates a school-based program, a dental clinic, and the state’s only sexually transmitted disease clinic. PCHC is one of the providers of the WIC (Women, Infant and Children) nutrition program in Rhode Island.

Keywords: Community health services, Health facilities, Primary care, Rhode Island, School based clinics

Santa Barbara County Alcohol, Drug, and Mental Health Services (ADMHS)

Annotation: Santa Barbara County's Alcohol, Drug, and Mental Health Services (ADMHS) provides early intervention and treatment services to approximately 14,000 clients and substance abuse prevention services to about 5,000 residents per year. The Department’s goal is to move clients toward independence and integration into the community. Toward this end, ADMHS practices a system of care which promotes partnering with Community-Based Organizations (CBOs) and community resources for the prevention, treatment and recovery from addiction and mental illness.

Keywords: County agencies, Alcohol abuse, California, Community based services, Mental health services, Substance abuse

Smart Start Oklahoma

Annotation: Smart Start is Oklahoma's statewide early childhood initiative. The Board also serves as the state's Early Childhood Advisory Council. Through a shared commitment, active collaboration and innovative leadership, Smart Start Oklahoma seeks to provide better opportunities to the children and families in the state. Four key strategies guide efforts toward achieving the goal of giving Oklahoma's children a smart start: (1) community initiatives respond to the needs of children and families by leveraging local support and resources to meet identified needs, (2) public engagement educates Oklahoma on the importance of the early years, (3) resource development commits resources at both the state and community level with increased public and private funding devoted to early childhood services, and (4) public policy advocacy to improve support for young children and their families.

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Early childhood, Infants, Oklahoma, State initiatives, Young children

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.