Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Center for Faith-Based and Community Initiatives works within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to create an environment that welcomes the participation of faith-based and community-based organizations as partners in assisting Americans in need. The center provides technical assistance, collaborates with religious and neighborhood organizations, and provides training for center staff so that they can better understand how to reach out and partner with these organizations. In addition, the center offers toolkits, fact sheets, and other resources covering a variety of topics to enhance the work of faith-based and community organizations.

Keywords: Religious organizations, Community based agencies, Community programs, Faith, Outreach, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Community-Campus Partnerships for Health (CCPH) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1996 to foster health-promoting partnerships between communities and educational institutions. It identifies students, institutional leaders, and community leaders as equal constituencies and serves as a bridge between government and foundation-sponsored initiatives in community-oriented health professions education. CCPH has an online newsletter, Partnership Matters; a mentor network that provides training and technical assistance; other training opportunities; and awards for exemplary partnerships.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health occupations, Health personnel, Model programs, Public private partnerships, Training, Universities

Annotation: CYFERnet is a national network of land grant university faculty and county extension educators working to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, parents and families. CYFERnet is funded as a joint project of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and the Cooperative Extension System. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Community based services, Child development, Educational programs, Family relations, Government programs, MCH programs, Parenting skills, Youth development

Annotation: HealthConnect One strives to advance equitable, community-based, peer-to-peer support for pregnancy, birth, breastfeeding, and early parenting in communities that have been historically marginalized and inadequately served. The organization trains community health workers (CHWs), including doulas and breastfeeding peer counselors; mobilizes diverse stakeholders to develop policies and programs that improve MCH; assists organizations in developing programs that use peer support; and incorporates trained CHWs into paid positions in outreach, health education, and community health advocacy. The website provides information on advocacy; programs and training; news, events and resources; and ways to get involved.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Community based services, Community health aides, Home visiting, Indigenous outreach workers, MCH services, Model programs, Peer counseling, Peer support programs, Social support, Training

Annotation: Healthy Teen Network, formerly the National Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, and Prevention, is a national resource network of individuals and organizations focused on solving problems related to adolescent pregnancy prevention, sexuality, pregnancy, and parenting. The organization serves as a resource sharing and communication network to inform service providers and others about available resources and successful program models. Some materials are available in Spanish. It publishes a quarterly newsletter and also prepares alerts on funding opportunities and legislation. The organization also sponsors conferences. In 2010 it launched an evidence-based resource center.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent parents, Community programs, Parenting, Prevention programs, School based clinics, Self help clearinghouses, Sexuality

Annotation: The National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) promotes awareness of the needs of children and adolescents grieving a death and provides a network for nationwide communication between professionals and volunteers who want to share ideas, information and resources with each other to better support the children and families they serve in their own communities. NAGC offers online education, hosts an annual symposium on children's grief, maintains a national database of children's bereavement support programs, and promotes national awareness to enhance public sensitivity to the issues impacting grieving children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Bereavement, Children, Communication, Community based services, Databases, Distance education, Families, Family support programs, Information networks, National initiatives

Annotation: The National Center for Mental Health and Juvenile Justice (NCMHJJ) serves as a national resource for the collection and dissemination of evidence-based and best-practice information to improve services for youth involved with the juvenile justice system who have mental health problems. The center conduct research and evaluation to fill gaps in the existing knowledge base and fosters systems and policy changes at the national, state and local levels. A key aspect of the center's mission is to provide practical assistance to all persons interested in mental health and juvenile justice issues. Resources include a compendium of effective and innovative programs and policies; a list of experts and technical assistance resources; and publications that synthesize existing knowledge.

Keywords: Juvenile delinquency, Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Adolescent health, Community programs, Evidence based medicine, Information dissemination, Juvenile justice, Model programs, Online databases, Policy development, Program improvement, Research, Resource centers

Annotation: The National Council for Behavioral Health (Naitonal Council) members comprise community organizations working to ensure that all Americans have access to comprehensive, high-quality mental health and addictions care in their communities. The National Council pioneered Mental Health First Aid in the United States, a program that trains individuals to connect children, adolescents, and adults to care. The website contains a policy action center, as well as information on consulting services, best practices, topical resources, and events and training.

Keywords: Community based services, Mental health, Model programs, Substance use behavior, Training

Annotation: The National Healthy Start Association (NHSA) provides leadership and advocacy for health equity, services, and interventions that improve birth outcomes and family wellbeing. NHSA activities include an evaluation work group to establish the Healthy Start design as a evidence-based model, a health care navigator program, a leadership training institute, an infant mortality awareness campaign, a partnership to reduce racial disparities in infant mortality in U.S. urban areas, male involvement projects, and a campaign to promote preconception health and health care. The website includes newsletters, issue briefs, white papers, a calendar of events, training toolkits, links to related websites, press releases, a video, and blog. Information on how to become a NHSA member and how to make a donation are also provided.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community based services, Ethnic factors, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Pregnancy outcome, Prevention programs, Race, Technical assistance

Annotation: The National Wraparound Initiative (NWI) is a collaborative effort that promotes the implementation of high quality wraparound (a team-based, holistic approach to service and support planning for children, youth, and their families) . NWI seeks to accomplish this work through the creation of a learning and sharing community that includes a range of stakeholders (caregivers, educators, mental health professionals, etc.) with a high level of expertise in Wraparound. NWI provides conceptional background materials, implementation and fidelity tools, and handbooks for team participants.

Keywords: Collaboration, Child health programs, Community based services, Family support services, Holistic health, Program planning, Youth services

Annotation: The New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice (NHIHPP) develops a Web site called E-Roadmap to Evidence-Based Public Health Practice, which is located at www.publichealthsolutions.org.

Keywords: Community programs, Evidence based medicine

Annotation: The Resource Center for Evidence-Based Prevention and Cross-Sector Approaches offers local health departments guidance for integrating the National Prevention Strategy, Healthy People 2020, The Community Guide, the National Association of County and City Health Officials' Health in All Policies Toolbox, and Community Health Improvement Planning into a uniform approach for achieving health and wellness in the jurisdictions they serve. Topics include evidence-based strategies; cross-sector collaboration; and planning, assessment, and evaluation. The site links to NACCHO's technical assistance site for each program.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning

Annotation: St. John's Community Services provides a variety of community-based services for children, youth, adults and seniors with developmental and other disabilities in Washington, DC, Virginia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Tennessee..

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Childrenwith developmental disabilities, Community agencies, Community based services, Community programs

Annotation: The Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs initiative uses a consortium-based approach to provide technical assistance, expert consultation, training, and resources to assist state and jurisdictions develop evidence based-/informed programs to support women, children, families, and communities. Evidence topics include (1) well-woman visit; (2) low-risk cesarean; (3) perinatal regionalization; (4) breastfeeding; (5) safe sleep; (6) developmental screening; (7) child safety/injury; (8) physical activity; (9) bullying; (10) adolescent well-visit; (11) medical home; (12) transition to adulthood; (13) oral health; (14) smoking; (15) insurance coverage; (16) postpartum visit; (17) postpartum mental health screening; (18) postpartum contraception use; (19) perinatal care discrimination; (20) housing instability; (21) Medical home; (22) childhood vaccination; (23) food sufficiency; (24) adolescent mental health; (25) early prenatal care; (26) drinking during pregnancy; (27) forgone health care.

Keywords: Resource centers, Collaboration, Community based programs, Evidence based health care, Healthy People 2020, Local government, Model programs, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, State government