Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 16 (16 total).

American Hyperlexia Association (AHA)

Annotation: The American Hyperlexia Association (AHA) is a nonprofit organization of speech and education professionals, parents, and concerned individuals that works to identify hyperlexia, which is a syndrome observed in children that exhibit the following characteristics: precocious ability to read words far above what would be expected at their chronological age or an intense fascination with numbers or letters; significant difficulty understanding verbal language; and abnormal social skills. The Association also promotes and facilitates effectual teaching techniques at home and in school, and to educate the public on the existence of this syndrome. Publications include a newsletter. AHA sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Communication disorders, Hyperlexia, Parent groups

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) certifies professional speech-language pathologists and audiologists and accredits graduate school programs in these areas. The association conducts research in communication disorders and provides information and referrals to speech-language pathologists and audiologists. Publications include Journal of Speech and Hearing Research, American Journal of Audiology, American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, Language, Speech and Hearing Services in the Schools, ASHA Leader and ASHA Magazine. Some publications are available in Spanish. ASHA also sponsors conference, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Communication disorders, Deafness, Hearing disorders, Language, Medical research, Speech, Speech disorders, Speech pathologists, Speech pathology, Speech therapy

Annenberg Public Policy Center

Annotation: The Annenberg Public Policy Center was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg in 1994 to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state and federal levels. Consistent with the mission of the Annenberg School for Communication, the center examines a number of public policy issues including: information and society; media and the developing mind; media and the dialogue of democracy; and health communication. The center supports research and sponsors lectures and conferences in these areas. Publications disseminate the work of the Center.

Keywords: Research, Communication, Mass media, Public policies

Center for the Advancement of Distance Education (CADE)

Children Now

Annotation: Children Now is a research and action organization dedicated to assuring that children grow up in economically secure families, where parents can go to work confident that their children are supported by quality health coverage, a positive media environment, a good early education, and safe, enriching activities to do after school. Children Now uses uses media advocacy and works to improve the quality of images for and about children in the news and entertainment media. Children Now is an independent, nonpartisan organization.

Keywords: Chid advocacy, Child health, Communication, Economic factors, Information sources, Parent child relations, Public awareness campaigns, Publications

Community Commons

Annotation: Community Commons is an interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the broad-based healthy, sustainable, and livable communities' movement. Services include map-able geographic information systems for all communities in the United States; an application program interface, providing free interoperable access to data; contextualized mapping, reporting, data visualization, and sharing abilities; searchable profiles of place-based community initiatives and multi-sector collaborations; peer learning opportunities to explore similar topics and share best practices; spaces for individuals and communities to share narratives, interviews, videos, images, documents, and other online resources.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health, Data, Networking, Public private partnerships, Social change, Social learning

Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development (GUCCHD)

Annotation: The Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development (formerly Georgetown University Child Development Center) was established over four decades ago to improve the quality of life for all children and youth, especially those with, or at risk for, special needs and their families. A division of Georgetown University's Department of Pediatrics, the Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development is founded on an interdisciplinary approach to service, training programs, research, community outreach, and public policy. The center sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, a catalog, and access to a list service. The policy component of the Center works internationally and nationally, as well as with states and communities, to develop and implement policies and service systems that serve the child.

Keywords: Communication disorders, Congenital abnormalities, Developmental disabilities, Early childhood education, Listservs, Nervous system diseases, Neuropsychology

HHS Center for New Media

Annotation: The HHS Center for New Media promotes and supports the strategic implementation of new media across the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in health, communications, and government. The website provides a list of tools and providers that offer federal-compatible terms of service; standards and policies that impact the use of new media, and other resources. Media described on the site include social networks, photo and video networks, blogs, podcasts, and others.

Keywords: Communications, Federal agencies, Information networks, Interactive media

Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3)

Annotation: Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3) helps organizations, communities, and governments improve the understanding of, investment in, and action toward the vitality of people, places, and the natural environment. Services include data visualization and geographic information systems mapping, evidence and impact research, and storytelling and social media. IP3 supports Community Commons, an interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the healthy/sustainable/livable communities' movement.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health, Data, Networking, Policy development, Public private partnerships, Research, Social change, Social learning

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Center for Communication Programs (CCP)

Annotation: The Center for Communication Programs (CCP) at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health combines the science and art of strategic communication to help people around the world make better health choices for themselves, their family, and their community. CCP works to maximize access to and quality of health services, generate demand for quality health services and products, integrate reproductive health communication, enhance interpersonal communication, develop mass media campaigns, mobilize communities, promote professional health providers, facilitate research and evaluation, empower women and communities, promote men's participation in reproductive health, and build institutions for behavior change communication. CCP's online Resource Center provides access to publications by CCP staff, a media/materials clearinghouse, a reproductive health gateway, a world population database, training tools, research and evaluation tools, and more.

Keywords: Communication, Clearinghouses, Health, Health promotion, Information dissemination, International health

National Alliance for Grieving Children

Annotation: The National Alliance for Grieving Children (NAGC) promotes awareness of the needs of children and adolescents grieving a death and provides a network for nationwide communication between professionals and volunteers who want to share ideas, information and resources with each other to better support the children and families they serve in their own communities. NAGC offers online education, hosts an annual symposium on children's grief, maintains a national database of children's bereavement support programs, and promotes national awareness to enhance public sensitivity to the issues impacting grieving children and adolescents.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Bereavement, Children, Communication, Community based services, Databases, Distance education, Families, Family support programs, Information networks, National initiatives

National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement

Annotation: The National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement was created to promote an appreciation of the role schools can serve to support students, staff ,and families at times of crisis and loss; enhance the training of individuals in school-related professional education programs in the areas of crisis and loss; link efforts to provide trauma-related and bereavement support services within school settings; and collaborate with professional organizations, governmental and non-governmental agencies and community groups to further help students, staff and families at times of crisis and loss. The center provides information, training materials, consultation and technical assistance for school systems, professional training programs, professional organizations, governmental and non-governmental agencies, communities, children's groups and projects in the areas of crisis and loss. Web content can be viewed in both English and Spanish. The center was established in December 2005 with funding from the September 11th Children's Fund and the National Philanthropic Trust. 

Keywords: School health, Bereavement, Communication, Coping, Disasters, Emotional adjustment, Grief, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Professional education, Professional training Spanish language materials, School age children, Support groups, Trauma, Violence

National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Information Clearinghouse (NIDCDIC)

Annotation: The National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) conducts and supports biomedical and behavioral research and training on disorders of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language. The NIDCD Information Clearinghouse disseminates information and resources on human communication processes. The clearinghouse operates an information service, develops and distributes materials, and maintains a computerized database. Publications include a newsletter and a catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Institute also provides referrals.

Keywords: Deafness, Balance disorders, Communication disorders, Government financing, Hearing disorders, Information services, Language, Language development, Language disorders, Medical research, Medical research, Self help clearinghouses, Smell, Speech, Taste disorders, Voice disorders

Prevent Child Injury

Annotation: Prevent Child Injury is a national group of organizations and individuals, including researchers, health professionals, educators, and child advocates, working together to prevent injuries to children and adolescents in the United States. In collaboration with the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Prevent Child Injury promotes coordinated public communication about child injury. Individual and organization members receive free, customizable child injury prevention materials for outreach including fact sheets, videos, press releases, sample social media posts, and media talking points; tips and strategies for reaching the media and the public with injury prevention messages; access to a roster of injury prevention experts available to speak to the media and other groups; and connection to partner organizations and individuals dedicated to child injury prevention.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Communication, Injuries, Injury prevention

Vestibular Disorders Association (VEDA)

Annotation: Established in 1983, the Vestibular Disorders Association (VEDA) serves people with vestibular disorders and the health professionals who treat them by providing access to information, offering a support network, and elevating awareness of the challenges associated with these disorders. Publications include a quarterly newsletter, "On the Level," and full length books on Meniere's disease, BPPV, and the balance system. A catalog of approx. 70 short explanatory publications is available at www.vestibular.org/pdf/orderform.pdf. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Balance disorders, Benign positional vertigo, Communication disorders, Family support services, Health education, Hearing disorders, Information dissemination, Information services, Medical research, Menieres disease, Public awareness materials

World Health Organization (WHO)

Annotation: The maternal and child health activities of the World Health Organization (WHO) are coordinated by the Department of Reproductive Health and Research. The Web side provides links to WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products (including databases), and contacts, organized by health and developmental topic. In 2005 WHO initiated a Global Observatory for eHealth, which provides information and guidance on effective practices, policies, and standards in the use of information and communication technologies for health. WHO also provides a Global Health Library that points to resources around the world on many health topics.

Keywords: Computers, Overseas organization, Child health, Communication, Developing countries, Environmental health, Information networks, International health, Maternal health, Professional societies

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.