Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

American Academy of Husband-Coached Childbirth (Bradley Method) (AAHCC)

Annotation: The American Academy of Husband-Coached Childbirth (AAHCC) was founded to disseminate childbirth education information. The standard Bradley® series is designed for small classes and provides individual attention; it consists of 12 weeks of instruction covering 12 units of preparation. AAHCC provides referrals, publications, and reference information and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Bradley Method, Childbirth education

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

American Red Cross (ARC)

Annotation: The American Red Cross (ARC) and its local chapters provide blood services, volunteer training for hospitals and other community agencies, and services for children and youth. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include pamphlets, brochures, and books on health and safety education, community disaster preparedness, babysitting, and baby and child care. Some materials are available in Spanish. Local chapters offer water safety programs, first aid and emergency training, birth classes, adult and youth health and safety courses, and community involvement activities.

Keywords: Blood banks, Child care, Childbirth education, Educational materials, Emergency medical services for children, Emergency services, Health education, Information services, Training

Association of Labor Assistants and Childbirth Educators (ALACE)

Annotation: The Association of Labor Assistants and Childbirth Educators (ALACE) is a professional organization offering services to help childbirth educators and labor assistants and birth doulas provide pregnant women with information and practical alternatives so that they may give birth with confidence, strength, and joy. The association provides training and certification, publishes a quarterly journal, and posts links to related internet sources. The Web site also provides access to the ALACE online bookstore and a directory of labor assistants and childbirth educators.

Keywords: Childbirth, Alternative birth styles, Certification, Childbirth education, Childbirth educators, Labor, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional training, Publications

Birthing the Future

Annotation: Birthing the Future is a nonprofit organization that gathers, synthesizes, and disseminates wisdom about birthing and the care of mothers and babies from pre-conception to the first birthday. Birthing the Future blends ancient feminine wisdom with modern scientific and clinical knowledge about the mother and baby within the context of their family, community, and society. The organization conducts workshops, hosts symposiums, develops multi-media materials, and maintains an online bookstore. The Web site provides links to related organizations and resources.

Keywords: Childbirth, Alternative birth styles, Childbirth education, Family centered care, Infant care, Labor, Midwifery, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Choices in Childbirth

Annotation: Choices in Childbirth (CIC) is an organization advocating for the improvement of maternity care by providing the public, especially childbearing women and their families, with the information necessary to make fully informed decisions relating to how, where, and with whom they will give birth.

Keywords: Advocacy, Alternative birth styles, Childbirth education, Pregnant women

DONA International

Annotation: Doulas of North America (DONA International) is primarily a professional organization for doulas whose work is to provide physical, emotional, and educational support to women during pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum period. The Web site includes an online library of downloadable publications (including some materials for consumers), as well as information on doula training, conferences, and certification. The site also hosts discussion boards and a directory of professional doulas.

Keywords: Childbirth, Childbirth educators, Alternative birth styles, Certification, Childbirth education, Consumer education materials, Electronic bulletin boards, Electronic publications, Online databases, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional training

InJoy Birth and Parenting Education

International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA)

Annotation: The International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) consists of groups and individuals interested in family-centered maternity and infant services. The association publishes a journal and pamphlets on topics relating to the childbearing years, certifies teachers, provides referrals, sponsors conventions and training seminars, and sells books and pamphlets on a wide range of topics, including pregnancy loss and bereavement. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages and other languages. A catalog is available.

Keywords: Bereavement, Childbirth education, Family centered services, Pregnancy, Pregnancy loss

Lamaze International

Annotation: The mission of Lamaze International is to promote, support and protect normal birth through education and advocacy. The organization’s vision is “a world of confident women choosing normal birth”. Lamaze International offers free educational information on normal birth on its Web site, including: (1) easy to read, evidenced-based information on the six care practices that support normal birth at the Lamaze Institute for Normal Birth web site link.; (2) recommended books on pregnancy, birth and early parenting; (3) tips for a healthy pregnancy and normal birth; and (4) information on birth networks developing in many communities. Consumers can locate an Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator (LCCE) or a Lamaze Approved Provider in their area using the online locator service or by calling the administrative office at (800) 368-4404. The Lamaze Certification Program is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), the accrediting body of the National Organization for Competency Assurance (NOCA). Lamaze International provides referrals, inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases to consumers; some materialis available in Spanish, Chinese and Korean. The organization publishes a newsletter and a journal, and offers conferences, training seminars, workshops, and other activities.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Childbirth education, Lamaze method, Pregnancy, Spanish language materials

March of Dimes (MOD)

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/). The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

Pacific Post Partum Support Society (PPPSS)

Annotation: The Pacific Post Partum Support Society offers support, referrals, and information for women and their families who are experiencing depression and/or anxiety during pregnancy or after the birth or adoption of a child. The society also works to promote public awareness of postpartum depression and its treatment. Publications include a newsletter, a book(Postpartum Depression and Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide for Mothers), and a training manual for those who want specific support information or are interested in facilitating a group. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, and Punjabi.

Keywords: Postpartum depression, Adoption, Anxiety, Childbirth, Health education, Health promotion, Pregnancy, Support groups

Twin Services Consulting (TSC)

Annotation: Twin Services Consulting is a service provided by Patricia Malmstrom, founder and director of the former non-profit agency, Twin Services, Inc. (TSI). Twin Services Consulting (TSC) offers e-mail referral to national multiple birth resources and consultation regarding program development. Its Web site offers free parenting education materials about twin care and development.

Keywords: Child health, California, Childbirth, Educational materials, Multiple births, Pregnancy, Referrals, Support groups, Technical assistance, Training, Triplets, Twins

What to Expect Foundation

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.