Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (36 total).

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC)

Annotation: The Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics (AOEC) was established to enhance the practice of occupational and environmental medicine through information sharing, education, and research. AOEC -- which is now a network of more than 60 clinics and 250 individuals -- works with communities to address their environmental health concerns and is a resource for patient referrals from other agencies. It administers the Pediatric Environmental Health Specialty Units Program to address the special needs of children and their families regarding environmental health concerns. It develops curriculum materials in environmental health and sponsors CME programs for clinicians and other health professionals. The Web site offers epidemiology tools, educational resources, training opportunities, and links.

Keywords: Child health, Cllinics, Environmental health, Occupational safety and health, Professional societies, Professional training

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Consumer Federation of America (CFA)

Annotation: The Consumer Federation of America (CFA) was established in 1968 as a nonprofit organization of national, state, and local groups committed to consumer advocacy and education. The federation lobbies for the passage of legislation to protect consumers in such areas as energy, food, health and safety, communications, handicaps, insurance, transportation, and the environment. Publications include CFA News, policy updates, studies, testimony, and more than a dozen consumer publications on topics ranging from managing consumer debt to resolving consumer complaints to safeguarding playgrounds. CFA's State and Local Resource Center, funded by Consumers Union and others, seeks to strengthen grassroots consumer organizations through grants, technical assistance, workshops, publications, and other services.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Advocacy, Bicycle helmets, Child health, Consumer Product Safety Network, Consumer education, Consumer education materials, Data, National organization, Residential injuries

Early Childhood Education Linkage System-Healthy Child Care Pennsylvania (ECELS-Healthy Childcare PA)

Annotation: The Early Childhood Education Linkage System-Healthy Child Care Pennsylvania (ECELS-Healthy Child Care PA) provides professional consultation, training, and technical assistance to improve early education and child care in Pennsylvania. Since December 1989, the PA Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics has operated the ECELS linking the resources of government, early childhood educators, and health professionals. Now operating Healthy Child Care America Pennsylvania, ECELS offers opportunities for professional development to PA early learning and child care practitioners. Resources include tools, fact sheets, a/v lending library, calendar of events, self-learning modules and workshops, and e-mail alerts.

Keywords: Child care workers, Child health, Child safety, Collaboration, Consultants, Early childhood educators, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Technical assistance

Farm Safety 4 Just Kids (FS4JK)

Annotation: Farm Safety 4 Just Kids is a grassroots organization whose mission is to promote a safe farm environmnet to prevent health hazards, injuries, and fatalities to children and youth through community involvement and support services. Activities include: disseminating educational and training materials; conducting educational programs; providing technical assistance; and providing referrals, reference information, and resource materials. The organization publishes a bimonthly newsletter and a catalog. It sponsors workshops, conferences, and training seminars.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Children, Educational materials, Farm workers, Safety, Technical assistance

First 5 LA

Annotation: First 5 LA is a child-advocacy organization created by California voters to invest tobacco tax revenues in programs for improving the lives of children in Los Angeles County, from prenatal through age 5. The vision is to create a future throughout Los Angeles' communities where all young children are born healthy and raised in a loving and nurturing environment so that they grow up healthy, are eager to learn, and reach their full potential. Programs include Best Start LA, community-developed initiatives; early developmental screening and intervention; family literacy; a parent hotline; Healthy Births; Healthy Kids; oral health and nutrition; partnerships for families; school readiness, universal preschool, and workforce development.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Child health, Education, Families, Infant health, Infants, Local initiatives, Prenatal care, Safety, Young children

First Things First

Annotation: First Things First supports the healthy development and learning of young children from birth to age 5 in Arizona. The website explains why the early years are critical for a child's healthy development and why investing in quality early childhood programs benefits children, families, communities, and the state. The website includes information for parents and families on topics such as brain development, ages and stages, child care and preschool, and literacy. Resources include a parent kit; a birth to five helpline; annual and biennial reports on statewide and regional needs and assets, and regional impact; research on brain science, quality early learning, and parenting education and family support; and data and statistics relevant to early childhood on national, state, and local levels.

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family support, Learning, Parent education, Research, School readiness, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

Healthy Child Care America (HCCA)

Annotation: The Healthy Child Care America (HCCA) campaign is a nationally focused initiative jointly sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Child Care Bureau (CCB) and Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and was originally implemented from 1995 through 2005. The campaign focused on linking together pediatricians, other health professionals, child care providers, and parents to ensure that all children have access to quality, nurturing child care environments and a medical home. The campaign continues to be funded though the Child Care and Health Partnership grant from the CCB and MCHB. The website contains health and safety fact sheets, a list of child care contacts for the American Academy of Pediatrics, policy materials, and other resources.

Keywords: Government programs, Child health, Access to health care, Campaigns, Child care, Child safety, Information dissemination, Provider networks

Healthy Child Healthy World ( )

Annotation: Healthy Child Healthy World (formerly the Children's Health Environmental Coalition) is dedicated to protecting the health and well being of children from harmful environmental exposures. The organization works to educate parents, support protective policies, and engage communities in making responsible decisions and well-informed lifestyle improvements to create healthy environments where children and families can flourish. Healthy Child Healthy World provides a variety on online resources, including environmental-safety checklists, articles describing preventive techniques, downloadable reports (many related to organic lifestyle choices), a community action kit, a blog featuring recognized health experts and highlighting news and events, an electronic newsletter, links to searchable databases, and Health eHouse -- an interactive virtual house designed to make it easier for families to identify environmental health hazards in the home.

Keywords: Environmental health, Child health, Household safety, Public awareness campaigns, Teratogens, Teratology, Toxicology

Healthy Meals Resource System

Home Safety Council

Annotation: The Home Safety Council (HSC) is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization dedicated to preventing home related injuries that result in nearly 20,000 deaths and 21 million medical visits on average each year. Through national programs, partnerships and the support of volunteers, HSC educates people of all ages to be safer in and around their homes. In January 2011 HSC merged with Safe Kids USA to form Safe Kids Worldwide.

Keywords: Children, Household safety, Injury prevention

Injury Free Coalition for Kids

Annotation: The Injury Free Coalition for Kids is an national injury prevention program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation comprised of individual hospital-based, community-oriented programs working to prevent child injury through research, education, and advocacy. The coalition includes 40 sites located in 37 cities, each housed in the trauma centers of their participating institutions. The Web site provides topic-specific safety-tips; links to participating programs; news related to injury prevention; and links to additional resources.

Keywords: Safety, Advocacy, Injury prevention, Preventive health sevices, child health

International Food Information Council Foundation (IFIC)

Annotation: The International Food Information Council (IFIC) is a nonprofit organization that serves as an information and educational resource on nutrition and food safety. IFIC provides science-based information to journalists, health professionals, government officials, and other opinion leaders who communicate with the public. Wherever possible, IFIC works in partnership with leading nutrition organizations. IFIC programs receive support from a broad base of food, beverage and agricultural companies. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. The council also publishes a newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The foundation produces a Web site for children and parents called Kidnetic.com, which provides activities for children and information for parents to promote physical activity, exercise, and good eating.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Exercise, Food safety, Materials for children, Nutrition, Physical activity

Kids in Danger

Annotation: Kids In Danger (KID) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting children by improving children's product safety. Services include consumer awareness alerts, fact sheets, brochures, recall information, advocacy, and workshops.

Keywords: Child health, Infant equipment, Product safety

National 4-H Council

Annotation: The National 4-H Council provides grants, sponsors awards, establishes programs and initiatives, designs and publishes curriculum and reference materials, and creates linkages fostering innovation and shared learning to advance the 4-H youth development movement, building a world in which youth and adults learn, grow, and work together as catalysts for positive change. Programs focus on afterschool activities, safety, (including ATV safety), health and wellness, environmental stewardship, youth governance, rural youth development, and family strengthening. The council partners with 4-H at all levels—national, state and local. Publications are available through an online bookstore.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Child safety, Injury prevention, Youth development

National Association of State School Nurse Consultants (NASSNC)

Annotation: The National Association of State School Nurse Consultants (NASSNC) provides a forum for state-level nurse consultants to share information and develop expert consensus on issues in the practice of school nursing, as that practice relates to the overall health and educability of the nation's school children and youth. The association seeks to promote a better understanding and acceptance of comprehensive school health programs, including school health services, school health education, and a safe school environment. The Web site provides information about members, achievement awards, position statements, and links to other sources of information.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Nursing schools, School health, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School safety

National Center for Safe Routes to School

Annotation: Established in May 2006, the National Center for Safe Routes to School assists states and communities in enabling and encouraging children to safely walk and bicycle to school. The National Center serves as the information clearinghouse for the federal Safe Routes to School program. The organization also provides technical support and resources and coordinates online registration efforts for U.S. Walk to School Day and facilitates worldwide promotion and participation. The National Center is part of the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center with funding from the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration.

Keywords: Resource centers, Bicycles, Child safety, Injury prevention, School age children, Walking

National Children's Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety

Annotation: The National Children's Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety (NCCRAHS) strives to enhance the health and safety of all children exposed to hazards associated with agricultural work an rural environments. The center provides guidance for childhood injury prevention programs in both private and public sectors; guides and supports efforts in identifying potential interventions to protect children from agricultural hazards; and convenes consensus development sessions to address complex or controversial issues in childhood injury prevention. The center addresses rural recreational safety including horses and ATVs; provides technical assistance and training to professionals on youth safety issues; and collaborates with major agricultural organizations, health and safety professionals and youth-serving groups. A variety of reports, fact sheets, guidelines, and other electronic resources are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Agricultural injuries, Child safety, Information services, Policy development, Public policy, Publications, Resource centers, Rural health, Technical assistance, Training

National Consumer Protection Week

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.