Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: Action for Healthy Kids (AFHK) is a nonprofit organization formed to address the epidemic of overweight, undernourished, and sedentary youth by focusing on changes at school, to improve children's nutrition and increase physical activity, which will in turn improve their readiness to learn. An outgrowth of the 2002 Healthy Schools Summit, AFHK is a public-private partnership of more than 50 national organizations and government agencies representing education, health, fitness, and nutrition. AFHK's Web site provides information on current activities in the 50 states plus the District of Columbia, and a searchable database that lists resources to improve schools, including materials and profiles of successful school practices.

Keywords: Databases, Child nutrition, Health promotion, Model programs, Physical activity, Schools

Keywords: Child nutrition programs, Federal agencies, Information sources, Internet, Online databases

Annotation: California Food Policy Advocates (CFPA) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to healthy food for people with low-incomes in California. The website provides information about CFPA policy actions, initiatives and campaigns, areas of focus and research and data, and news and media.

Keywords: California, Children, Food, Low income groups, Nutrition, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, Schools, State programs, Water

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home, the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply, and the new ChooseMyPlate initiative. CNPP staff help to define and coordinate nutrition education policy within USDA and to translate nutrition research into information and materials for consumers; policymakers; and professionals in health, education, industry, and media. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Conferences, Coordination, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Federal agencies, Food consumption, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Information sources, Information sources, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Public policy, Publications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Connecticut's Bureau of Health, Nutrition, Family Services and Adult Education provides programs and services for students to assess, protect, and promote health; administers federal grants for child and school nutrition programs; and provides adult education instructional programs predominately through local school districts and various community and faith-based organizations.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult education, Child health, Connecticut, Nutrition programs, Public health, State agencies

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), formerly called Food and Consumer Service, responds to inquiries and provides information and publications on federal maternal and child nutrition programs, including the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Child Nutrition Programs, Food Stamp Program, and Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). Some materials are available in Spanish. FNS publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and offers a variety of resources and information online, including links to related nutrition programs and access to e-mail discussion groups.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Commodity food supplemental programs, Conferences, Federal programs, Maternal nutrition programs, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs, Training, WIC program

Annotation: Healthy Kids, Healthy Future is a partnership of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, and Nemours that works to advance research, policies, and practices that promote obesity prevention in child care. The website, hosted by the Nemours Foundation, is designed to help child care providers promote healthy habits. Contents include proven tools, promising practices, policies, and presentations on topics such as healthy eating and physical activity.

Keywords: Child care, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Model programs, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public private partnerships

Keywords: School lunch programs, Child nutrition programs, Federal initiatives, Food safety, Information sources, Internet, Nutrition programs, Regulations

Annotation: The National Health Law and Policy Resource (NHLPR) Center's mission is to promote laws and public policies that foster and facilitate accessible, affordable and quality health care for all Americans, particularly vulnerable and disadvantaged populations. It furnishes a non-partisan forum for informed dialogue, based on the best available data and information, between academics, practitioners and public policy makers on important health law and policy issues. The center was formerly known as the National Maternal and Child Health Resource Center. Today the center maintains the following programs: the Maternal and Child Health Program, the Program on Health Care for the Aging, the Rural Health Care Program and the Health Care Conflict Management Program. Core activites of the center include conducting research and demonstration projects involving health law and policy and the provision of education and training and the provision of technical assistance and consultation to public policy makers, third-party payers of health services, health-care administrators, providers of health services and related services, health-care consumers and health-law practitioners. The center's Health Care Conflict Management Program also provides facilitation and mediation services for prevention and resolution of health care disputes. Another center activity is the operation of an Information Clearinghouse for a variety of health law and policy topics. These activities are externally funded through grants and contracts.

Keywords: Health care financing, Children with special health care needs, Information dissemination, Nutrition programs, Title V

Annotation: The School Nutrition Association (NSA), formerly the American School Food Service Association, is a national, non-profit professional organization representing more than 55,000 members who provide meals to students across the country. The association and its members are dedicated to feeding children affordable, safe, and nutritious meals. The association distributes information on school food and nutrition programs and child nutrition legislation and seeks to encourage and promote the maintenance and improvement of school food and nutrition programs. NSA offers certification and credentialing programs; sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars; and publishes a variety of materials, including a monthly magazine, an e-newsletter, training materials, and an online research journal. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Nutrition, Certification, Child nutrition, Conferences, Group feeding, Nutrition programs, Online databases Professional societies, Publications, School food services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: Team Nutrition is an initiative of the USDA Food and Nutrition Service to support child nutrition programs through training and technical assistance for foodservice, nutrition education for children and their caregivers, and school and community support for healthy eating and physical activity. The initiative provides resources to schools and child care facilities participating in the federal child nutrition program including educational materials and a newsletter. The website contains a graphics library, information on local wellness policy and training grants, and other resources.

Keywords: Child care centers, Child nutrition programs, Communities, Federal programs, Food consumption, Food service, Grants, Nutrition education, Physical activity, School age children, Schools, Students, Technical assistance, Training