Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (25 total).

American Humane Association, Children's Services (AHA)

Annotation: The Children's Services of the American Humane Association (AHA) ensures that effective child protective service systems are in place in every part of America. The association provides comprehensive training for professionals (social workers, physicians, teachers, law enforcement personnel, nurses, and judges), provides expert evaluation and technical assistance to community and statewide child protective programs, and promotes national standards for programs to protect children from abuse and neglect. Publications include professional resources for frontline workers, child welfare professionals, administrators, legislators, and the general public. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protection agencies, Child protective services, Information services, Technical assistance, Training

American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC)

Annotation: The American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC) brings together psychologists, social workers, physicians, attorneys, nurses, law enforcement officers, child protective services workers, administrators, researchers, and allied professionals who have dedicated a substantial portion of their professional lives to alleviating the problems caused by child maltreatment. The mission of APSAC is to ensure that everyone affected by child abuse and neglect receives high quality professional response. APSAC is committed to providing continuing professional education which promotes effective, culturally sensitive, and interdisciplinary approaches to the identification, intervention, treatment and prevention of child abuse and neglect; to educating the public about the complex issues involved in child abuse and neglect; and to ensuring that public policy affecting America's response to child maltreatment is well informed and constructive. Publications include the quarterly APSAC Advisor and the journal Child Maltreatment as well as numerous practice guidelines and other books. The society also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Health education, Public policies

Boys Town

Annotation: Boys Town -- formerly known as Girls and Boys Town -- provides a second chance for children and adolescents with behavioral, emotional, or physical problems. Although the Boys Town headquarters is in Nebraska, its outreach is national in scope with more than a dozen treatment sites across the country. Services provided include residential care, shelter care, foster care, treatment, parent training, family crisis intervention, and a 24-hour crisis hotline, as well as technical assistance and referrals to other residential care programs across the nation. The focus is on implementing an integrated continuum of care for children and families based on research-proven services. Boys Town hosts a website for parents -- parenting.org -- and provides positive learning tools for educators based on the Boys Town Model. Other resources include workshops, webinars, presentations, research findings, and a blog The organization conducts research through the Boys Towns National Research Institute and provides treatment for children with speech, hearing, and visual problems at its National Research Hospital in Omaha Nebraska.

Keywords: Adolescents, Speech disorders, Hearing disorders,, Child abuse, Child neglect, Foster care, Residential programs

British Association for the Study and Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect (BASPCAN)

Annotation: The British Association for the Study and Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect (BASPCAN) is a registered charity which aims to prevent physical, emotional and sexual abuse and neglect of children by promoting the physical, emotional, and social well-being of children. Its aim to promote the rights of children as citizens, through multi-disciplinary collaboration, education, campaigning and other appropriate activities, within its powers and resources. BASPCAN membership is open to all with an interest in, or working in the field of child protection. Members are drawn from social work, medicine, psychology, psychiatry, nursing, legal and law enforcement agencies, probation, and education and academic fields, as well as related welfare and voluntary groups throughout the world. Activities include national and regional study days, conferences, seminars and discussions, and a large international congress every three years.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child death review, Child neglect, Child protection services, United Kingdom

Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare

Annotation: The Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare is a collaboration of experts from five Canadian organizations, including the University of Toronto, McGill University, l'Universite de Montreal, the Child Welfare League of Canada, and the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society. It provides the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal for up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies, a network of services designed to protect children from abuse and neglect, supports for families in difficulty, and children placed in out-of-home care.

Keywords: Canada, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, International organizations, Prevention programs

Child Welfare Information Gateway (CWIG)

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information services to child welfare and related professionals and the public as the clearinghouse for the Children’s Bureau, compiling, synthesizing, and disseminating resources to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families. The Information Gateway provides access to publications, websites, and online databases covering a range of topics, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, and the content areas for which the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA) members provide support.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Child Welfare League of America (CWLA)

Annotation: The Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) brings together public and private nonprofit voluntary child welfare agencies in efforts to advance policies, best practices, and collaborative strategies that result in better outcomes for vulnerable children, youth, and families. The league sets internationally recognized standards for child welfare practice; proposes public policy initiatives; offers consultation, training, and technical assistance for member agencies; and provides reference information, publications, and referrals for consumers. Areas of concern include adolescent pregnancy and parenting, adoption, AIDS, chemical dependency, child abuse and neglect, child care, child poverty, cultural competence, developmental disabilities, foster care, family preservation, homelessness, juvenile justice, kinship care, and residential group care. Publications include the Children's Voice magazine, Child Welfare Journal, Child Welfare Standards of Excellence, and the PRIDE training curriculum, along with hundreds of books.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Child abuse, Child care, Child health, Child neglect, Child welfare, Foster care, Nonprofit organizations, AIDS,

Children's Research Center (CRC)

Annotation: The Children's Research Center is a division of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD). The CRC works to reduce the incidence of child abuse and neglect by influencing public policies that affect the child welfare system, by conducting policy research and by assisting child welfare agencies in improve consistency and effectiveness in delivery systems. The center provides research to identify factors related to continued abuse and neglect, development of risk assessment instruments, protocols, and standards for case management, and evaluation and technical assistance to assure proper implementation. CRC sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars, and publishes a newsletter, journal, and research reports.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Injury prevention, Standards, Technical assistance

Children's Trust Fund

FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (FRIENDS CBCAP)

Annotation: The FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (CBCAP) Programs provides training and technical assistance to federally funded CBCAP Programs. The Center assists in building networks, collecting data, promoting stakeholder involvement, and providing access to resources. The Web site provides access to online learning tools, print materials, a listserv, weblinks, and information on upcoming meetings and events. The Center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Community programs, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Parent support services, Prevention programs, State programs

Kempe Foundation for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Abuse and Neglect

Annotation: The Kempe National Foundation for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Abuse and Neglect is a clinically based resource for training, consultation, program development and evaluation, and research on all forms of child abuse and neglect. The center uses a multidisciplinary approach. It provides referrals, publications, and reference information for consumers. It sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Information services, Professional education

National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC)

Annotation: The National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC) is a non-profit organization that provides training, prevention, intervention and treatment services to fight child abuse and neglect. NCAC hosts the National Symposium on Child Abuse and the National Conference on Child Abuse Prevention; provides training seminars and online training programs for professionals; conducts research and develops best practice models; offers family-support services, including home visitation programs, and school-based programs for children; and provides intervention programs and therapy services for victims of child abuse. Additional information for children, families, and professionals is posted on the Web site.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Crisis intervention, Distance education, Electronic publications, Family support services, Maltreated children, Model programs, Prevention, Professional education, Research, Training, Victims

National Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) Association

Annotation: National Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) Association works with its state and local members to support and promote court-appointed volunteer advocacy for abused and neglected children so that they can thrive in safe, permanent homes. A variety of guides and manuals produced by National CASA are available in electronic format from the Web site.

Keywords: Child abuse, Advocacy, Child neglect, Children, Courts, Volunteers

National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect

Annotation: The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect facilitates secondary analysis of research data relevant to the study of child abuse and neglect. The Archive maintains numerous databases including the National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS) and Adoption and Foster Care Analysis and Reporting System (AFCARS). The National Data Archive is a participant in the Children's Burreau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Research, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Data, Databases, Technical assistance

National Resource Center for Adoption (NRCA)

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Adoption (NRCA) -- formerly the National Child Welfare Resource Center for Adoption -- works to increase the capacity of States, Tribes, and territories to improve adoption systems; integrate policy and practice; and develop, expand, strengthen, and improve the quality and effectiveness of adoption services provided to children and youth in the child welfare system. The NRCA also helps jurisdictions improve the effectiveness and quality of permanency support and preservation services. The center's website provides access to the news on adoption together with tools, curricula, reports, fact sheets, webcasts, and other resources. The center participates in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Adoption, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Resource centers, Technical assistance

National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice (NRC/FCP)

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Family Centered Practice (NRC/FCP) works to promote culturally responsive family centered services through research and evaluation, training and technical assistance, and information dissemination. The Research and Evaluation Division works with state and local agencies to design evaluations, identify outcome measures, and conduct evaluations of family centered programs. Training is developed in partnership with agency staff and is based on assessment of the agency's needs and desired outcomes. The center provides technical assistance in the areas of program/policy development, community involvement and collaboration, cultural competence, and evaluation. Publications include an annual serial, Prevention Report which describes new practice approaches and research findings and reviews new books and materials.

Keywords: Child health, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Families, Family centered services, Family support, Information services, Resource centers

National SafeCare Training and Research Center (NSTRC)

Annotation: The National SafeCare Training and Research Center (NSTRC) engages in research efforts to improve the training, implementation, and translation of the SafeCare model, an evidence-based home visitation program that has been shown to reduce child maltreatment among families with a history for maltreatment or with risk factors for maltreatment. NSTRC cultivates collaboration with communities, child welfare administrators, and policymakers to increase support and resources for evidence-based practice and the prevention of child abuse and neglect on a local, national, and international scale.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Collaboration, High risk groups, Home visiting, Model programs, Prevention programs, Research, Training

Parents Anonymous (PA)

Annotation: Founded in 1970, Parents Anonymous, Inc. is a child abuse and neglect prevention, education, and treatment program. The organization's mission is to promote mutual support and parent leadership in order to build and support strong, healthy families. Today, Parent's Anonymous leads an extensive national network of neighborhood-based support groups for parents and their children. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, reference information and research publications. The organization publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences and training seminars, and provides materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Counseling, Education, Family violence, Information services, Parenting, Spanish language materials

Quality Improvement Center on Early Childhood (QIC-EC )

Annotation: The Quality Improvement Center on Early Childhood (QIC-EC) was established to address the nation's need to find effective approaches for reducing the likelihood of abuse and neglect of young children form birth to age five. The Center for the Study of Social Policy operates the center with its partners Zero to Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families and the National Alliance of Children's Trust and Prevention Funds.

Keywords: Training, Child abuse, Child neglect, Collaboration, Prevention services, Technical assistance, Young children

Saskatchewan Prevention Institute (SIPH)

Annotation: The Saskatchewan Prevention Institute, formerly the Saskatchewan Institute on Prevention of Handicaps, is a nonprofit organization that raises province-wide awareness of prevention measures to reduce the incidence of handicapping conditions in children. Programs focus on four areas that impact the health and well-being of children: Reproductive and Infant Health; Alcohol, Tobacco and Drugs; Childhood Injuries; and Neglect and Abuse. Activities focus on raising awareness of prevention measures through: educational opportunities such as workshop presentations, conferences and public awareness campaigns; providing assistance for community groups to develop their own prevention education programs; networking and partnering projects that further prevention efforts; and maintaining links with community, non-profit and government organizations to ensure a coordinated approach to prevention programming. Publications include print and audio visual resources including brochures, fact sheets, resource kits, posters, videos, and a newsletter Prevention Post. A resource catalog is also available.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Alcoholism, Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Child safety, Children, Drugs, Injury prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Tobacco

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.