Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) supports and promotes a national network of university-based interdisciplinary programs. Network members comprise University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities programs, and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Research Centers. AUCD programs serve as a bridge between the university and the community, bringing the resources of both to achieve meaningful change. AUCD’s website addresses the range of interdisciplinary network activities, including services for children, adults, and families; academic training; research; training and technical assistance; policy advocacy; program evaluation; and dissemination of best practices and new information.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Fundraising, Medical research, Mental retardation, SCAN, University affiliated centers, University affiliated programs

Annotation: The Beach Center on Disability is a research and training center that focuses on families of people with disabilities. The center is funded in part by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education, and by private endowments. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The center publishes a catalog and newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The center's Web site provides lists of groups and organizations in each state.

Keywords: Family support, Children, Developmental disabilities, Family resource centers, Technology dependence

Annotation: The Early Head Start National Resource Center (EHS NRC) provides expertise, materials, resources, information, training, and technical assistance to Early Head Start and Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs, technical assistance providers, and federal staff in all work related to services for infants, toddlers, pregnant women, and families. EHS NRC provides professional development and technical assistance supports such as the annual Birth to Three Institute and national orientation conference, special initiatives, audio-conferences, online lessons, data analysis, and leadership seminars. EHS NRC also facilitates networks and forums such as listservs and work groups, and develops resources such as technical assistance papers, tip sheets, webinars and webcasts, an electronic newsletter, podcasts, research briefs, e-mail digests, and white papers.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Child development services, Early childhood education, Head Start, Low income groups, Nuvee, Resource centers, Training

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The MCHIRC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Publications include The Health and Wellbeing of Children: A Portrait of States and the Nation, The National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Chartbook, Child Health USA, and Women's Health USA. The resource center also sponsors a graduate student internship program and the DataSpeak web conference series, and provides technical assistance for state and local MCH agencies in published journal articles.

Keywords: Health statistics, Block grants, Child health, Conferences, Information services, Management, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public health, Publications, Research, Resource centers, Title V programs

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

Annotation: The National Children's Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety (NCCRAHS) strives to enhance the health and safety of all children exposed to hazards associated with agricultural work an rural environments. The center provides guidance for childhood injury prevention programs in both private and public sectors; guides and supports efforts in identifying potential interventions to protect children from agricultural hazards; and convenes consensus development sessions to address complex or controversial issues in childhood injury prevention. The center addresses rural recreational safety including horses and ATVs; provides technical assistance and training to professionals on youth safety issues; and collaborates with major agricultural organizations, health and safety professionals and youth-serving groups. A variety of reports, fact sheets, guidelines, and other electronic resources are available on the Web site.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Agricultural injuries, Child safety, Information services, Policy development, Public policy, Publications, Resource centers, Rural health, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center (ECLKC), which is maintained by the U.S. Office of Head Start, is designed to help meet the needs of the early childhood community, including program providers, administrators, and families. The Web site provides information that supports parents' involvement in their children's lives; resources and information related to services for young children from birth to age five; policy information and program management tools; educational support materials; and directories containing contact and additional resource information. The Web site can be viewed in both English and Spanish.

Keywords: Child development services, Early Head Start, Early childhood education, Head Start, Resource centers

Annotation: Project Thrive is a public policy analysis and education initiative to promote healthy child development and to provide policy support to the State Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems (ECCS) initiatives funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. It focuses on integrated high-quality health care and medical homes; early care and education; social-emotional and mental health programs; family support; and parenting education. It provides Webinars and conference calls; conferences and meetings; and downloadable resources and materials. It is funded through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Child development, National MCH resource center, Public policy, Resource centers, Young children

Annotation: The State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC) is a resource center for state Title V agencies (supported through the MCH Block Grant) and others interested in improving systems for children, youth, and families with autism spectrum disorders and developmental disabilities. The SPHARC Web site provides state snapshots, promising practices, and other resources to support states as they develop and implement systems to improve the health and well-being of infants, children, and adolescents with autism and other special health care needs.

Keywords: Autism, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, Models, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Annotation: The Technical Assistance Center on Social Emotional Intervention for Young Children (TACSEI) takes the research that shows which practices improve the social-emotional outcomes for young children with, or at risk for, delays or disabilities and creates products and resources to help decision-makers, caregivers, and service providers apply these best practices in the work they do every day. Resources available on the website include articles, papers, workshops, presentations, videos, and other materials and tools. The site also provides information on individualized interventions, systems and procedures, and the pyramid model for supporting social emotional competence in infants and young children. TACSEI is a five-year grant made possible by the U.S. Department of Education.

Keywords: Psychosocial development, Affective disorders, Emotional development, Mental health, Resource centers, Technical assistance centers, Young children

Annotation: The Washington Child Development Council (WCDC) is a nonprofit organization composed of concerned representatives from child development centers and family child care homes, as well as parents and other interested persons, who join together to focus on the developmental needs of the children living in the District of Columbia. WCDC encourages the District government to establish policies that promote the nurturing of children so that all children may reach their full potential. WCDC has been committed to working with teenage mothers and homeless families by serving as an advocate to promote much-needed child care services for this at-risk population. The organization sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Child care, Child development centers, Family child care, Homeless persons, Underserved communities