Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Alabama Child Death Review System was created on September 11, 1997 in order to review, evaluate, and prevent cases of unexpected and unexplained child death. ACDRS's mission is to understand how and why children die in Alabama, in order to prevent other child deaths. ACDRS, which includes both state and local child death review teams, focuses on prevention through statistical analysis, education and advocacy efforts, and local community involvement.

Keywords: State agencies, Alabama, Child death review, Infant death, Child death, Infant mortality

Annotation: The American Association of SIDS Prevention Physicians (AASPP) has these objectives: medical education, advocacy, clinical research, career development, and referral networking for medical professionals interested in SIDS and pediatric sleep disorders as well as those involved in the care of infants in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) and upon discharge. AASPP holds an annual conference is held each year and is associated with the American SIDS Institute (http://www.sids.org).

Keywords: Child death, Infant death, Research, SIDS, Sleep disorders

Annotation: The Unexplained Infant Death Council assists the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) to develop unexplained infant death training and educational programs, to inform the governor and the legislature of the need for specific programs regarding unexplained infant deaths, and to approve and periodically review the infant death investigation checklist. The council consists of 11 members and is staffed by the ADHS Child Fatality Review Program. The council develops protocols for investigations of infant deaths that have no previously diagnosed illness contributing to the death. The protocols specifically address the need for compassion and sensitivity with parents and caregivers, include recommended procedures for law enforcement, and require scene investigations as a component of the infant death investigation.

Keywords: SIDS, Arizona, Child death, Infant death, Infant mortality, State organizations

Annotation: The British Association for the Study and Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect (BASPCAN) is a registered charity which aims to prevent physical, emotional and sexual abuse and neglect of children by promoting the physical, emotional, and social well-being of children. Its aim to promote the rights of children as citizens, through multi-disciplinary collaboration, education, campaigning and other appropriate activities, within its powers and resources. BASPCAN membership is open to all with an interest in, or working in the field of child protection. Members are drawn from social work, medicine, psychology, psychiatry, nursing, legal and law enforcement agencies, probation, and education and academic fields, as well as related welfare and voluntary groups throughout the world. Activities include national and regional study days, conferences, seminars and discussions, and a large international congress every three years.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child death review, Child neglect, Child protection services, United Kingdom

Annotation: The Colorado Child Fatality Review Committee is a multidisciplinary group of professionals representing public health, medicine, law and law enforcement, child welfare, forensics, mental health, and other special interests related to the health and safety of children. The committee has been reviewing all child deaths in Colorado since 1989 to: describe trends and patterns of child death in Colorado, identify and investigate the prevalence of risk factors for child death, characterize high-risk groups in terms compatible with the development of public policy, evaluate the service and system responses to children and families who are at high risk and to offer recommendations for improvement in those responses, and improve the quality and scope of data necessary for child death investigation and review. Specific benefits have resulted from the child fatality review process. These include a better understanding of how children are dying in Colorado, greater accountability among professionals, participation in the development of prevention strategies, statewide child death investigation training, stimulation of policy assessment, and improvement in dialogue with the media.

Keywords: Child death, Colorado, Infant death, Infant mortality, Prevention, SIDS, State agencies

Annotation: Compassionate Friends is a non-profit self-help organization that offers friendship and understanding to families who have experienced the death of a child of any age, from any cause. The group provides support to bereaved parents, grandparents, and siblings. Compassionate friends was founded in 1969; the first of 600 U.S. chapters were organized in 1972. The organization offers brochures & videos. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a catalog and a national magazine, and sponsors several regional meetings and a conference each year. Contact the national office for chapter information in your area.

Keywords: Child death, Support groups, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: The Connor Kirby Infant Memorial Foundation provides financial assistance for funeral and cemetery expenses and for therapy sessions to families suffering from the loss of an infant.

Keywords: Infant death, Bereavement, Child death, Family support services, Fetal death, Financial support, Grief, Infant mortality

Annotation: The Lullaby Trust provides specialist support for bereaved families and promotes expert advice on safer baby sleep. It was previously called The Foundation for the Study of Infant Deaths (FSID).

Keywords: Child death, Infant death, International organizations, International programs, Professional resources, Public awareness materials, SIDS, Training, United Kingdom

Annotation: The Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center at Children's Hospital is a statewide program that provides information, counseling, and support to anyone experiencing a sudden and unexpected infant death from any cause. In addition it is Minnesota's resource for information on sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and SIDS risk reduction, and conducts training and educational programs for health care providers, child care workers, and other professional and community groups. The center tracks infant mortality trends in Minnesota and participates in local, state, and national initiatives to reduce the risk of sudden, unexpected infant death. The center is a partnership between Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota and the Minnesota Department of Health.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child death, Infant death, Minnesota, Parent education, Risk factors, SIDS, State programs

Annotation: The National Association of Medical Examiners (NAME) is the national professional organization of physician medical examiners, medical death investigators and death investigation system administrators who perform the official duties of the medicolegal investigation of deaths of public interest in the United States. NAME was founded in 1966 with the dual purposes of fostering the professional growth of physician death investigators and disseminating the professional and technical information vital to the continuing improvement of the medical investigation of violent, suspicious and unusual deaths. Growing from a small nucleus of concerned physicians, NAME has expanded its scope to include physician medical examiners and coroners, medical death investigators and medicolegal system administrators from throughout the United States and other countries.

Keywords: Cause of death, Child death review, Death certificate, Infant death review, Investigations, Professional societies

Annotation: The National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention (National CFRP) combines the National Center for the Review and Prevention of Child Deaths and the National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Center. The center promotes, supports, and enhances methodologies to improve death investigations, forensics, and services to families; and helps states and communities develop strategies to prevent fetal, infant, and child deaths and serious injuries. It also manages a database of information about the circumstances involved in individual deaths compiled by state and local review teams and provides national leadership in building public and private partnerships to incorporate findings from local and state death reviews into policy and program efforts that improve child health and safety.The center is funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Child death review, National MCH resource center, Resource centers

Annotation: The National Citizens Review Panels promotes and supports state-level citizen review panels (CRPs) -- groups of citizen volunteers who are federally mandated to evaluate their state's child protective services agency. The national organization coordinates communication among the state panels throughout the United States and shares promising practices and facilitates the work of the panels. The Web site contains information about each state's CRP, including contact information, state program overviews, annual reports, citizen volunteer application and recruitment tools, training materials, and related documents.

Keywords: Infant death, Child death, Child death review, Child protective services, Infant mortality

Annotation: The Child Fatality Review Committee (CFRC) was created by Executive Order in 1991 to reduce preventable child fatalities through systemic multidisciplinary review of child fatalities in New Hampshire; through multidisciplinary training and community based prevention education; and through data-driven recommendations for legislation and public policy. The Committee membership is comprised of representation from the medical, law enforcement, judicial, legal, victim services, public health, mental health, child protection and education communities. The Committee began reviewing cases of child fatalities in 1996 to identify risk factors related to deaths and make recommendations aimed at improving systematic responses in an effort to prevent similar deaths in the future. The Committee provides the recommendations to the participating agencies and asks them to take actions consistent with their own mandates. The Committee publishes the recommendation and the agency responses to those recommendations in an Annual Report.

Keywords: State agencies, , Cause of death, Child death review, Child mortality, Infant death review committees, New Hampshire

Annotation: The Northwest Infant Survival and SIDS Alliance (NISSA) is dedicated to the informational and emotional support of bereaved families, to the education of the general public and health professionals, and to the ultimate elimination of this tragic medical phenomenon through research. NISSA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit health organization. It was formerly called SIDS Foundation of Washington.

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Grief, Infant mortality, Prevention, SIDS, State organizations

Annotation: Sudden Infant Death Services of Illinois (SIDS of Illinois) is dedicated to the prevention and eventual elimination of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other causes of infant death through through educational initiatives stressing proven risk reduction strategies. Activities include reducing infant mortality by decreasing the incidence of infant deaths due to SIDS, accidental suffocation, overlay, entrapment, metabolic disorders, and other accidental causes; improving the quantity and quality of comprehensive, family-centered bereavement services for those impacted by a sudden pediatric death; and training professionals throughout Illinois who are likely to encounter cases of sudden pediatric death to better assist newly grieving families. Information on services and materials are available from the Web site for parents, children, friends, grandparents, as well as professionals.

Keywords: State organizations, Child death, Educational materials, Illinois, Infant death, Injury prevention, Neonatal death, Prevention, Resources for professionals, SIDS

Annotation: The Sudden Unexplained Death in Childhood (SUDC) Foundation (formerly the SUDC Program created in 2001) provides information, support, and advocacy for families and professionals affected by sudden unexplained death in childhood (SUDC), and promotes awareness of SUDC in communities. The foundation funds research, provides grief support services for families, shares information, builds public awareness and understanding of SUDC, and raises donations.

Keywords: Cause of death, Child death, Family support programs, Infant death, Outreach, Peer support programs, SIDS, Stillbirth

Annotation: The Center for Infant and Child Loss assists Maryland families as they learn to live with the loss of their child and to have hope for the future. The Center's programs reach out to bereaved families and the community and foster hope by offering public education, health professional training, and instruction for emergency responders and others who may provide support. Each of the Center's four programs is designed to meet individual, family, and community needs. For those families who do experience the sudden death of an infant or child, the Center makes immediate contact to give them available information about the cause of death and support in their grief. The Center produces a newsletter titled Insights.

Keywords: Infant death, Bereavement counselors, Child death, Community outreach, Families, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Maryland, Professional training, Public education, SIDS, State organizations, State programs