Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) supports and promotes a national network of university-based interdisciplinary programs. Network members comprise University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities programs, and Intellectual and Developmental Disability Research Centers. AUCD programs serve as a bridge between the university and the community, bringing the resources of both to achieve meaningful change. AUCD’s website addresses the range of interdisciplinary network activities, including services for children, adults, and families; academic training; research; training and technical assistance; policy advocacy; program evaluation; and dissemination of best practices and new information.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Fundraising, Medical research, Mental retardation, SCAN, University affiliated centers, University affiliated programs

Annotation: The Catalyst Center at the Boston University School of Public Health is dedicated to improving coverage and financing of care for children and youth with special health care needs. The center creates publications and products, answers technical assistance questions, researches innovative state-based financing strategies, guides stakeholders to outside resources, and connects those interested in working together to address complex health care financing issues. The center is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Adolescents with special health care needs, Health care financing, Health insurance, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, Youth

Annotation: The Center for Parent Information and Resources (CPIR) serves as a central source of information and products for the community of Parent Training Information (PTI) Centers and the Community Parent Resource Centers (CPRCs) so that they can focus their efforts on serving families of children with disabilities. The Center also works to increase the coordination of parent training efforts throughout the network and to increase Parent Centers’ knowledge and capacity in specific domains. CPIR's online resource cover key topics, K-12 issues, early intervention/early childhood, and parent centers' 14 priorities. Users can customize their online searches by audience, format, language, and resource producer. Resources are available in English and Spanish. It is funded by the Office of Special Education Programs at the U.S. Department of Education. This center continues the work of the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Information sources, Parenting, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Special education

Annotation: The Early Head Start National Resource Center (EHS NRC) provides expertise, materials, resources, information, training, and technical assistance to Early Head Start and Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs, technical assistance providers, and federal staff in all work related to services for infants, toddlers, pregnant women, and families. EHS NRC provides professional development and technical assistance supports such as the annual Birth to Three Institute and national orientation conference, special initiatives, audio-conferences, online lessons, data analysis, and leadership seminars. EHS NRC also facilitates networks and forums such as listservs and work groups, and develops resources such as technical assistance papers, tip sheets, webinars and webcasts, an electronic newsletter, podcasts, research briefs, e-mail digests, and white papers.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Child development services, Early childhood education, Head Start, Low income groups, Nuvee, Resource centers, Training

Annotation: Family Voices aims to achieve family-centered care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Family Voices provides families with tools to make informed decisions, advocate for improved public and private policies, build partnerships with professionals, and serve as trusted health care resources. Family Voices provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family-to-Family Health Information Centers and partnering organizations. The website features health information and resources including publications, news, projects, events, and advocacy efforts.

Keywords: Parent groups, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Consumer education, Family resource centers, Health insurance, Health policy, Legislation, Medicaid, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, State children', State programs, s health insurance program

Annotation: Family-to-Family Health Information Centers (F2F HICs) are family-staffed organizations that assist families of children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and the professionals who serve them. F2F HICs provide support, information, resources, and training on health itopics such as health insurance availability; early screening and intervention; the medical home, appropriate transition services for youth; and leadership and decision-making capacity for all families. The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Maternal Child Health Bureau (MCHB) provides the primary funding support for the centers.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers

Annotation: The Foster Care and Adoption Resource Center (FCARC) provides information and resources for Wisconsin's prospective foster and adoptive families; public, tribal, and private agency foster care, child welfare and adoption staff; and youth currently or previously involved with the foster care system. To assist in providing and locating information, the FCARC provides a toll-free information line, e-mail contact, and comprehensive web-based resources.

Keywords: State agencies, Adoption, Child advocacy, Child welfare, Children, Foster care, Foster parents, Parent support services, Resource centers, Wisconsin

Annotation: The LEND Center at the University of Pittsburgh (formerly UCLID) is an interdisciplinary leadership training program in developmental disabilities affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh and Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh. Funded training opportunities are available to students enrolled in graduate and post-graduate programs in health care, psychology, education, public health, law, and social services. The program provides training with a focus on autism spectrum disorders, sickle cell disease, fragile X, and audiology.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Interdisciplinary approach, Leadership training, MCH training programs, University affiliated centers

Annotation: The National Association for Regulatory Administration (NARA) is an international professional association that shares information and offers technical assistance on regulatory issues in child care and other areas. Membership is open to consumers, providers, lawmakers, advocates, corporate leaders, and policymakers. The association provides referrals, publishes a quarterly newsletter on development and enforcement of regulations, program and regulatory trends, conferences and training events, and significant litigation.

Keywords: Child care centers, Child care services, Child health, Child welfare, Infant health, Licensing, Regulations, Residential care

Annotation: The National Center for Children's Vision and Eye Health at Prevent Blindness America supports the development of a public health infrastructure to promote and ensure a comprehensive, multi-tiered continuum of vision care and eye health for young children. The center serves as a central resource for health promotion and leadership development. It is also a resource for education and training on children's vision and eye health for public and private entities throughout the United States. Resources include vision screening device review, fact sheets on children's vision and access to eye care, and information on state school vision requirements. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children, Eye care, Eye diseases, Resource centers

Annotation: The purpose of the National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC) is to increase the capacity of health and mental health programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems. The Center provides technical assistance and consultation, networking opportunities, and information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Resources and publications include policy briefs, checklists, self assessments, promising practices, distance learning, and conference information. The center's Web site includes a Spanish language portal for families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Guidelines, Infant care, Information networks, Information sources, Linguistic competence, National MCH resource center, Networking, Program development, Program evaluation, Publications, Resource centers, SIDS, Spanish language materials, Title V programs, Training

Annotation: The National Center for Family / Professional Partnerships (NCFPP) is operated by Family Voices to provide technical assistance, training, and connections among Family to Family Health Information Centers (F2G HICs), Family Voices network members, and other partnering organizations. Services include electronic newsletters for the public and list services for grantees of the F2F HIC grantees. The center is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Families, Parent professional relations, Resource centers, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The National Center on Child Care Professional Development Systems and Workforce Initiatives (PWD Center) works to build state/territory capacity to prepare and sustain a qualified workforce for early childhood and school age programs. The PDW Center creates specialized TA tools to support professional development system assessment and strategic decisionmaking, facilitates topical learning communities, and coordinates the work of infant/toddler and school-age Communities of Practice. It is jointly funded by the Administration for Children and Families' Office of Child Care and Office of Head Start.

Keywords: Child care, Resource centers, Work force

Annotation: Childbirth Connection was founded in 1918 as the Maternity Center Association; its mission is to improve the quality, value, and outcomes of maternity care through consumer engagement and health system transformation. The program promotes safe, effective, and satisfying evidence-based maternity care and serves as a voice for childbearing families. Childbirth Connection is a core program of the National Partnership for Women and Families.

Keywords: Birthing centers, Childbirth, Evidence based medicine, Family-centered maternity services, Prenatal care

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Diligent Recruitment (NRCDR) at AdoptUSKids provides training and technical assistance to states, Tribes, territories, and courts to increase their capacity to recruit and retain foster, adoptive, and kinship families. NRCDR provides technical assistance, tools, coaching, and other support in its efforts to create lasting systemic changes to improve safety, permanency, and well-being outcomes for children, youth and families. The center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Adoption, Child welfare, Foster care, Resource centers, Technical assistance

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Family-Centered Practice and Permanency Planning (NRCFCPP) (formerly the National Resource Center for Foster Care and Permanency Planning) at the Hunter College School of Social Work is a training, technical assistance, and information services organization dedicated to increasing the capacity of child welfare agencies to provide children with safe, family-centered care in supportive communities. A service of the U.S. Children's Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Administration for Children and Families, the center works in collaboration with partners at the Child Welfare League of America and the National Indian Child Welfare Association. NRCFCPPP publishes newsletters hosts Webcasts and teleconferences and provides free downloadable documents, including training curricula, legislative updates, and topic-specific resource guides. The center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Child welfare, Adoption, Foster care, Resource centers

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education (NRC) at the University of Colorado Denver promotes health and safety in out-of-home child care settings throughout the nation. NRC collaborates with the American Public Health Association, the American Academy of Pediatrics, and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau to produce national health and safety performance standards guidelines for out-of-home child care programs. The center's website provides resources for child care providers, parents, health consultants, regulators, and early childhood systems leaders including a database of state licensure regulations.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Child care workers, Child safety, Consumer education, Information sources, Injury prevention, National MCH resource center, Online databases, Regulations, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, Standards, State programs, Technical assistance, Training

Annotation: The National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home works to ensure that all children and youth, including children with special needs, have a medical home where health care services are accessible, family-centered, continuous, comprehensive, coordinated, compassionate, and culturally competent. The Center provides medical home resources and advocacy materials, technical assistance, and tools to physicians, families, and other medical and non-medical providers who care for children. The Center works in cooperation with federal agencies, particularly the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and other partners and stakeholders to meet its goals and objectives. The center was formerly the National Center for Medical Home Implementation (NCMHI).

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Medical home, National MCH resource center, Networking, Resource centers, Training

Annotation: Fostering Connections provides information on the Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008, Children's Bureau policy and guidance, and related resources and websites. Topics include adoption, education, health care, psychotropic and prescription medications, kinship/guardianship, emancipating/older youth, family connections grantees, tribal issues, siblings, and training. Fostering Connections is a component of the National Resource Center for Permanency and Family Connections.

Keywords: Adoption, Family centered services, Foster care, Foster children, Foster parents, Information dissemination, Resource centers

Annotation: The Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities (OCECD) is a statewide, nonprofit organization that serves families of infants, toddlers, children, and youth with disabilities in Ohio, and the agencies who provide services to them. The coalition's mission is to ensure that every Ohio child with special needs receives a free, appropriate, public education in the least restrictive environment to enable that child to reach his/her highest potential. Programs are designed to help parents become informed and effective representatives for their children in all educational settings. PACER's Family-to-Family Health Information Center provides a single source of information, including resources and support, for families whose children have disabilities and complex health care needs. The coalition provides programs for Native American, African American, Hispanic/Latino, Somali and Southeast Asian communities, and many publications have been translated into Hmong, Somali and Spanish. Other programs focus on grandparents, housing, and bullying prevention. Through the Technical Assistance ALLIANCE for Parent Centers, PACER offers consultation and technical assistance to the over 100 parent centers across the nation funded under the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

Keywords: Special education, Children with special health care needs, Early Intervention, Education programs, Family resource centers, Nuvee, Ohio, Parenting, Public policies, Support groups