Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (244 total).

100 Percent Campaign

Annotation: The 100% Campaign, a collaborative effort of Children Now, Children's Defense Fund, and The Children's Partnership, with primary funding from The California Endowment, was created to ensure that all of California's children obtain the health coverage they need to grow up strong and healthy.

Keywords: Health insurance, Access to health care, Child health

ABC for Health (ABC for Health)

Annotation: ABC for Health (Advocacy and Benefits Counseling for Health) is a Wisconsin-based nonprofit public interest law firm dedicated to ensuring health care access for children and families, particularly those with special needs or who are at risk. ABC for Health's mission is to provide health care consumers with the information, advocacy tools, legal services, and expert support they need to navigate through America's health care financing system.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Health care financing, Legal issues, State organizations, Wisconsin

ADA National Network

Annotation: The ADA National Network (formerly the Americans with Disabilities Act Regional Disability and Business Technical Assistance Centers) consists of 10 regional centers that provide local assistance and foster implementation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) throughout the United States. The regional centers focus on the specific needs of the residents who reside in their service area. The Network develops projects and events of national significance and works closely with national partners. It conducts research, provides training, and produces a variety of publications. The ADA Knowledge Translation Center, which is also part of the Network, conducts systematic reviews of the current state of ADA related research and translating findings into plain language summaries for policymakers, technical reports, publications in peer-review journals, and presentations at national conferences.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Accessible facilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Technical assistance

U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF)

Annotation: The U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF) administers programs focusing on the well-being of children and the self-sufficiency of families. Some services at ACF include programs involving persons with developmental disabilities, child care, child welfare services, prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect, runaway and homeless youth, Head Start, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and child support enforcement issues. ACF also supports an Healthy Marriage Initiative which focuses on low-income married couples with children, the Fatherhood Initiative, and the Family Violence Prevention and Services Program. ACF provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The agency also publishes newsletters, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child support, Domestic violence, Family centered care, Family economics, Family relations, Family support programs, Fathers, Head Start, Spanish language materials, Training materials, Young children

Adopt a Special Kid (AASK)

Annotation: Adopt A Special Kid (AASK) provides complete, no-fee foster and adoption services to families interested in helping children in the child welfare system. The organization was formed in 1973 on the principle that it is every child's right to be a permanent member of a supportive family. AASK's pioneering success in placing children in California lead to requests to replicate its program model, and, today, adoption programs and services developed by AASK operate in California, Arizona, Ohio and New Mexico. In addition to its programs to find families for waiting children, AASK also advocates systemic changes that will improve life opportunities for these children.

Keywords: Adoption, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Model programs, Services

AdoptUSKids

Annotation: AdoptUSKids works to raise public awareness about the need for foster and adoptive families and supports states, territories, and Tribes in their efforts to find families for children in foster care, particularly the most challenging to place. AdoptUSKids offers a variety of resources, services, and tools to both families and child welfare professionals. One of its core services is to provide technical assistance and resources to states, territories, and Tribes through the National Resource Center for Diligent Recruitment at AdoptUSKids (NRCDR).

Keywords: Adoptive parents, Adoption, . Collaboration, Children, Foster care, Foster parents, Information sources, Public service announcements

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, CHIPRA Pediatric Quality Measures Program (PQMP)

Annotation: The CHIPRA Pediatric Quality Measures Program is the dedicated home for information on the development and enhancement of children's health care quality measures as directed under the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA). The website provides information on the program's process and timeline, as well as the Centers of Excellence (COE) funded to develop or enhance pediatric quality measures and test the performance of those measures against specific criteria.

Keywords: Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Measures, Pediatric care, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children

Annotation: The Alliance for Transforming the Lives of Children (TLC) promotes optimal human development from preconception through early childhood, offering guidance about consciously conceiving, birthing, and nurturing children. The Alliance synthesyzes age-old wisdom and leading scientific research in its efforts to champion a compassionate culture, capable of enjoying, learning from, and responsively and lovingly interacting with children. TLC hosts an online discussion group, produces an electronic newsletter, and provides parent mentoring and educational services through its WarmLine family support program. The alliance also posts annoted reading lists and publications produced by affiliate organizations.

Keywords: , Mentors, Human development, Child care, Community participation, Family support programs, Infant care, Parent education, Parenting, Preconception care, Prenatal care

Alliance for Work / Life Progress (AWLP)

Annotation: The Alliance for Work / Life Progress (AWLP) is a membership organization that strives to promote the professionalism of those working in the work-life arena and to influence better integration of work and family life. Services to members include publications; an annual conference; training seminars; a bimonthly newsletter; regional events; referrals and networking; insurance; subscription discounts; and professional involvement. The Web site includes a directory of local work-life groups. AWLP was founded as the Alliance for Work / Life Professionals and the name was changed in 2003.

Keywords: Child care, Employer initiatives

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students that seeks to promote the science and art of family medicine and to ensure high-quality, cost-effective health care for clients of all ages. AAFP's website contains news and information on journals, continuing medical education, clinical care and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, and careers. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features information for specific populations including women, men, parents and kids, and older adults; health tools such as a guide to over-the-counter medications; and tips for healthy living. The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) advocates for policies, guidelines, and programs that promote optimal oral health and oral health care for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs (SHCNs). AAPD’s website contains guidelines and policy statements and issues of the journal, Pediatric Dentistry.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Consumer education, Education, Guidelines, Medical research, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Professional societies, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Dental Home Resource Center

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics (AAP SODBP), founded in 1960, works to optimize the relationship between primary care and subspecialists, provide education and disseminate strategies to support quality clinical practice, and advocate on behalf of children and providers. The website provides information about educational activities and a toolbox of resources and tools to help physicians advocate for children at the federal, state, or local practice level; screen and assess developmental and behavioral concerns; and support developmental and behavioral services and policies related to developmental and behavioral pediatrics. Additional contents include the Learning Disabilities Navigator, a comprehensive resource guide for learning difficulties and disabilities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Behavior development, Child development, Continuing education, Developmental screening, Emotional development, Pediatric care, Resources for professionals

American Academy of Pediatrics, Illinois Chapter

Annotation: The Illinois Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (ICAAP) is an organization of approximately 2,300 pediatricians in Illinois. Primary activities include advocacy on behalf of children, families, and health professionals in Illinois; the provision of continuing medical education and other resources for pediatricians, pediatric specialists, and other child health care providers; and collaboration with other state organizations and agencies on programs and projects that improve the health and well-being of children.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Children, Illinois, Pediatric care, Pediatricians

American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatric History Center

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatric's Pediatric History Center documents the story of the advancement in caring for children and meeting their special needs. The center includes oral histories, archival documents, artifacts, historical publications and papers, and the archives of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent health, Child advocacy, Child care, History, Oral history, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Resources for professionals, Young children

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

American Dental Association, Give Kids a Smile! (GKAS)

Annotation: The American Dental Association's Give Kids a Smile Children's Dental Access Program (GKAS) is a professional and industry alliance dedicated to the elimination of cavities in U.S. five year olds by 2020 by nurturing and enhancing community-based children's oral health and wellness programs that are expandable, sustainable, and innovative. Each year on the first Friday in February, dental teams provide free oral health care services to children from families with low incomes across the country. The GKAS website provides a planning toolbox for local programs, resources and reports, information about sponsors and products, and frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental care, Initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.