Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: The Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare is a collaboration of experts from five Canadian organizations, including the University of Toronto, McGill University, l'Universite de Montreal, the Child Welfare League of Canada, and the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society. It provides the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal for up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies, a network of services designed to protect children from abuse and neglect, supports for families in difficulty, and children placed in out-of-home care.

Keywords: Canada, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, International organizations, Prevention programs

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information services to child welfare and related professionals and the public as the clearinghouse for the Children’s Bureau, compiling, synthesizing, and disseminating resources to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families. The Information Gateway provides access to publications, websites, and online databases covering a range of topics, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, and the content areas for which the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA) members provide support.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Annotation: Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline offers crisis intervention, information, and referrals to emergency, social service, and support resources. Dedicated to the prevention of child abuse, the hotline is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with professional crisis counselors who, through interpreters, can provide assistance in 170 languages, including Spanish. All calls are anonymous and confidential. The hotline number is (800) 4-A-CHILD (800) 422-4453.

Keywords: Child abuse, Crisis intervention, Hotlines, Non English language materials, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: The Children's Research Center is a division of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD). The CRC works to reduce the incidence of child abuse and neglect by influencing public policies that affect the child welfare system, by conducting policy research and by assisting child welfare agencies in improve consistency and effectiveness in delivery systems. The center provides research to identify factors related to continued abuse and neglect, development of risk assessment instruments, protocols, and standards for case management, and evaluation and technical assistance to assure proper implementation. CRC sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars, and publishes a newsletter, journal, and research reports.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Injury prevention, Standards, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Children's Trust Fund is a state agency creates solely for the purpose of preventiung child abuse and neglect.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Prevention programs, State MCH agencies

Annotation: The Committee for Children promotes the safety, well-being, and social development of children through developing bullying, youth violence, and child abuse prevention curricula and videos for educators, families, and communities. The Committee sponsors Steps to Respect, a bullying prevention program geared towards children in the upper elementary grades; Second Step, a curriculum for preschool to junior high students which teaches social skills to reduce impulsive and aggressive behavior in children and increase their level of social competence; and Talking About Touching, a personal safety curriculum. Information is provided on foundations of research and outcome evaluations for individual programs. Consultation and technical assistance on program implementation is also available. Links to related conferences, funding opportunities, and statistics are provided.

Keywords: Violence prevention, Audiovisual materials, Bullying, Child abuse, Curriculum development, Program evaluation, Technical assistance

Annotation: The Family Life Development Center was established to improve professional and public efforts to understand and respond to risk factors in the lives of children, youth, families, and communities that lead to violence and maltreatment. Areas of special interest include child maltreatment and family violence, youth development, children in residential care, HIV/AIDS prevention, and military family life. As a multidisciplinary unit of the Cornell University College of Human Ecology, the Center works to achieve its mission through research, training, and outreach. It serves New York State, the nation and the international community.

Keywords: Child abuse prevention, Families, Research, Training, Violence prevention

Annotation: Free To Grow is a national demonstration program aimed at strengthening Head Start's organizational capacity and local partnerships to implement integrated family and community strengthening strategies to reduce young children's vulnerability to substance abuse, child abuse and other destructive behaviors. Free to Grow works to identify the best ideas and practices in the field of prevention in general, and substance abuse and child abuse prevention in particular, and apply them to improve the overall environment of young children. There are fifteen Free To Grow sites across the country. These sites work in collaboration with local funding and program partners, including school systems, law enforcement, and substance abuse and mental health treatment programs. Funded by a partnership of foundations and government agencies, the program operates out of Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health. The Web site provides an electronic newsletter and information about strategies and resources of use to families and professionals.

Keywords: Child abuse, Community programs, Head Start, National initiatives, Prevention programs, Substance abuse

Annotation: The FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (CBCAP) Programs provides training and technical assistance to federally funded CBCAP Programs. The Center assists in building networks, collecting data, promoting stakeholder involvement, and providing access to resources. The Web site provides access to online learning tools, print materials, a listserv, weblinks, and information on upcoming meetings and events. The Center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Community programs, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Parent support services, Prevention programs, State programs

Annotation: The mission of International Child Resource Institute (ICRI) is to improve the lives of children and families throughout the world, enabling them to survive and succeed. ICRI provides services for families and children locally and around the world through technical assistance and consultation to a wide variety of national and international organizations, businesses, governments, non-profits and others interested in such children's issues as child care, child abuse prevention, child survival, maternal and child health, placement alternatives for abandoned and traumatized children and the promotion of children's rights.

Keywords: Child care, Adoption, Child abuse prevention, Child health, Cultural competence, Developing countries, Development, Early childhood education, Information services, Maternal health

Annotation: The Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC) is a component of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service that collects, synthesizes, and disseminates information on juvenile justice and delinquency prevention. Through print and other media, the Clearinghouse offers the latest research findings, descriptions of promising programs, publications on youth-related issues, practical guides and manuals, announcements of funding opportunities, and other resources on juvenile justice and related topics.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Clearinghouses, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Missing children, Runaways, School dropouts, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse

Annotation: Leadership to Keep Children Alcohol Free is a multi-year, public-private partnership focused on preventing the use of alcohol by children, funded by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) at the National Institutes of Health and The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. It was begun in 2000.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Children, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: The National Alliance for Hispanic Health (NAHH) is a network of Hispanic health and human service providers that focuses on improving the health and well being of Hispanics. The alliance maintains the National Hispanic Family Health Helpline (866-783-2645) which offers Hispanic consumers free reliable and confidential health information in Spanish and English.Services to consumers includes referrals to local sources of information and medical services, inquiry responses, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Adolescent health, Child abuse, Child health, Education, Information services, Injury prevention, Minority health, Minority health promotion, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Training

Annotation: The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) provides professionals and the public with information and publications concerning missing children, child molestation, child pornography, and child prostitution. The center sponsors a hotline to assist the public in reporting missing and exploited children and in providing information leading to the location of these children. The center also maintains national statistics and information on the incidence of abductions; conducts a training and technical assistance programs; and provides news bulletins, fact sheets, and other resources for parents and guardians, childcare providers, law enforcement officers, and the media. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Intentional injuries, Assault, Child abuse, Child pornography, Child sexual abuse, Family violence, Homicide, Information services, Injury prevention, Missing children, Public education

Annotation: Founded in 1985 by the American Prosecutors Research Institute in response to a dramatic increase in reported child abuse cases, the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse (NCPCA) works to improve the investigation and prosecution of child abuse through court reform, professional specialization, and interagency coordination. The center provides training and technical assistance, research services, a national network of child abuse prosecutors (through the National District Attorneys Association), and a clearinghouse on case law, court reforms, legislative initiatives, and trial strategies. Publications include a comprehensive manual, Investigation and Prosecution of Child Abuse, and a monthly newsletter, Update.

Keywords: Child abuse, Advocacy, Child advocacy, Clearinghouses, Information dissemination, Injury prevention, Legal issues, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: The National Center on Shaken Baby Syndrome (NCSBS), formerly the National Information, Support and Referral Service on Shaken Baby Syndrome, a private, non-profit organization founded in 1997, works to provide information on shaken baby syndrome (SBS) and abusive head trauma (AHT) to professionals and parents, nationally and internationally The organization offers SBS prevention programs, materials, and training. Information is also disseminated through conferences and training seminars. The Center developed the "Period of Purple Crying" campaign and materials. SBS Quarterly is the organization's newsletter, available at no charge. The Center also produces a catalog.

Keywords: Infant health, Child abuse, Prevention, Shaken baby syndrome

Annotation: The National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC) is a non-profit organization that provides training, prevention, intervention and treatment services to fight child abuse and neglect. NCAC hosts the National Symposium on Child Abuse and the National Conference on Child Abuse Prevention; provides training seminars and online training programs for professionals; conducts research and develops best practice models; offers family-support services, including home visitation programs, and school-based programs for children; and provides intervention programs and therapy services for victims of child abuse. Additional information for children, families, and professionals is posted on the Web site.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Crisis intervention, Distance education, Electronic publications, Family support services, Maltreated children, Model programs, Prevention, Professional education, Research, Training, Victims

Annotation: The National Coalition to Prevent Child Sexual Abuse and Exploitation seeks a unified effort to promote the healthy development of children and youth, and end child sexual abuse and exploitation. Membership includes organizations and individuals dedicated to dignity and health for all children and promoting adult and corporate responsibility in protecting children and creating caring connections with peers and adults fostering full, healthy, and productive lives. The Coalition prepares and distributes a national plan to prevent child sexual abuse and exploitation as well as an e-newsletter.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child abuse, Child health, Children, Prevention services, Sexual abuse

Annotation: The National SafeCare Training and Research Center (NSTRC) engages in research efforts to improve the training, implementation, and translation of the SafeCare model, an evidence-based home visitation program that has been shown to reduce child maltreatment among families with a history for maltreatment or with risk factors for maltreatment. NSTRC cultivates collaboration with communities, child welfare administrators, and policymakers to increase support and resources for evidence-based practice and the prevention of child abuse and neglect on a local, national, and international scale.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Collaboration, High risk groups, Home visiting, Model programs, Prevention programs, Research, Training