Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (61 total).

U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF)

Annotation: The U.S. Administration for Children and Families (ACF) administers programs focusing on the well-being of children and the self-sufficiency of families. Some services at ACF include programs involving persons with developmental disabilities, child care, child welfare services, prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect, runaway and homeless youth, Head Start, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and child support enforcement issues. ACF also supports an Healthy Marriage Initiative which focuses on low-income married couples with children, the Fatherhood Initiative, and the Family Violence Prevention and Services Program. ACF provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The agency also publishes newsletters, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child support, Domestic violence, Family centered care, Family economics, Family relations, Family support programs, Fathers, Head Start, Spanish language materials, Training materials, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) develops policy and educates health professionals and the public on pediatric health needs, and serves as an advocate for children, adolescents, and families by promoting legislation and community-based programs that affect their health. Publications include Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, AAP News, policy statements, manuals, patient education materials, and a monthly journal, Pediatrics, as well as a publications catalog. Some resources are available in Spanish and other languages. AAP also sponsors conferences and training seminars for members.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child care, Child health, Conferences, Immunization, Injury prevention, Pediatrics, Preventive health services, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

American Humane Association, Children's Services (AHA)

Annotation: The Children's Services of the American Humane Association (AHA) ensures that effective child protective service systems are in place in every part of America. The association provides comprehensive training for professionals (social workers, physicians, teachers, law enforcement personnel, nurses, and judges), provides expert evaluation and technical assistance to community and statewide child protective programs, and promotes national standards for programs to protect children from abuse and neglect. Publications include professional resources for frontline workers, child welfare professionals, administrators, legislators, and the general public. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protection agencies, Child protective services, Information services, Technical assistance, Training

American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC)

Annotation: The American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC) brings together psychologists, social workers, physicians, attorneys, nurses, law enforcement officers, child protective services workers, administrators, researchers, and allied professionals who have dedicated a substantial portion of their professional lives to alleviating the problems caused by child maltreatment. The mission of APSAC is to ensure that everyone affected by child abuse and neglect receives high quality professional response. APSAC is committed to providing continuing professional education which promotes effective, culturally sensitive, and interdisciplinary approaches to the identification, intervention, treatment and prevention of child abuse and neglect; to educating the public about the complex issues involved in child abuse and neglect; and to ensuring that public policy affecting America's response to child maltreatment is well informed and constructive. Publications include the quarterly APSAC Advisor and the journal Child Maltreatment as well as numerous practice guidelines and other books. The society also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Health education, Public policies

Boys Town

Annotation: Boys Town -- formerly known as Girls and Boys Town -- provides a second chance for children and adolescents with behavioral, emotional, or physical problems. Although the Boys Town headquarters is in Nebraska, its outreach is national in scope with more than a dozen treatment sites across the country. Services provided include residential care, shelter care, foster care, treatment, parent training, family crisis intervention, and a 24-hour crisis hotline, as well as technical assistance and referrals to other residential care programs across the nation. The focus is on implementing an integrated continuum of care for children and families based on research-proven services. Boys Town hosts a website for parents -- parenting.org -- and provides positive learning tools for educators based on the Boys Town Model. Other resources include workshops, webinars, presentations, research findings, and a blog The organization conducts research through the Boys Towns National Research Institute and provides treatment for children with speech, hearing, and visual problems at its National Research Hospital in Omaha Nebraska.

Keywords: Adolescents, Speech disorders, Hearing disorders,, Child abuse, Child neglect, Foster care, Residential programs

British Association for the Study and Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect (BASPCAN)

Annotation: The British Association for the Study and Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect (BASPCAN) is a registered charity which aims to prevent physical, emotional and sexual abuse and neglect of children by promoting the physical, emotional, and social well-being of children. Its aim to promote the rights of children as citizens, through multi-disciplinary collaboration, education, campaigning and other appropriate activities, within its powers and resources. BASPCAN membership is open to all with an interest in, or working in the field of child protection. Members are drawn from social work, medicine, psychology, psychiatry, nursing, legal and law enforcement agencies, probation, and education and academic fields, as well as related welfare and voluntary groups throughout the world. Activities include national and regional study days, conferences, seminars and discussions, and a large international congress every three years.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child death review, Child neglect, Child protection services, United Kingdom

Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare

Annotation: The Centre of Excellence for Child Welfare is a collaboration of experts from five Canadian organizations, including the University of Toronto, McGill University, l'Universite de Montreal, the Child Welfare League of Canada, and the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society. It provides the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal for up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies, a network of services designed to protect children from abuse and neglect, supports for families in difficulty, and children placed in out-of-home care.

Keywords: Canada, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, International organizations, Prevention programs

Child Welfare Information Gateway (CWIG)

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information services to child welfare and related professionals and the public as the clearinghouse for the Children’s Bureau, compiling, synthesizing, and disseminating resources to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families. The Information Gateway provides access to publications, websites, and online databases covering a range of topics, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, and the content areas for which the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA) members provide support.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Child Welfare League of America (CWLA)

Annotation: The Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) brings together public and private nonprofit voluntary child welfare agencies in efforts to advance policies, best practices, and collaborative strategies that result in better outcomes for vulnerable children, youth, and families. The league sets internationally recognized standards for child welfare practice; proposes public policy initiatives; offers consultation, training, and technical assistance for member agencies; and provides reference information, publications, and referrals for consumers. Areas of concern include adolescent pregnancy and parenting, adoption, AIDS, chemical dependency, child abuse and neglect, child care, child poverty, cultural competence, developmental disabilities, foster care, family preservation, homelessness, juvenile justice, kinship care, and residential group care. Publications include the Children's Voice magazine, Child Welfare Journal, Child Welfare Standards of Excellence, and the PRIDE training curriculum, along with hundreds of books.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Child abuse, Child care, Child health, Child neglect, Child welfare, Foster care, Nonprofit organizations, AIDS,

Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline

Annotation: Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline offers crisis intervention, information, and referrals to emergency, social service, and support resources. Dedicated to the prevention of child abuse, the hotline is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with professional crisis counselors who, through interpreters, can provide assistance in 170 languages, including Spanish. All calls are anonymous and confidential. The hotline number is (800) 4-A-CHILD (800) 422-4453.

Keywords: Child abuse, Crisis intervention, Hotlines, Non English language materials, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Children and Family Futures

Annotation: Children and Family Futures (CFF) provide specialized knowledge on improving collaborative practice and policy among the substance abuse, child welfare, Tribal child welfare and family judicial systems to improve the lives of children and families, particularly those affected by substance use disorders. CFF advises Federal, State, and local government and community-based agencies, conducts research on the best ways to prevent and address the problem, and provides comprehensive and innovative solutions to policy makers and practitioners.

Keywords: California, Child advocacy, Child welfare, Children, Family support services, Substance abuse, Substance use disorders

Children's Research Center (CRC)

Annotation: The Children's Research Center is a division of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD). The CRC works to reduce the incidence of child abuse and neglect by influencing public policies that affect the child welfare system, by conducting policy research and by assisting child welfare agencies in improve consistency and effectiveness in delivery systems. The center provides research to identify factors related to continued abuse and neglect, development of risk assessment instruments, protocols, and standards for case management, and evaluation and technical assistance to assure proper implementation. CRC sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars, and publishes a newsletter, journal, and research reports.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Injury prevention, Standards, Technical assistance

Children's Trust Fund

Committee for Children

Annotation: The Committee for Children promotes the safety, well-being, and social development of children through developing bullying, youth violence, and child abuse prevention curricula and videos for educators, families, and communities. The Committee sponsors Steps to Respect, a bullying prevention program geared towards children in the upper elementary grades; Second Step, a curriculum for preschool to junior high students which teaches social skills to reduce impulsive and aggressive behavior in children and increase their level of social competence; and Talking About Touching, a personal safety curriculum. Information is provided on foundations of research and outcome evaluations for individual programs. Consultation and technical assistance on program implementation is also available. Links to related conferences, funding opportunities, and statistics are provided.

Keywords: Violence prevention, Audiovisual materials, Bullying, Child abuse, Curriculum development, Program evaluation, Technical assistance

Cornell University, Family Life Development Center (FLDC)

Annotation: The Family Life Development Center was established to improve professional and public efforts to understand and respond to risk factors in the lives of children, youth, families, and communities that lead to violence and maltreatment. Areas of special interest include child maltreatment and family violence, youth development, children in residential care, HIV/AIDS prevention, and military family life. As a multidisciplinary unit of the Cornell University College of Human Ecology, the Center works to achieve its mission through research, training, and outreach. It serves New York State, the nation and the international community.

Keywords: Child abuse prevention, Families, Research, Training, Violence prevention

Duluth Family Visitation Center

Annotation: The Duluth Family Visitation Center offers support for victims of domestic violence and their children as well as supervised visitation, monitored visitation, and monitored exchange services to families affected by domestic violence. The center provides information, resources, online data sources, and intervention tools to help curb domestic violence and heal the effects of abuse.

Keywords: Child abuse, Domestic violence, Parenting, Visitation

Free to Grow: Head Start Partnerships to Promote Substance-Free Communities

Annotation: Free To Grow is a national demonstration program aimed at strengthening Head Start's organizational capacity and local partnerships to implement integrated family and community strengthening strategies to reduce young children's vulnerability to substance abuse, child abuse and other destructive behaviors. Free to Grow works to identify the best ideas and practices in the field of prevention in general, and substance abuse and child abuse prevention in particular, and apply them to improve the overall environment of young children. There are fifteen Free To Grow sites across the country. These sites work in collaboration with local funding and program partners, including school systems, law enforcement, and substance abuse and mental health treatment programs. Funded by a partnership of foundations and government agencies, the program operates out of Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health. The Web site provides an electronic newsletter and information about strategies and resources of use to families and professionals.

Keywords: Child abuse, Community programs, Head Start, National initiatives, Prevention programs, Substance abuse

FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (FRIENDS CBCAP)

Annotation: The FRIENDS National Resource Center for Community-Based Child Abuse Prevention (CBCAP) Programs provides training and technical assistance to federally funded CBCAP Programs. The Center assists in building networks, collecting data, promoting stakeholder involvement, and providing access to resources. The Web site provides access to online learning tools, print materials, a listserv, weblinks, and information on upcoming meetings and events. The Center is a participant in the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA).

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Community programs, Family centered services, Family resource centers, Family support programs, Parent support services, Prevention programs, State programs

Harlem Children's Zone

Annotation: Harlem Children's Zone is a non-profit organization that confronts child truancy, child abuse and dependency by offering services in a 100-block area. Services include Baby College parenting workshops, a preschool program, an asthma initiative, a public charter school, an obesity prevention program, academic case management for high school students, arts and technology programs, a college success office, and other family programs.

Keywords: Child abuse

International Child Resource Institute (ICRI)

Annotation: The mission of International Child Resource Institute (ICRI) is to improve the lives of children and families throughout the world, enabling them to survive and succeed. ICRI provides services for families and children locally and around the world through technical assistance and consultation to a wide variety of national and international organizations, businesses, governments, non-profits and others interested in such children's issues as child care, child abuse prevention, child survival, maternal and child health, placement alternatives for abandoned and traumatized children and the promotion of children's rights.

Keywords: Child care, Adoption, Child abuse prevention, Child health, Cultural competence, Developing countries, Development, Early childhood education, Information services, Maternal health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.