Search Results: MCH Organizations

Annotation: The American Association of Blood Banks (AABB) promotes the highest standards of care and service to patients, donors, other health care professionals, and the public by providing leadership in blood procurement, distribution, and other activities related to blood banking and transfusion medicine. More than 2,000 institutional members (community and hospital blood banks and hospital transfusion services) collect the nation's blood supply and transfuse more than 80 percent of the supply. Individual members include 8,000 physicians, scientists, medical technologists, administrators, blood donor recruiters, nurses, and public-spirited citizens. AABB sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter and journal. Some materials are available in Spanish and French and one publication in available in Japanese.

Keywords: AIDS, Blood banks, Cardiovascular diseases, HIV, Hematologic diseases, Hepatitis

Annotation: The American College of Cardiology (ACC) works to foster optimal cardiovascular care and disease prevention through professional education, promotion of research, and leadership in standards development and health care policy formulation. ACC publishes newsletters, a journal, and a catalog and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Medical education, Policy development, Professional societies

Annotation: The American College of Chest Physicians (ACCP) is a medical specialty society of physicians, surgeons, allied health professionals, and academicians who specialize in diseases of the chest: pulmonology, cardiology, cardiovascular and cardiothoracic surgery, hypertension, critical care medicine, and related disciplines. AACP promotes the prevention and treatment of diseases of the chest through leadership, education, research, and communication. The college sponsors an annual meeting, offers CME courses, publishes a journal, provides online resources, and advocates for improved health care services.

Keywords: Professional societies, Advocacy, Allied health professionals, Cardiovascular diseases, Health services, Hypertension, Medical education, Physicians

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) is a national voluntary health agency whose mission is to reduce disability and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke. AHA provides services and resources for healthcare professionals as well as patients and families. The association compiles statistics, offers advocacy services, provides continuing education courses, promotes physical activity and healthy eating, sponsors conferences and Web sessions, and publishes information and educational materials, including scientific findings, heart-healthy cookbooks for consumers, and electronic PDA programs for healthcare professionals.

Keywords: Continuing education, Advocacy, Cardiovascular diseases, Consumer materials, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Legislation, Medical education, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, Statistics

Annotation: Founded in 1985, the American Society of Hypertension (ASH) is a nonprofit organization of 2,700 physicians and scientists who conduct research and exchange scientific information on hypertension. The society receives support from member and corporate contributions and through education grants. The society publishes a newsletter and the monthly American Journal of Hypertension. The society also sponsors an annual convention, conferences, workshops, and training seminars. The Society also sponsors two award programs annually. The first program, the Young Scholars Award, focuses on the area of ongoing research training in the field of hypertension for young clinicians planning a career in academic medicine. The other award, the ASH Distinguished Scientist Award, recognizes and rewards a senior scientist who has carried out a significant body of work in the field of hypertension or related cardiovascular diseases. Both Awards are presented at the ASH Annual Scientific Meeting, held in May of each year.

Keywords: Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Hematologic diseases, Hypertension, Lung diseases, Respiratory diseases, Smoking

Annotation: The Children's Cardiomyopathy Foundation (CCF) is a 501 (C)(3) tax-exempt, public charity incorporated in New Jersey. CCF is dedicated to supporting scientific and medical research specific to pediatric cardiomyopathy. The foundation also works with physicians and affected families to promote education, awareness and advocacy. CCF has a medical advisory board of geneticists and pediatric cardiologists who are all acknowledged leaders in the field of pediatric cardiomyopathy. The Web site has detailed medical information and practical coping tips for parents and physicians.

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Children, Heart diseases, Pediatric cardiology

Annotation: The American Heart Association (AHA) Council on Cardiovascular Disease in the Young, a national voluntary organization, works to reduce the incidence of mortality and disability among children with cardiovascular disease. It supports the Heart Power! the Heart Health Education Program for school Children. Publications include Safeguarding Your Heart During Pregnancy, Innocent Heart Murmurs, If Your Child Has a Congenital Heart Defect, Your Child and Rheumatic Fever, Feeding Infants with Congenital Heart Disease, Abnormal Heart Rhythms—What Parents Should Know, Dental Care for Children with Heart Disease, Children and Smoking: A Message to Parents, Kawasaki Disease, High Blood Pressure in Children and Teenagers—What Parents Should Know, and seven If Your Child Needs a Heart Test tear sheets. Some materials are available in Spanish. The association also publishes a catalog and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Children, , Congenital heart defects, Heart diseases

Annotation: The Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia Foundation International (HHT), founded in 1991, fosters exchange of information on this rare genetic blood vessel disorder (also known as Osler-Weber-Rendu syndrome) among patients, physicians, researchers, genetic counselors, organizations, and the public. The foundation raises funds for genetic and clinical research, maintains a registry of affected families, provides individualized information, and supports scholarships, research grants, and annual conferences. Publications include a newsletter and several brochures. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch, German, and other languages. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, referrals, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia, Cardiovascular diseases, Family support services, Fundraising, Genetic disorders, Hereditary diseases, Information services, Information services, Medical research, Patient identification

Annotation: The Klippel-Trenaunay (K-T) Support Group serves people with Klippel-Trenaunay syndrome and their families. The group facilitates correspondence between members, collects and disseminates current medical literature pertaining to K-T, and and provides referrals. A Spanish-language translator is available. The group also publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Cardiovascular diseases, Family support services, Klippel Trenaunay Weber syndrome, Parent groups, Parent support services

Annotation: The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Health Information Center is a federal information and referral resource that responds to inquiries and disseminates information and publications on cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, heart disease, exercise, obesity, sleep disorders, stroke, sarcoidosis, and Raynaud's phenomenon. Some materials are available in Spanish. Clinical practice guidelines for health professionals are available on high blood cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, and obesity. Serial publications include HeartMemo, which provides program updates for health professionals about cholesterol, high blood pressure, and heart attack, and AsthmaMemo, which describes the activities of the National Asthma Education and Prevention Program. Publications can be accessed using the online catalog or ordered from NHLB in print format.

Keywords: Hypertension, Asthma, Blood and lymphatic diseases, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Hematologic diseases, Information dissemination, Lung diseases, Respiratory diseases, Sleep disorders, Smoking

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention