Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCH Organizations

This list of organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations Database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 8 (8 total).

American Public Human Services Association (APHSA)

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Annotation: The Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) supports state maternal and child health programs and provides national leadership on issues affecting women and children. AMCHP accomplishes its mission through the active participation of its members and partnerships with government agencies, families and advocates, health care purchasers and providers, academic and research professionals, and others at the national, state, and local levels. AMCHP tracks and analyzes emerging policy issues that impact family health and distributes the information to subscribers electronically via the AMCHP Legislative Alert. Issues areas include adolescent and school health; best practices; child health; data and assessment; family involvement; Medicaid, State Children's Health Insurance Program, and welfare; mental health; and women's and perinatal health. It also has a National Center for Health Reform Implementation.

Keywords: Maternal health, Advocacy, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Federal MCH programs, Guidelines, Models, Professional societies, Public policies, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

Craniosynostosis And Positional Plagiocephaly Support, Inc.

Annotation: Craniosynostosis And Positional Plagiocephaly Support, Inc. (CAPPS) is a national non-profit organization that offers information and support to families who have a child with either positional plagiocephaly or craniosynostosis. The organization's primary goal is to raise awareness through education.  (Although these two conditions are very different in cause, in many cases they have a similar outward appearance, which causes many mis-diagnoses.)  CAPPS sponsors fundraising and public awareness events; provides resources and services fo families; hosts an electronic support board; and posts fact sheets and how-to guidance. The organization also maintains state-specific contact lists.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, CSHN programs, Craniofacial abnormalities, Family support

National Center for Youth Law (NCYL)

Annotation: The National Center for Youth Law (NCYL) is a nonprofit organization that provides legal assistance to attorneys and other professionals working on behalf of low-income children and youth. The Center engages in litigation, and provides a range of support services in foster care, juvenile justice, public benefits, and health. Publications include Youth Law News , a journal published six times a year. Some materials are available in Spanish. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. The Center's health care work focuses on mental and adolescent health, including issues in health privacy, access, health services for foster children, and minor consent issues. The center sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescents, AIDS, Access to health care, Advocacy, CSHN programs, Confidentiality, Drug affected infants, Financing, Foster care, Legal assistance, Low income groups, Public policies, Support groups

Parent to Parent USA (P2PUSA)

Annotation: Parent to Parent USA (P2PUSA) is a national nonprofit organization committed to promoting access, quality and leadership in parent to parent support across the country. The website highlights statewide organizations that have parent to parent support as a core program and demonstrate a commitment to implementing evidence-based P2P USA endorsed practices.

Keywords: CSHN programs, Family support services, Parent education programs, Training materials

Sick Kids Need Involved People of NY Inc. (SKIP)

Annotation: Sick Kids need Involved People (SKIP) promotes pediatric home care for children with severe physical and/or developmental disabilities, including those who are dependent on medical technology or other ongoing supports. The organization provides information, case management, advocacy, and support to parents and families of children and adults with special medical needs living in New York State. Services to consumers also include referrals. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars for staff.

Keywords: Home care, Advocacy, CSHN programs, Case management, Children, Disabilities, Information services, Support groups, Technology dependence

State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC)

Annotation: The State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC) is a resource center for state Title V agencies (supported through the MCH Block Grant) and others interested in improving systems for children, youth, and families with autism spectrum disorders and developmental disabilities. The SPHARC Web site provides state snapshots, promising practices, and other resources to support states as they develop and implement systems to improve the health and well-being of infants, children, and adolescents with autism and other special health care needs.

Keywords: Autism, Block grants, CSHN programs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, Models, National MCH resource center, Resource centers, State programs, Technical assistance, Title V

VSA ( )

Annotation: VSA arts is an international nonprofit organization founded in 1974 by Jean Kennedy Smith to promote education and lifelong learning opportunities in the arts for people with disabilities. Through a worldwide affiliate network, nearly 5 million people participate in VSA arts programming annually. VSA arts programs in music, dance, drama, creative writing, and the visual arts develop learning skills, encourage independence, and promote access and inclusion. VSA provides referrals, publishes a newsletter, and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Art, CSHN programs, Education, Mental retardation

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.